State of California Office of Administrative Law

In re: Fish and Game Commission

Regulatory Action:

Title 14, California Code of Regulations

NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF REGULATORY ACTION

Government Code Section 11349.3

Adopt sections: Amend sections: 29.15 Repeal sections: OAL Matter Number: 2018-0329-01

OAL Matter Type: Regular Resubmittal (SR)

This resubmittal action closes the recreational abalone fishery from April 1, 2018, and adopts an April 1, 2019, sunset provision for that closure. (See OAL Matter No. 2018-0213-01.)

OAL approves this regulatory action pursuant to section 11349.3 of the Government Code. This regulatory action becomes effective on 3/29/2018.

Date: March 29, 2018

Mark Storm Senior Attorney

For:

Debra M. Cornez Director

Original: Valerie Termini, Executive Director Copy: Sheri Tiemann

STATE OF CALIFORNIA-OFFICE OF A MILLE ITRA NOTICE PUBLICATION	REGULATIONS SU	BMISSION	CASed Instruc revers	tions on e)	For use by Secretary of State only	
STD. 400 (REV. 01-2013) OAL FILE NOTICE FILE NUMBER ZUTBACTION NUMBER NUMBERS Z_2017-0920-04 ZUTBACTION NUMBER 9 - 01 SR For use by Office of Administrative Law (OAL) only					ENDORSED - FILED In the office of the Secretary of State of the State of California	
2010 MAR 29 P 1: 25					MAR 2.9. 2018	
OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW						
n 20 marts for definition of the operation of the second system of the s		REGULATIONS			e a constata (Cal a constata Serie A sarente e serie (Ala a palagues Rageres	
AGENCY WITH RULEMAKING AUTHORITY Fish and Game Commission	en egeligene offen opgelige openingeligen og egeligen og		<mark>na na serie de la companya de la co Esta de la companya de</mark>		AGENCY FILE NUMBER (If any)	
A. PUBLICATION OF NOTIC	E (Complete for pub	lication in Notice R	egister)	n de la company Reconstruire de	an a	
1. SUBJECT OF NOTICE	na her för som en statigeteter staten för Som en som en	TITLE(S)	FIRST SECTION AFFEC	TED	2. REQUESTED PUBLICATION DATE	
3. NOTICE TYPE Notice re Proposed Regulatory Action Othe	4. AGENCY CON	ITACT PERSON	TELEPHONE NUMBER	in an	FAX NUMBER (Optional)	
OAL USE ACTION ON PROPOSED ONLY Approved as Submitted	NOTICE Approved as Modified	Disapproved/ Withdrawn	NOTICE REGISTER NUN	MBER	PUBLICATION DATE	
B. SUBMISSION OF REGUL	ATIONS (Complete wh	en submitting reg	ulations)	- <u> </u>		
1a. SUBJECT OF REGULATION(S) 1b. ALL PREVIOUS RELATED O Abalone Regulations 2018-0213-015					AL REGULATORY ACTION NUMBER(S)	
2. SPECIFY CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS SECTION(S) AFFECTED (List all section number(s) individually. Attach additional sheet if needed.)	ADOPT AMEND 29.15	itle 26, if toxics related)			en an anna an taoin an taoin an taoin an taoine an taoine an taoine an taoine an taoine an taoine an taoine an taoine an taoine an taoine an taoine an taoine an taoine an	
TITLE(S) 14	REPEAL					
3. TYPE OF FILING				li i kana kana kana kana kana kana kana k		
Regular Rulemaking (Gov. Code \$11346) Certificate of Compliance: The agency officer named below certifies that this agency complied with the provisions of Gov. Code \$\$11346.2-11347.3 either before the emergency regulation was adopted or within the time period required by statute. Emergency Readopt (Gov. Code, \$11346.1(h)) File & Print				(Gov Antoria International International International	Changes Without Regulatory Effect (Cal. Code Regs., title 1, §100) Print Only	
Emergency (Gov. Code, §11346.1(b))	Resubmittal of disapproved emergency filing (Gov. Code	2, §11346.1)	Other (Specify)	<u>n de la segunda</u> La secondada		
4. ALL BEGINNING AND ENDING DATES OF AVAIL	ABILITY OF MODIFIED REGULATIONS A	ND/OR MATERIAL ADDED TO THE	RULEMAKING FILE (Cal. Code R	egs. title 1, §44 ar	d Gov. Code §11347.1)	
5. EFFECTIVE DATE OF CHANGES (Gov. Code, §§ 1 Effective January 1, April 1, July 1, or October 1 (Gov. Code §11343.4(a))	1343.4, 11346.1(d); Cal. Code Regs., title Effective on filing with Secretary of State		hout Effective other (Specify)	GC 11343	.4(a)(4)(A)	
6. CHECK IF THESE REGULATIONS REQUI Department of Finance (Form STD. 3 Other (Specify)		SULTATION, APPROVAL OR	CONCURRENCE BY, ANOTH ctices Commission	ER AGENCY OF	ENTITY State Fire Marshal	
7. CONTACT PERSON Sheri Tiemann		TELEPHONE NUMBER	FAX NUMBER (Op		E-MAIL ADDRESS (Optional)	
		(916) 654-9872	and the second and the second s	N	heri.tiemann@fgc.ca.gov Office of Administrative Law (OAL) only	
of the regulation(s) identified on this form, that the information specified on this form is true and correct, and that I am the head of the agency taking this action, or a designee of the head of the agency, and am authorized to make this certification.					ENDORSED APPROVED	
SIGNATURE OF AGENCY HEAD OR DESIGNEE Mulima A. Milley Henson 3/2-9/18					MAR 2 9 2018	
TYPED NAME AND TITLE OF SIGNATORY Melissa Miller-Henson, Deputy	Executive Director			(Office of Administrative Law	

Revised Proposed Regulatory Language

Section 29.15, Title 14, CCR is amended to read:

§ 29.15. Abalone.

(a) <u>Effective April 1, 2019</u>: Open Area: Except in the area described in subsection (a)(1) below, abalone may only be taken north of a line drawn due west magnetic from the center of the mouth of San Francisco Bay. No abalone may be taken, landed, or possessed if landed south of this line.

(1) No Abalone may be taken in the Fort Ross area bounded by the mean high tide line and a line drawn due south true from 38°30.63' N, 123°14.98' W (the northern point of Fort Ross Cove) and a line drawn due west true from 38° 29.45' N, 123°11.72' W (Jewel Gulch, south boundary Fort Ross State Park).

(b) Effective April 1, 2019: Open Season and Hours:

(1) Open Season: Abalone may be taken only during the months of April, May, June, August, September, October and November.

(2) Open Hours: Abalone may be taken only from 8:00 AM to one-half hour after sunset.
(c) Effective April 1, 2019: Bag Limit and Yearly Trip Limit: Three red abalone, *Haliotis rufescens*, may be taken per day. No more than three abalone may be possessed at any time. No other species of abalone may be taken or possessed. Each person taking abalone shall stop detaching abalone when the limit of three is reached. No person shall take more than 18 abalone during a calendar year. In the Open Area as defined in subsections 29.15(a) and 29.15(a)(1) above, not more than 9 abalone of the yearly trip limit may be taken south of the boundary between Sonoma and Mendocino Counties.
(d) Minimum Abalone Size: All red abalone must be seven inches or greater measured along the longest shell diameter. All legal size abalone detached must be retained. No undersized abalone may be brought ashore or aboard any boat, placed in any type of receiver, kept on the person, or retained in any person's possession or under his control. Undersize abalone must be replaced immediately to the same surface of the rock from which detached. Abalones brought ashore shall be in such a condition that the size can be determined.

(e) Special Gear Provisions: The use of SCUBA gear or surface supplied air to take abalone is prohibited. Abalone may not be taken or possessed aboard any boat, vessel, or floating device in the water containing SCUBA or surface supplied air. Abalone may be taken only by hand or by devices commonly known as abalone irons. Abalone irons must be less than 36 inches long, straight or with a curve having a radius of not less than 18 inches, and must not be less than 3/4 inch wide nor less than 1/16 inch thick. All edges must be rounded and free of sharp edges. Knives, screwdrivers and sharp instruments are prohibited.

(f) Measuring Device. Every person while taking abalone shall carry a fixed caliper measuring gauge capable of accurately measuring seven inches. The measuring device shall have fixed opposing arms of sufficient length to measure the abalone by placing the gauge over the shell.

(g) Abalone Possession and Transportation:

Abalones shall not be removed from their shell, except when being prepared for immediate consumption.

1

(1) Individuals taking abalone shall maintain separate possession of their abalone. Abalone may not be commingled in a float tube, dive board, dive bag, or any other container or device, until properly tagged. Only after abalones are properly tagged, as described in Section 29.16(b), Title 14, CCR, may they be commingled with other abalone taken by another person.

(h) Report Card Required: Any person fishing for or taking abalone shall have in their possession a nontransferable Abalone Report Card issued by the department and shall adhere to all reporting and tagging requirements for abalone defined in Sections 1.74 and 29.16, Title 14, CCR.

(i) Effective April 1, 2018: All ocean waters are closed to the take of abalone. Abalone may not be taken or possessed. The following exceptions are for abalone in possession prior to April 1, 2018:

(1) Minimum Abalone Size: All red abalone must be seven inches or greater measured along the longest shell diameter.

(2) Abalone Possession and Transportation: It shall be unlawful to possess any untagged abalone or any abalone that have been removed from their shell, except when they are being prepared for immediate consumption.

(j) This subsection and subsection (i) shall remain in effect only until April 1, 2019, and as of that date are repealed, unless a later enacted amendment deletes or extends that date.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 200, 202, 205, 210, 220, 240260, 265, 399, <u>5520,</u> 5521 and 7149.8, Fish and Game Code. Reference: Sections 200, 202, 205, 220265, <u>275,</u> <u>5520,</u> 5521, 7145 and 7149.8, Fish and Game Code.