

2023-2024 FALCONRY LICENSE RENEWAL NOTICE

2023-2024 Falconry License Information

Your current license will expire June 30, 2023. Please **allow 15 business days** for processing the renewal of your license.

Enclosed are the following:

- ✓ 2023-2024 Falconry License Renewal Worksheet.
- ✓ Falconry Hunting Take Report (DFW360h).
- Apprentices Only Apprentice Falconer's Annual Progress Report (DFW360c).
- ✓ Credit Card Authorization Form (DFW1443).

Hunting License and Validation Requirements

Any person engaging in falconry, including but not limited to the possession of raptor(s), is required to possess a valid falconry license, a valid California hunting license, and any required validations. Failure to do so may result in suspension or revocation of their license and/or administrative, civil, or criminal penalties.

Pursuant to California Code of Regulations (CCR), Title 14, Section 670(a)(2), it shall be unlawful for any person to engage in falconry in California unless they have in their immediate possession a valid original falconry license, a valid original hunting license, and any required validations. Falconry means the possession, housing, trapping, transport, and use of raptors for the purpose of hunting or training (CCR, Title 14, Section 670(b)(7)).

To purchase a California hunting license, you must have proof of meeting hunter education requirements. Visit <u>www.wildlife.ca.gov/Licensing/Hunter-Education</u> for more information about hunter education requirements.

Reporting Requirements

Licensees are required to report, within 10 calendar days, all raptor acquisition and disposition information using the California Department of Fish and Wildlife's (Department) online reporting system or the Resident Falconer Raptor Capture, Recapture and Release Report (DFW 360f). If a licensee is unable to use the Department's online reporting system, the licensee may submit relevant forms by mail, fax, or email to the Department's License and Revenue Branch, or the licensee may report over the telephone to the License and Revenue Branch. The information will be entered into the Department's online reporting system by Department staff, and the Department shall charge a nonrefundable administrative processing fee of \$17.25 for each form entered.

Apprentice Reports

Pursuant to CCR, Title 14, Section 670(e)(6)(A)6, an apprentice falconer shall submit an Apprentice Falconer's Annual Progress Report (Form FG360c), as specified in CCR, Title 14, Section 703. To be eligible for advancement from the apprentice class, the final report must demonstrate that the apprentice falconer has practiced falconry with a raptor at the apprentice class for at least two years, including maintaining, training, flying, and hunting with the raptor for at least four months in each license year, and a summary of the species the apprentice possessed, how long each was possessed, how often each was flown, and methods of capture and release. Within the report, the sponsor shall certify in writing to the Department that the apprentice falconer has met the requirements specified in CCR, Title 14, Section 670.

Forms, Laws, and Regulations

Falconry forms, laws, and regulations are available on the Department's website at

www.wildlife.ca.gov/Licensing/Falconry.

Checklist for Renewing Your Falconry License

Please review the instructions before completing the worksheet. Incomplete reports and/or worksheets will be returned and may delay the issuance of your license.

Please remember to:

- Review the preprinted information carefully, line through incorrect information, legibly print corrections, and provide information required to complete the application.
- ✓ Complete, sign, and date the 2023-2024 Falconry License Renewal Worksheet.
- Complete the Falconry Hunting Take Report (DFW360h).
- Apprentices Only Both the apprentice and sponsor must complete, sign, and date the Apprentice Falconer's Annual Progress Report (DFW360c).
- ✓ Enclose your cashier's check, money order, or personal check for the license and application fees.
- When paying by credit card, sign the enclosed Credit Card Authorization Form (DFW1443a) and include the expiration date of the credit card, CVC number, and your daytime telephone number.

License and Revenue Branch • P.O. Box 944209, Sacramento, CA 94244-2090 • (916) 928-5846 <u>SPU@wildlife.ca.gov</u> • Visit our website at <u>www.wildlife.ca.gov</u>.



Steps to Renew Your Falconry License Online To log in, you will need your last name, date of birth, and appropriate ID number. Items purchased online will include a five percent (5%) nonrefundable license agent handling fee.

- 1. Visit www.ca.wildlifelicense.com/InternetSales/.
- 2. Click on the "Customer Login/Register" tab.

(For mobile devices, click on the menu icon towards the top left and select "Customer Login/Register.")

- 3. Enter your Date of Birth and Last Name and click "Next."
- Under "Select Official Document ID Type," select an appropriate ID registered with the account from the drop-down menu (i.e., GO ID, State ID, Passport, Green Card, Military ID, or Foreign Government ID), enter the requested information, and click "Next."

Individual Profile Update: If you would like to update your individual customer profile, click the "Edit Customer Profile" button, update the necessary information, and click "Save."

(For mobile devices, click on the menu icon towards the top left, click on "Edit Customer Profile," update the necessary information, and click "Save.")

- 5. Click on "View My Special Permits." (For mobile devices, click the menu icon towards the top left and select "View My Special Permits.")
- 6. Click on "View" next to the Falconry License.
- 7. Under the "Bird Listing" field, update your bird inventory and submit your bird acquisition and disposition report.
- Under "Falconry Application Listing," click on "New Application" to create a Falconry License Renewal Application. **Note:** If there is no "New Application" button, click "Edit" next to the appropriate "Application Year."
- 9. Update all information on the renewal application page.

Class Upgrades: If you have completed the necessary time and experience requirements and believe you qualify for an upgrade, please change your class in the drop-down menu. Please allow additional time for the review process for class upgrade requests.

Apprentice Falconers: Upload your Apprentice Falconer's Annual Progress Report (DFW 360c) using the instructions below. Please allow an additional 15 business days for the review process.

- a) Under "Falconry Application Listing," click "View" for application year 2022.
- b) Under "File Uploads," click "Add," then click "Browse" and select the file on your computer/device that you wish to upload and click "Upload."

All Falconers: Upload your Falconry Hunting Take Report (DFW 360h) prior to your license renewal or by July 1. Take reports may be submitted using the online harvest reporting system or through file upload using the instructions below.

- a) Under "Falconry Application Listing," click "Upload File" for application year 2022.
- b) Click "Browse" and select the file on your computer/device that you wish to upload and click "Upload."
- Check the box to certify that you agree to all conditions in the certification statement and that the application is complete and accurate. Click on "Submit and Finish" and "Continue."
- 11. Confirm the selections in your cart and click on "Checkout."
- 12. Confirm your shipping information and enter your payment information.

Note: Only Visa and MasterCard are accepted.

- 13. Check the box next to "Please Email Confirmation" and enter an email address for purchase confirmation.
- 14. Check the box certifying you are at least 18 years of age and authorized to make the selected purchase. The transaction will not proceed if the box is not checked.
- 15. Click "Complete Transaction."
- 16. The "Transaction Complete" page will appear, confirming you have completed the purchase and have applied for your Falconry License Renewal. Click on "Download Receipt/Licenses" to print your receipt for your records.

Note: If your falconry class has not changed, your Falconry License will be mailed to you within 15 business days. If you are an apprentice or have changed your falconry class, your Falconry License will be mailed to you in two to three weeks, upon completion of the review process.

For more information, contact the Department at <u>SPU@wildlife.ca.gov</u> or (916) 928-5846.