CALIFORNIA State of California — Natural Resources Agency
ey DEPARTMENT OF FISH AND WILDLIFE

WILDLIFE

ATTENTION BEAR HUNTERS

INFORMATION RECEIVED FROM BEAR TAGS AND BEAR TEETH IS USED TO EVALUATE THE STATUS OF THE STATE'S BEAR
POPULATION AND TO DEVELOP FUTURE HUNTING REGULATIONS. PLEASE TAKE THE TIME TO BECOME FAMILIAR WITH
THE MAMMAL HUNTING REGULATIONS AND CAREFULLY COMPLETE ALL PORTIONS OF YOUR BEAR TAG. OUR GOAL IS TO
PROVIDE A HEALTHY, HUNTABLE BEAR POPULATION FOR FUTURE GENERATIONS TO ENJOY.

All bear hunters are required to return their bear tags whether or not they are successful. Please answer the questions on the
bear tag to the best of your ability even if you are unsuccessful in taking a bear. The information we receive from unsuccessful
bear hunters is also important. The Department of Fish and Wildlife will close the bear hunting season immediately if it
determines that 1,700 bears have been taken. This includes bears harvested during the archery season. For your convenience,

here is a summary of the 2016 hunting regulations. You should be familiar with all game laws prior to hunting.

BEAR SEASONS FOR 2016
ARCHERY: August 20, 2016 — September 11, 2016

GENERAL: General bear season opens concurrently with general
deer season in the A, B, C, D, X8, X9A, X9B, X10 and X12 deer
hunting zones. See 2016 California Mammal Hunting Regulations
for opening dates. In the remaining deer hunting X zones, bear
season begins October 8, 2016.

Bear season will close on December 25, 2016
OR EARLIER

If the Department determines that 1,700
bears have been reported taken.

FOR DAILY UPDATES ON REPORTED

BEAR HARVEST, CALL TOLL-FREE

(888) 277-6398 or visit
http://www.dfg.ca.qgov/wildlife/hunting/bear/harvest.html

POACHING

THE ILLEGAL TAKE OF BLACK BEARS
AFFECTS ALL CALIFORNIANS. If you have
witnessed a poaching incident or any fish or
wildlife violation or have information about
such a violation, dial the toll-free Department
of Fish and Wildlife phone number
1-(888)-334-2258. You may call 24 hours a
day, 7 days a week.

® You need not give your name and you
won't be asked to testify.

® |f your information leads to an arrest, you
may receive a reward of up to $1,000.00.

® Remember, the future of bear hunting in
California depends on you.

MANDATORY PRESENTATION OF BEAR
SKULL

Any person who takes a bear shall present the skull (even if
damaged) to a Department office/officer within 10 days of taking
the bear. The skull shall become the property of the Department.
The portion of the skull not needed for scientific purposes will be
returned. (Section 367.5, Title 14 of the CCR) Please see
appointment section and office phone numbers below.

IMPORTANT! Place a stick or other object in the bear's jaws so
that the mouth remains open. Do not present frozen skulls to
have the premolar tooth removed. Premolars break easily when
the skull is frozen.

PLEASE CALL AHEAD BEFORE BRINGING YOUR BEAR
SKULL TO A DEPARTMENT OFFICE.

BEAR TAG VALIDATION AND TOOTH
EXTRACTION

If you kil a bear, you must have the tag countersigned
(validated) by a Department of Fish and Wildlife employee. Bear
tags must be validated prior to transporting the bear, except for
the purpose of taking the bear to the nearest person authorized
to validate the tag en route to your home from the point where
the bear was taken. All Department of Fish and Game offices
will validate bear tags. If Department offices are closed, the bear
tag shall be validated within one business day of transporting
the bear from the point where taken. The report card portion
must be returned immediately after tag validation.

The Department is requiring a premolar tooth be extracted from
EVERY bear taken during the hunting season. This will provide
wildlife biologists with sufficient information to refine bear
management. The premolar tooth will be processed by cutting it
in cross section and examining it under a microscope. The
bear's age can then be determined by counting annual growth
rings, similar to tree rings. Information on age of harvested
bears through tooth aging will be posted online at
www.wildlife.ca.gov/Hunting/Bear.


http://www.dfg.ca.gov/wildlife/hunting/bear/harvest.html

BEAR TAG VALIDATION AND TOOTH
EXTRACTION APPOINTMENTS

If you cannot locate a CDFW employee, please call one of the
offices listed below and they will provide assistance.

All Department of Fish and Wildlife offices will validate bear tags.
Please call the following locations for an appointment to have your

bear tag validated and/or a tooth pulled. Please leave your bear
skull in your vehicle until you check in for your appointment.

REAAING ..eiiviiiiiiiiie e (530) 225-2300
Rancho Cordova (Sacramento) ........c.ccceveviveerineenne (916) 358-2900
YOUNVIIE oo e (707) 944-5500
Fresno ..o (559) 243-4005 Ext. 132 or Ext. 133

SAN DIBQO...eieiieieiiiie ettt (858) 467-4201
(@] 51 7= 1y [0 PR PPRRIN (909) 484-0167
BiSNOP. .. eee i (760) 872-1171
Crystal Lake Hatchery .........cccccoviiiiniiie e (530) 335-4111
Darrah Springs HatChery .........cccccoovviiiiiiiiec s (530) 474-3141
BUIEKa ..o (707) 445-6493
Feather River Hatchery.........c.coccoviiniiiieecees (530) 538-2222
Iron Gate HatChery .........ccccovoeeviiiiieeeese e (530) 475-3420
Kern River HatChery .........cccococeeviiiiiiiciecee e (760) 376-2846
La Grange.......cccueeeviieeiiee e esieee e nieeeesiiee e (209) 853-2533 Ext. 6
LOS AIAMITOS ....evieiiiie et (562) 596-3885
Los Banos Wildlife Area.........cccveiiiieineeeiiieeeiieees (209) 826-0463
Mad River Fish Hatchery..............cooooiiinnn. (707) 822-0592
Mendota Wildlife Area.........ccocvveiiiiiiniiiiee e (559) 655-4645
Merced River Hatchery ..........ccccociiniiiiciec s (209) 563-6410
Moccasin HatChery ... (209) 989-2312
Mokelumne River Hatchery ..........cccoocveviieeniieennnee. (209) 759-3383
MONEEIEY.....eiieiiiee ettt (831) 649-2870
Mt. Shasta Hatchery ........cccccoooviiiiiniii e (530) 926-2215
Red Bluff Screen Shop ......cccoocieiiiiiieieceees (530) 528-9406
Red Bluff Field Office..........ccoovviiiiiiiiiii (530) 529-7162
Shasta Valley Wildlife Area..........cccccveviiiniieeinnenn. (530) 459-3926
Trinity River Hatchery ... (530) 778-3931
Warm Springs HatCchery..........cccoooviviiiiiieciice, (707) 433-6325

Yreka SCreen Shop.......cccvevieeiiiie e (530) 841-2555

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Whether or not you are successful, all bear tags must be
returned to the Department of Fish and Wildlife no later than
February 1, 2017. If you fail to return your 2016 bear tag,
even if you did not kill a bear, you will be in violation of
Section 708.12(d), Title 14, CCR.

Guides: If you use a guide, the guide must give you his guide
license number and describe the services to be
performed before the hunting trip. You must put
your guide’s license number on your bear tag.

IT IS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY TO ENSURE ALL EDIBLE
PORTIONS OF YOUR BEAR ARE REMOVED FROM THE
FIELD. CALIFORNIA LAW PROHIBITS THE WASTE OF
MEAT. DISCUSS THIS WITH YOUR GUIDE (IF
APPLICABLE) PRIOR TO HUNTING.

Itis illegal to sell bear parts in California. However, you have
the right to retain any and all bear parts of the bear you take,
except the skull which becomes the property of the
Department.



	PLEASE CALL AHEAD BEFORE BRINGING YOUR BEAR SKULL TO A DEPARTMENT OFFICE.
	BEAR    TAG     VALIDATION    AND   TOOTH EXTRACTION

