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California Natural Resources Agency 
DEPARTMENT OF FISH AND WILDLIFE 

 
 

COMMERCIAL SALMON VESSEL PERMIT LAWS AND REGULATIONS 

 
This document is designed to provide essential information about Salmon Vessel Permits. It does not provide complete coverage of all 

commercial fishing laws and regulations. 
 

Although this document contains excerpts from the Fish and Game Code and Title 14, of the California Code of Regulations, it is the licensee's 

responsibility to know and obey all laws and regulations in effect while he/she is fishing. Changes to any code may occur at any time during 

the year. 
 
Any discrepancies between this document and the codes(s) from which it was prepared will be enforced and adjudicated according to the 

official code(s) in effect on the date the activity takes place. 

 

Title 14, California Code of Regulations Excerpts 
 
§ 700.4. Automated License Data System 

     (a) Defined: 
     For the purposes of this Division the “Automated License Data 
System” or “ALDS” is an automated system that replaced the 
Department’s paper license inventory system. ALDS allows license 
items to be printed instantly using point of sale terminals and is 
available at Department license agents and Department license sales 
offices located throughout the state. ALDS also allows applicants to 
apply for licensing via the Internet. 
     (b) Get Outdoors Identification Number 
The first time any applicant applies for any license, tag, permit, 
reservation or other entitlement via ALDS, the applicant shall receive 
a unique Get Outdoors Identification number or “GO ID.” The GO ID 
shall not be transferable to any other person. 
     (c) Identification Required; Acceptable forms of. 
Any applicant applying for any license, tag, permit, reservation or 
other entitlement issued via ALDS shall provide valid identification. 
Acceptable forms of identification include: 

(1) Any license document or GO ID number previously issued 
via ALDS 

(2) A valid driver’s license or identification card issued to him or 
her by the Department of Motor Vehicles or by the entity issuing 
driver’s licenses from the licensee’s state of domicile 

(3) US Birth Certificate 
(4) US Certificate or Report of Birth Abroad 
(5) Tribal Identification Card, as defined by each sovereign tribal 

nation 
(6) Birth Certificate or passport issued from a US Territory 
(7) US Passport 
(8) US Military Identification Cards (Active or reserve duty, 

dependent, retired member, discharged from service, 
medical/religious personnel) 

(9) Certificate of Naturalization or Citizenship. 
(10) A foreign government-issued photo identification 

     (d) Any applicant less than 18 years of age applying for any 
license, tag, permit, reservation or other entitlement issued via the 
ALDS shall provide valid identification. Acceptable forms of 
identification include: 
     (1) Any form of identification described above  
     (2) A parent or legal guardian’s identification as described above. 
     (e) Nonrefundable Application Fee  
     All licenses, tags, permits, reservations or other entitlements 
purchased via ALDS shall be subject to a three percent 
nonrefundable application fee, not to exceed seven dollars and fifty 
cents ($7.50) per item, to pay the Department’s costs for issuing that 
license, tag, permit, reservation or other entitlement. 
 

Fish and Game Code Excerpts 

§7601. Owner or Vessel Owner  

“Owner” or “vessel owner” means the person or persons designated 
as the registered owner of a vessel on a certificate of documentation 
issued by the United States Coast Guard or on a copy of the vessel 

registration issued by the vessel registration agency of the state 
where the owner is a resident. For purposes of this section, the vessel 
registration agency in California is the Department of Motor Vehicles. 

§7857. Conditions Applicable to Commercial Fishing 
License 

Unless otherwise specified, the following conditions apply to each 
commercial fishing license, permit, or other entitlement issued to take, 
possess aboard a boat, or land fish for commercial purposes and to 
each commercial boat registration issued by the Department, except 
licenses issued pursuant to Article 7 (commencing with Section 8030): 

(a) The person to whom a commercial fishing permit or other 
entitlement is issued shall have a valid commercial fishing license 
issued pursuant to Section 7852 that is not revoked or suspended. 

(l)A person who holds a commercial fishing vessel permit or other 
entitlement authorizing the use of a vessel for commercial fishing shall 
also hold a valid commercial boat registration for that vessel, issued 
pursuant to Section 7881, that has not been suspended or revoked. 

7881. Registration of Commercial Fishing Vessel 

     (a) Every person who owns or operates a vessel in public waters in 
connection with fishing operations for profit in this state, or who brings 
fish into this state, or who, for profit, permits persons to fish therefrom, 
shall submit an application for commercial boat registration on forms 
provided by the department and shall be issued a registration number. 
     (b) A commercial boat registration may be issued to any resident 
owner or operator of a vessel upon payment of a base fee of two 
hundred fifty dollars ($250). The commercial boat registration shall be 
carried aboard the vessel at all times, and shall be posted in a 
conspicuous place. 
     (c) A commercial boat registration may be issued to any 
nonresident owner or operator of a vessel upon payment of a base 
fee of seven hundred fifty dollars ($750). The commercial boat 
registration shall be carried aboard the vessel at all times and shall be 
posted in a conspicuous place. 
     (d) If a registered vessel is lost, destroyed, or sold, the owner of 
the vessel shall immediately report the loss, destruction, or sale to the 
department. 
     (e) This section does not apply to any person required to be 
licensed as a guide pursuant to Section 2536. 
     (f) The base fees specified in this section are applicable to the 
2004 license year, and shall be adjusted annually thereafter pursuant 
to Section 713. 

 
8231. Agent Appeal; Change of Ownership; Commercial Salmon 
Vessel Permit; Fishing Potential; Owner; Permit; Permitted 
Vessel; Replacement Vessel; Review Board; Transfer 

The following definitions govern the construction of this article: 
     (a) “Agent” means the person designated in writing by the owner 
as the owner’s representative. 
     (b) “Appeal” means a request for reconsideration of an action of 
the review board, the department, or the commission pursuant to this 
article. 
     (c) “Change of ownership” means the transfer of ownership of a 
permitted vessel to a new owner. 
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     (d) “Commercial salmon vessel permit” means an annual permit 
issued by the department to an owner of a commercial fishing vessel 
for use of that vessel to take salmon for commercial purposes and 
shall not be considered personal property. 
     (e) “Fishing potential” means the capability and capacity for 
harvesting salmon of a particular commercial fishing vessel. “Fishing 
potential” includes, but is not limited to, a rating based upon factors 
such as size, seaworthiness, propulsion system, hold size, and hull 
design. 
     (f) “Permit” means a commercial salmon vessel permit as defined 
in subdivision (d). 
     (g) “Permitted vessel” means a commercial fishing vessel for which 
a permit is currently valid. 
     (h) “Replacement vessel” means a commercial fishing vessel for 
the use of which a permit is proposed to be transferred pursuant to 
this article. 
     (i) “Review board” means the commercial salmon fishing review 
board created pursuant to Section 8247. 
     (j) “Transfer” means the issuance of a permit for use of a 
replacement vessel. 

§8233.5. Change of Ownership of Vessel – Permit Change 

Except as otherwise provided in this article, the department shall 
change the designation of the holder of a permit, and with it shall go 
all rights, privileges, and obligations of a permit holder, including 
rights of renewal, upon receipt of a notice of change of ownership to a 
new owner of a permitted vessel upon change of ownership in the 
permitted vessel. A permit changed pursuant to this section is valid for 
the permit year during which it is issued. 

§8239. Conditions of Approval and Issuance of Replacement 
Vessel Permit 

A transfer may be approved and a permit issued for use of a 
replacement vessel pursuant to Section 8241 under all of the 
following conditions: 
     (a) The vessel owner submits a written request for the transfer to 
the department on a form provided by the department and pays a 
nonrefundable transfer fee of two hundred dollars ($200). 
     (b) The permit for the permitted vessel is current, and the owner of 
the permitted vessel makes assurances in the application that any 
renewal of the permit which becomes due during the application 
processing period will be made. 
     (c) The owner of the permitted vessel submits evidence with the 
application sufficient to establish that he or she is the owner of the 
permitted vessel at the time of the application for the transfer. 
     (d) The vessel owner submits evidence with the application 
sufficient, in the judgment of the review board and the department, to 
establish that the replacement vessel has the same fishing potential 
as, or less fishing potential than, the permitted vessel. 

(e) Under penalty of perjury, the vessel owner signs the 
application for transfer and certifies that the included information is 
true to the best of his or her information and belief. 

(f) The same transfer has not been requested within the previous 
12 months or the same transfer has not previously been denied and 
that denial is final, unless the application or supporting information are 
different than that contained in the previous application, as 
determined by the department and after consultation with the review 
board. 

(g) The permittee has 50 percent or greater ownership interest in 
the permitted vessel and in the replacement vessel. For purposes of 
this subdivision and subdivision (h), “permittee” means an individual 
designated as the owner of the permitted vessel. 

(h) Except as provided in Section 8239.1 or paragraph (5) of 
subdivision (a) of Section 8246.7, the permittee has maintained a 50 
percent or greater ownership interest in the permitted vessel for not 
less than 18 months prior to the date of the transfer and the permit for 
use of the permitted vessel has been maintained for that vessel and 
has not been previously transferred less than 18 months prior to the 
date of the transfer. 

(i) The permittee has written authority from the legal owner, if other 
than the permittee or mortgager, if any, to transfer the vessel permit 
from the permitted vessel. 

§8239.1 Lost, Stolen or Destroyed Vessel Transfers 

  (a) Unless otherwise prohibited, the department shall accept a 
transfer application within one year after the date that a permitted 
vessel was lost, stolen, or destroyed, notwithstanding any inability to 
physically examine the permitted vessel to determine its salmon 
fishing potential. Only the permittee at the time of the loss, theft, or 
destruction of the vessel may apply for the transfer of the vessel 
permit. Proof that a vessel is lost, stolen, or destroyed shall be in the 
form of a copy of the report filed with the United States Coast Guard 
or any other law enforcement agency or fire department investigating 
the loss. 

  (b)(1) The owner, or the owner’s agent, may request an extension 
of the time to complete a transfer under subdivision (a) if the 
application for extension is submitted before the end of the time to 
submit an application under subdivision (a), or before the end of any 
previous extensions granted under this subdivision, whichever date is 
later. 

  (2) The department, after consultation with the review board and 
for good cause shown, including, but not limited to, inability to find a 
replacement vessel or pending litigation, may grant an extension of 
the time to complete a transfer under subdivision (a) for a period of six 
months. The department may grant further extensions under this 
subdivision, not to exceed a total time period of five years after the 
date the permitted vessel was lost, stolen, or destroyed if the permit 
fees are paid annually as required in paragraph (2) of subdivision (b) 
of Section 8239 and subdivision (c) of Section 8240. 

§8239.9 Determination of Vessel Potential Prior to Transfer 
Application  

Notwithstanding Section 8239, 8239.1, or 8239.2, any person may 
request the review board to determine the fishing potential of any 
permitted vessel or any replacement vessel before a transfer 
application for a permit for use of a replacement vessel is submitted to 
the department. The person making a request under this subdivision 
is not required to be the owner of either vessel. A determination under 
this subdivision is not binding on the review board or the department 
and is only advisory. 

§8241. Determination for Issuance of Replacement Vessel Permit  

The department shall issue the permit for use of a replacement vessel 
if it determines, after consultation with the review board, the following: 

  (a) The replacement vessel has the same fishing potential as, or 
less fishing potential than, the permitted vessel. The review board and 
the department shall consider the type of fishery the vessel was 
previously used in and the vessel’s highest and best use by a prudent 
operator and the review board shall make written findings on those 
facts. 

  (b) The replacement vessel’s fishing potential will not substantially 
increase fishing capacity over that which resulted from the operation 
of the permitted vessel. 

  (c) The applicant owns the replacement vessel. 
  (d) The conditions in this article are satisfied. 


