
 

State of California – Department of Fish and Wildlife 
FREE SPORT FISHING LICENSE APPLICATION – DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITY 
FG355D (REV. 12/14/2018)  
(916) 928-5808 
LRB@wildlife.ca.gov 

A free fishing license is available for any person who is developmentally disabled. The term developmental disability refers to a severe and 
chronic disability that is attributable to a mental or physical impairment that begins before an individual reaches adulthood (18 years of age). 
These disabilities include intellectual disability, cerebral palsy, epilepsy, autism, and disabling conditions closely related to intellectual disability 
or requiring similar treatment. For more information, visit the Department of Developmental Services website at: 
www.dds.ca.gov/general/info_about_dd.cfm.  

Applicant Instructions - To apply for a free fishing license, certification by a licensed physician or the Director of a State Regional Center is 
required (e.g., a letter on physician’s letterhead certifying the applicant’s developmental disability, and signed by a licensed physician). Submit 
this completed application with a certification letter from the Director of a State Regional Center or a licensed physician, to the address below. 

Licensed Physician or Director of State Regional Center Instructions - Complete the section indicated below and attach a letter certifying 
the applicant is developmentally disabled. The certification letter must be on your letterhead, contain your original signature, and state that the 
applicant meets the eligibility criteria defined above. Certification must be by a Director of a Regional Center or a licensed physician. 
Certification cannot be from a nurse practitioner or physician’s assistant.  
 

Mail your original signed application, original certification letter, and a photocopy of your state issued identification to: 

DEPARTMENT OF FISH AND WILDLIFE  
LICENSE AND REVENUE BRANCH  
1740 NORTH MARKET BLVD.  
SACRAMENTO, CA 95834 

Only original applications and certification letters with original signatures will be accepted. Faxed or photocopied applications or certification 
letters will not be accepted. 

All applications will be reviewed and eligibility will be verified prior to license issuance. Allow 15 business days for review and processing of your 
application. Incomplete or unsigned applications will be returned. 

Any license fraudulently obtained will be revoked and any person committing fraud to obtain this license will be prosecuted.    

APPLICANT INFORMATION 

DMV/STATE ID NUMBER  STATE  GO ID NUMBER (IF KNOWN) 

FIRST NAME  M.I.  LAST NAME 

MAILING ADDRESS 

CITY  STATE  ZIP CODE 

GENDER 

❑ MALE    ❑ FEMALE    ❑ NONBINARY 

 HAIR COLOR  EYE COLOR  HEIGHT (Ft., In.)  WEIGHT  DATE OF BIRTH 

METHOD OF RESIDENCY 

     ❑ I have resided continuously in California for the last six months.                       ❑ I am not a resident of California      
DAY TELEPHONE  E-MAIL ADDRESS (Voluntary) 

I certify under penalty of perjury that the information given on this application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge; 
that I have not been convicted of any Fish and Wildlife violation; and that I meet the qualifications for this license.  I hereby 
authorize the Director of a regional center or physician below to release to California Department of Fish and Wildlife, 
verification of my developmental disability. 
SIGNATURE 

X 

 DATE 

THIS SECTION MUST BE FILLED OUT BY A LICENSED PHYSICIAN OR STATE REGIONAL CENTER (A Nurse Practitioner or Physician’s 
Assistant cannot certify this application in place of a licensed physician.) 

NAME AND TITLE OF CERTIFYING OFFICIAL  

PHYSICIAN LICENSE NUMBER OR NAME OF STATE REGIONAL CENTER   CERTIFYING OFFICIAL’S TELEPHONE NUMBER 

CERTIFYING OFFICIAL’S ADDRESS 

CITY  STATE  ZIP CODE 

http://www.dds.ca.gov/general/info_about_dd.cfm



