
  
 

  
     

   
    

  
   

 
    

   
 

   
 

  
   

  
 

   

  
  

  

 

 
 

   
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 
 

State of California – Department of Fish and Wildlife 
DECLARATION OF THRESHER SHARK/SWORDFISH TAKE
75 NAUTICAL MILES OFFSHORE 
DFW 930B (REV. 10/23) 

Pursuant to Fish and Game Code section 8576, a permittee who lands swordfish or thresher shark 
taken in ocean waters more than 75 nautical miles from the mainland coastline from May 1 to April 14 
shall complete and submit this declaration form within 72 hours of arrival at any port in this state. 
This declaration shall be submitted to the Department of Fish and Wildlife at the following address: 

LEDMarineNotifications@wildlife.ca.gov 
Emails should have the following subject line: Drift Gill Net Declaration – VESSEL NAME 

On , the undersigned permittee aboard the fishing vessel 
(Month/Day/Year) 

landed thresher shark and/or swordfish as described in 
(Vessel Name) 

. The undersigned permittee declares under penalty of perjury 
(Fish Landing Receipt No.) 

that the thresher shark and/or swordfish landed on the above date were taken more than 75 nautical 
miles from the mainland coastline. 

Permittee’s Name: Commercial License No.: 

Signature: Date: 
(Month/ Day /Year) 

Fish and Game Code §8576 
(b) Drift gill nets shall not be used to take shark or swordfish in ocean waters within 75 nautical miles 
from the mainland coastline between the westerly extension of the California-Oregon boundary line 
and the westerly extension of the United States-Republic of Mexico boundary line from May 1 to 
August 14, inclusive. 
(d) Notwithstanding the closure from May 1 to August 14, inclusive, provided by subdivision (b), a 
permittee may land swordfish or thresher shark taken in ocean waters more than 75 nautical miles 
from the mainland coastline in that period if, for each landing during that closed period, the permittee 
signs a written declaration under penalty of perjury that the fish landed were taken more than 75 
nautical miles from the mainland coastline. The declaration shall be completed and signed before 
arrival at any port in this state. Within 72 hours of the time of arrival, the permittee shall deliver the 
declaration to the department. 
(e) If any person is convicted of falsely swearing a declaration under subdivision (d), in addition to any 
other penalty prescribed by law, the following penalties shall be imposed: 

(1) The fish landed shall be forfeited, or, if sold, the proceeds from the sale shall be forfeited, 
pursuant to Sections 12159, 12160, 12161, and 12162. 
(2) All shark or swordfish gill nets possessed by the permittee shall be seized and forfeited 
pursuant to Section 8630 or 12157. 
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