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3. SANTA BARBARA MARICULTURE (CONSENT)

Today’s Item Information  ☐ Action  ☒ 

Approve state water bottom lease No. M-653-02 for Santa Barbara Mariculture. 

Summary of Previous/Future Actions  

 Approve lease renewal for No. M-653-02 and Feb 7-8, 2018; Sacramento 
new adjacent lease area

 Today approve lease Apr 18-19, 2018; Ventura 

Background 

At its Feb 2018 meeting, FGC took action on two requests from Santa Barbara Mariculture 
related to leasing state water bottoms located offshore from Santa Barbara, to: 

1. Approve renewal of its existing State Water Bottom Lease No. M-653-02; and

2. Approve a new lease adjacent to State Water Bottom Lease No. M-653-02, based on
the mitigated negative declaration prepared pursuant to the California Environmental
Quality Act and adopted by FGC.

A map of the lease areas is provided in Exhibit 1. In addition, FGC directed staff to prepare a 
single lease document covering both the renewed and new state water bottom lease areas, 
and to schedule approval of the final lease at the Apr meeting to specify several lease terms 
that were approved in concept: 

 A lease term of 15 years with right to renew for 10 additional years (totaling 25 years);

 An annual rental rate of $50 per acre (the minimum productivity rate) with minimum
planting and harvesting requirements specified;

 A 3-year rental rate phase-in from the current rate of $5 per acre to the new rate of $50
per acre, to accommodate time needed to complete permitting and expand growing
areas to support production; and

 Inclusion of measures identified in the mitigated negative declaration.

For more background, see the lease timeline history and staff summary from the Dec 2017 
meeting (exhibits 2 and 3). 

Exhibit 4 provides the draft lease for approval, which includes standardized terms and 
conditions, and integrates unique terms and conditions proposed to achieve the lease term 
concepts listed above. 

Significant Public Comments (N/A) 

Recommendation  

FGC staff:  Under a motion to adopt the Consent Calendar, adopt the proposed lease and 
terms as presented in Exhibit 1, including a rental rate phase-in of $15/acre in Year 1, $30/acre 
in Year 2, and $50/acre in Year 3. 
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DFW:  Adopt the proposed lease. 

Exhibits 

1. Map of Santa Barbara Mariculture lease areas

2. Lease timeline history, 1984 to Feb 2018

3. Staff summary from Feb 7-8, 2018 meeting (for reference purposes only)

4. Draft Lease No. M-653-02, dated Apr 11, 2018

Motion/Direction  

Moved by _____________and seconded by ___________ that the Commission adopts the 
Consent Calendar, items 3-7. 



Santa Barbara Mariculture Offshore Farm

Section 2: Project Description 2 January 2018 

Map 1: Project Vicinity 

SBMC Lease



Map 2. New lease location as approved by the Fish and Game Commission in February 7, 2018. 



California Department of Fish and Wildlife Lease Timeline (Revised January 30, 2018)

Lease No: M-653-02
Company: Santa Barbara Mariculture

Owner: Bernard Friedman
Lease Location: Open ocean off Santa Barbara

Action Action Start Action Expiration Notes
Original Lease granted to Jeff Young (under Pacific 
Seafood Industries)

2/15/1984 2/14/1989

Lease transferred to SB Mariculture
11/3/2005 11/2/2010

FGC at its meeting on 11/3/2005 authorized transfer 
of title of lease from Pacific Seafood Industries to 
Santa Barbara Mariculture Company

FGC approved 90-day extension at its 10/21/2010 
meeting

11/2/2010 2/1/2011

FGC approved 180-day extension at its 12/16/2010 
meeting

2/1/2011 7/31/2011

FGC approved 180-day extension at its 6/30/2011 
meeting

7/31/2011 1/27/2012

FGC approved one year extension at its 8/03/2011 
meeting

1/27/2012 1/27/2013

FGC approved one year extension at its 8/08/2012 
meeting

1/27/2013 1/27/2014

Applicant requested re-shaping of lease, 
maintaining equivalent acreage

1/27/2014 1/27/2015
 

Extension requested by Department (FGC mtg 
12/9/2015) to complete administrative process

1/27/2015 1/27/2016
December 2014 FGC mtg:  1-yr extension under 
same terms and conditions approved

Extension requested by Department (FGC mtg 
12/3/2014) to complete CEQA process with 
applicant

1/27/2016 1/27/2017
December 2015 FGC mtg:  1-yr extension under 
same terms and conditions approved

Extension requested by Department (FGC mtg 
12/7/2016) to complete CEQA process with 
applicant

1/27/2017 6/27/2017
December 2016 FGC mtg:  180-day extension under 
same terms and conditions approved

Extension requested by Department (FGC mtg 
6/27/2017) to complete CEQA process with 
applicant

6/27/2017 1/27/2018
June 2017 FGC mtg:  180-day extension under same 
terms and conditions approved

Extension requested by staff (FGC mtg 12/7/2017) 
to complete CEQA circulation period and draft lease 
agreement

12/7/2017 7/27/2018
December 2017 FGC mtg:  180-day extension under 
same terms and conditions approved

Approve renewal of lease M-653-02, adopt MND 
pursuant to CEQA, approve new adjacent lease 2/8/2018

In 2033, on date 15 years 
after date of last signature 

Proposed for February 2018 FGC mtg:  Lease 
renewal, new lease approval, and combined single 
lease with special terms and conditions

FGC = California Fish and Game Commission CEQA = California Environmental Quality Act

Department = California Department of Fish and Wildlife MND = mitgated negative declaration
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19. SANTA BARBARA MARICULTURE (CONSENT) 

Today’s Item Information  ☐ Action  ☒ 

(A) Approve request to renew, as modified, State Water Bottom Lease No. M-653-02 for 
aquaculture in Santa Barbara; and 

(B) Approve application, and adopt the CEQA mitigated negative declaration, for a new 
state water bottom lease adjacent to existing Lease No. M-653-02. 

Summary of Previous/Future Actions  

(A)  

 Received request for lease renewal  Aug 18, 2010 

 Received revised request for lease renewal Jun 27, 2013  

 Approved short-term lease extensions 2010 – 2017; FGC meetings 

 Today approve request for lease renewal Feb 7-8, 2018; Sacramento 

(B)    

 Received request for new lease as part of lease Jun 27, 2013  

M-653-02 renewal 

 FGC finding that new lease is in public interest Aug 4, 2015; Fortuna 

 Today approve the new lease and adopt the Feb 7-8, 2018; Sacramento 
mitigated negative declaration  

Background 

FGC has the authority to lease state water bottoms to any person for aquaculture purposes for 
a period of up to 25 years, if such a lease is in the public interest (Section 15400, Fish and 
Game Code). The lessee shall have a prior right to renew the lease on terms agreed upon 
between FGC and the lessee (Section 15406, Fish and Game Code). A template lease 
agreement, approved by FGC in 2011 with standardized terms, conditions, and fee structure, 
forms the basis for new and renewed lease agreements (Exhibit 1); unique terms and 
conditions may be agreed upon and specified in individual leases. 

Santa Barbara Mariculture has held FGC-issued State Water Bottom Lease No. M-653-02 
since 2005 (exhibits 2 and 3). Following a multi-year process to review the request for lease 
renewal and reconfiguration (Exhibit 4), two separate but interrelated discretionary actions are 
scheduled today for FGC consideration: 

A. Renewal of the existing lease, modified to remove the seaward-most 26 acres of the 
lease area; and   

B. Approval of a new lease for a 26-acre plot adjacent to the remaining shoreward-most 
portion of the existing lease area proposed for renewal.   

For more background, see the staff summary from Dec 2017 (Exhibit 5). 

SAshcraft
Highlight
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CEQA Review 

An initial study and mitigated negative declaration were filed with the State Clearinghouse on 
Jan 8, 2018 for a 30-day public circulation period, ending Feb 7, 2018. The environmental 
review found no significant environmental impact resulting from the project, based on 
mitigation measures that lessen to less-than-significant certain minor biological impacts related 
to marine species entanglement, aquatic invasive species spread, bottom disturbance, and 
marine debris (Exhibit 6).  

Lease Format and Unique Terms and Conditions 

Staff has identified a list of unique terms and conditions to apply to both the renewed and new 
leases for FGC consideration:   

 Single lease document:  A single lease covering boh the renewed and new state water 
bottom lease areas for administrative and management efficiency;  

 Term:  A lease term of 15 years with right to renew for an additional 10 years (totaling 
25 years); 

 New rental rate:  An annual rental rate set at the minimum productivity rate of $50 per 
acre, which is the default rate for any species other than oysters; accompanying 
minimum planting and harvesting requirements must also be specified in the lease 
(Section 237(i)(2), Title 14, CCR);  

 3-year rental rate phase-in:  A phase-in of rental rate from current rate of $5 per acre to 
the new rate of $50 per acre. Before expansion of culturing operations can legally 
commence to support the increase in rate, the lessee must obtain additional permits 
after FGC approval. Therefore, staff has identified a three-year phase-in from the 
current to the new rental rate to accommodate the time needed to complete permitting 
and expand growing areas to support production; and  

 Mitigation measures:  Inclusion of measures identified in the mitigated negative 
declaration. 

 
Today, FGC may approve these lease terms in concept, and direct staff to integrate the terms 
into the lease template for final lease approval at a subsequent FGC meeting. 

Significant Public Comments 

Letters of support were previously submitted by Grassy Bar Oyster Company, Inc. and by 
graduate students from the Bren School at UC Santa Barbara.    

Recommendation 

FGC staff:  Under a motion to approve the consent calendar, approve the existing lease 
renewal for State Water Bottom Lease No. M-653-02; adopt the mitigated negative declaration 
prepared pursuant to the California Environmental Quality Act, and approve the new lease  
adjacent to State Water Bottom Lease No. M-653-02; approve terms as recommended above; 
and direct staff to schedule approval of the final lease at the Apr 18-19 meeting in Ventura. 

DFW:  Supports FGC staff recommendation.  



Item No. 19 
STAFF SUMMARY FOR FEBRUARY 7-8, 2018 

 
   

 
 
Author:  Susan Ashcraft 3 

 

Exhibits 

1. FGC lease agreement template 

2. Map of Santa Barbara Mariculture lease areas  

3. Lease No. M-653-02, dated Nov 3, 2005 

4. Lease timeline history, 1984 to Dec 2017 

5. Staff summary from Dec 6-7, 2017 meeting (reference purposes only) 

6. Initial study and mitigated negative declaration 

Motion/Direction   

Moved by _____________and seconded by ___________ that the Commission adopts the 
Consent Calendar, items 19-23. 
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WHEN RECORDED MAIL TO: ) 
 ) 
State of California ) 
Fish and Game Commission ) 
1416 Ninth Street, Rm 1320 ) 
Sacramento, CA 95814 ) 
P.O. Box 944209 ) 
Sacramento, CA 94244-2090 ) 

Space Above Line for Recorder's Use Only 

LEASE GRANTING THE EXCLUSIVE PRIVILEGE 
OF CONDUCTING AQUACULTURE AT 
STATE WATER BOTTOM NO. M-653-02 

THIS LEASE GRANTING THE EXCLUSIVE PRIVILEGE OF CONDUCTING 
AQUACULTURE AT STATE WATER BOTTOM NO. M-653-02 (“Lease”) is made and 
entered into upon execution, by and between Santa Barbara Mariculture Company, 
(“Tenant”) and the California Fish and Game Commission (“State”) with reference to the 
following facts: 

RECITALS 

Whereas, Fish and Game Code Section 15400 authorizes the State to lease to any person 
the exclusive privilege to conduct aquaculture in any designated State Water Bottom if it 
determines that such lease is in the public interest; and 

Whereas, The State authorized the transfer of title to Lease Agreement No. M-653-02 on 
November 3, 2005 from Pacific Seafood Industries to Santa Barbara Mariculture Company 
(hereinafter referred to as “Tenant”); and 

Whereas, The State did on November 3, 2005 approve the renewal of Lease Agreement 
M-653-02 for a period of five years, containing an area of approximately 72 acres at a lease 
rate of five ($5.00) dollars per acre; and 

Whereas, the State did receive notice from the Tenant, dated August 10, 2010, requesting 
to exercise his right to renew lease of State Water Bottom No. M-653-02; and 

Whereas, the State did approve a series of successive short-term extensions to the lease 
ranging from February 1, 2011 to the present; and  

Whereas, the State did on June 27, 2013 receive from the Tenant a revised request to 
reconfigure the lease shape into a narrower configuration, while maintaining the same net 
acreage; and 

Whereas, Tenant’s request included acreage outside the then-current lease boundaries,  
the State did on December 3, 2014 determine that to renew as reconfigured would require 
a separate lease application for the proposed new area outside existing lease boundaries 
and requested Tenant to resubmit its request according to this determination; and  
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Whereas, the State did on December 3, 2014 approve a lease amendment to clarify lease 
boundaries according to reconciled GPS-survey coordinates; and  

Whereas, the State did on May 5, 2015 receive from the Tenant a revised request, in 
response to the State’s determination, to renew the existing lease as reduced by 26 acres, 
and an application for leasing of new state water bottoms outside the existing lease 
boundaries in an area consisting of 26 acres; and 

Whereas, the State did on August 4, 2015 make a determination that, in compliance with 
Fish and Game Code Sections 15400(a) and 15404, consideration of the new area for 
lease would be in the public interest; and 
 
Whereas, on February 8, 2018 the State approved renewal of Lease No. M-653-02 as 
revised to remove the seawardmost 26 acres, and approved the application for a new 26 
acre lease parcel adjacent to the renewed Lease No. M-653-02; and 

Whereas, both areas are henceforth combined into a single parcel under Lease No. M-
653-02 for purposes of administrative efficiency;  

Now, Therefore, State and Tenant agree as follows: 
 

TERMS AND CONDITIONS 

1. LEASE. The State hereby grants to Tenant the exclusive privilege to conduct 
aquaculture upon State Water Bottom No. M-653-02, subject to the terms and conditions 
of this Lease. 

2. DESCRIPTION. This Lease covers that reconfigured area comprising 
approximately 72 acres, designated as State Water Bottom No. M-653-02 and shown on 
the attached Description (Exhibit A) and Maps (Exhibit B), which are made a part of this 
Lease by reference.  

3. TERM. This Lease is for a term (“Term”) commencing on date of final execution 
(________________)  and ending FIFTEEN (15) years after (on ________________) 
unless renewed or sooner terminated in accordance with its terms.  

4. ANNUAL RENT.  The annual base rent for the Lease area is calculated to recover 
Tenant’s share of the State’s operational costs of the aquaculture bottom leasing program 
attributable to shellfish cultivation and is based on tiered productivity values established by 
the State. The 10-year average oyster production values fall into three productivity 
classifications: 

• High productivity = >100,000 oysters/acre = $150.00 per acre/year 
• Moderate productivity = >20,000-99,000 oysters/acre = $100.00 per acre/year 
• Low productivity = >2,000-19,999 oysters/acre = $50.00 per acre/year 

As this Lease authorizes the primary production of mussels in addition to the secondary 
production of oysters, the State approved the low productivity rate of $50.00 per acre/year 
for this lease area, following a three-year phase-in of the annual lease rate according to 
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the following schedule, beginning with Term commencing on the date of lease execution, 
as follows: 

• Year 1:  $15.00 per acre 

• Year 2:  $30.00 per acre  

• Year 3:  $50.00 per acre 

Following Year 3, the base rent shall be annually adjusted in the following manner: 

The Department of Fish and Wildlife shall determine the change in the "Implicit 
Price Deflator for State and Local government Purchases of Goods and Services,” 
as published by the U.S. Department of Commerce, for the quarter ending March 
31 of the current year compared to the quarter ending March 31 of the previous 
year. The relative amount of the change shall be multiplied by the amount of the 
annual rent. 

No more frequently than at five-year intervals, the State, in its sole discretion, may 
recalculate the productivity classification by which the annual rent is calculated for Tenant 
to reflect changes in the State’s operational costs of the aquaculture bottom leasing 
program attributable to shellfish cultivation.  

Whenever such formula is updated, the annual rent first charged Tenant thereafter shall 
become the new base rent, subject to the foregoing adjustments for inflation thereafter. 

Notice of the annual adjusted rent for the upcoming calendar year shall be given to Tenant 
by December 1. Until the notice of the annual adjustment is provided, Tenant remains 
obligated to pay rent at the previous rate. Pursuant to Fish and Game Code section 15407, 
the annual rent shall be paid within 30 days of the commencement date in Section 3, and 
within 30 days of each anniversary. Tenant shall remit such rent to: Department of Fish 
and Wildlife, Fiscal and Administrative Services Branch, 1416 Ninth Street, 12th Floor, 
Sacramento, California 95814  RE:  State Water Bottom Lease No. M-653-02. 

Payment shall be made to the State in lawful money of the United States, provided that, if 
any payment made by a check, draft or money order is returned to The State due to 
insufficient funds or otherwise, the State shall have the right, upon written notice to Tenant, 
to require Tenant to make all subsequent payments in cash, or by cashier's or certified 
check. 

5. LATE PAYMENT. Annual payment of rent is due and payable on the 
commencement date of this Lease or any anniversary thereafter, and is timely if received 
by the State within thirty (30) days of such commencement date or anniversary. Any annual 
payment not received by the State within thirty (30) days of the Lease commencement date 
or anniversary thereof, regardless of whether the 30th day falls on a Saturday, Sunday or 
holiday, will be subject to a late penalty consisting of an administrative charge on the late 
amount, calculated at the rate of five percent (5%) of the amount of the late payment. The 
parties agree that the late charge represents a fair and reasonable estimate of the costs 
the State will incur because of late payment. Acceptance of the late charge by the State 
shall not constitute a waiver of Tenant's default for the overdue amount, nor prevent the 
State from exercising other rights and remedies granted under this Lease. Tenant shall pay 
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the late charge as additional rent within 30 days of the due date of the original payment. 

Any annual payment not received by the State within ninety (90) days of the 
commencement date of the Lease or within ninety (90) days of any anniversary thereof 
shall constitute a breach of Lease, giving rise to the State's remedies as set forth herein. 

Annual rent due to the State, if not received by the State within ninety (90) days following 
the due date, will bear interest from the due date until paid at the rate of ten percent (10%) 
per year or, if a higher rate is legally permissible, at the highest rate legally permitted. 
Interest shall not be payable on late charges incurred by Tenant nor on any amounts on 
which late charges are paid by Tenant to the extent this interest would cause the total 
interest to be in excess of that legally permitted. Payment of interest shall not excuse nor 
cure any default by Tenant. 

Upon written request by Tenant to the State, demonstrating unusual or extenuating 
circumstances causing the late payment, the State, in its sole discretion, may waive the 
late charge. 

6. INSURANCE. Tenant shall furnish to the State certificate(s) of insurance stating that 
Public Liability Insurance is presently in effect for the Tenant and will be in effect throughout 
the period of this Lease with a combined single liability limit of not less than One Million 
Dollars ($1,000,000.00) per occurrence, and shall insure against all liability of Tenant and 
its employees and agents arising out of or in connection with Tenant’s use and occupancy 
of the leased Lease area. The certificate(s) of insurance shall: 

(a) Be furnished to the State by the insurance companies, and no such policy shall be 
cancelable or subject to reduction of coverage or other modification except after 30 days 
prior written notice to the State. 

(b) Include the State of California, its officers, agents, employees and servants are 
included as additional insured but only insofar as the operations under the Lease are 
concerned. 

(c) Provide that the State shall not be responsible for any premiums or assessments on 
any policy of insurance hereunder. 

(d) Comply with those standards as determined by the State of California, Department of 
General Services, Office of Risk and Insurance Management. 

Tenant agrees that the insurance required herein shall be in effect at all times during the 
Term of this Lease, at the cost of Tenant. In the event said insurance, or any of it, expires 
or lapses at any time during the Term of this Lease, the Tenant agrees to provide, no later 
than fifteen (15) days after said expiration or lapse, written evidence of required insurance 
coverage from the date of loss of the earlier insurance and continuing for not less than the 
remainder of the Term of the Lease. Tenant's failure to keep in effect at all times all 
insurance required by this Lease shall be grounds for termination of the Lease, in addition 
to any other remedies available to the State. 

Where Tenant has any employees, a program of workers' compensation insurance, in an 
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amount and form to meet all applicable requirements of the Labor Code of California, shall 
be in place throughout the Term of this Lease. Such insurance shall include employer's 
liability coverage of One Million Dollars ($1,000,000.00) and shall specifically cover all 
persons providing services by or on behalf of Tenant and shall cover all risks to such 
persons under this Lease. 

7. INDEMNITY AND WAIVER. (For purposes of this Section 7, the term, “State”, 
shall include the Department of Fish and Wildlife as well as the Fish and Game 
Commission.) Tenant hereby waives all claims and recourse against the State, including 
the right to contribution for loss or damage to persons or property arising from, or in any 
way connected with or incident to this Lease, except claims arising from, and only to the 
extent of the gross negligence or willful misconduct of the State, its officers, agents or 
employees. Tenant shall notify the Department of Fish and Wildlife Aquaculture 
Coordinator immediately in case of any serious accident, injury, or casualty on, or 
potentially related to, the Lease area. 

Tenant shall protect, indemnify, hold harmless, and defend the State, its officers, agents 
or employees, against any and all claims, demands, damages, costs, expenses or liability 
costs arising out of the use by Tenant, including its employees and agents, of the Lease 
area, except for liability arising out of, and to the extent of, the gross negligence or willful 
misconduct of the State, its officers, agents or employees for which the State is found liable 
by a court of competent jurisdiction. 

Should the State be named as a defendant in any claim or legal action arising out of the 
use by Tenant, including its employees and agents, of the Lease area, upon tender of the 
claim or action by the State to Tenant, the Tenant shall assume the State's defense and 
represent the State in such legal action at Tenant's expense, subject to the provisions 
herein. 

In lieu of tender to Tenant of the claim or action against the State, the State may elect to 
represent itself, in which event, the State shall bear its own litigation costs, expenses and 
attorney fees. Notwithstanding the foregoing, in the event the State is required to represent 
itself because of a conflict of interest by counsel representing Tenant, then Tenant, upon 
demand by the State, shall reimburse the State for the State's litigation costs, expenses 
and attorney fees. Costs shall include, without limitation, all attorney fees and costs, court 
costs, if any, costs of mediators or arbitrators, experts and consultants, and any other costs 
reasonably incurred in response to any claim. 

In the event the State is found to be concurrently liable with Tenant by a court of competent 
jurisdiction for loss or damage to persons or property arising out of the use by Tenant, its 
employees and agents, of the Lease area, the State and Tenant shall cooperate and use 
their best efforts to seek and obtain an apportionment of liability from the court and neither 
party shall request a jury apportionment. 

In the event the State is found to be liable for any other wrongful act, for which liability to 
another is determined by a court of competent jurisdiction for loss or damage to persons 
or property arising out of the use by Tenant, its employees and agents, of the Lease area, 
the State shall bear its own litigation costs, expenses and attorney fees. If Tenant has paid 
for any such costs which are the responsibility of the State under this provision, the State 
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shall reimburse Tenant at Tenant's request. The State, in its sole discretion, may provide 
any reimbursement required in the form of a credit against any other money due the State 
under this Lease. 

8. RENEWAL. Tenant may provide written notice to the Department of Fish and 
Wildlife Aquaculture Coordinator that it is exercising its right to seek renewal of this lease 
at least 120 days and not more than 364 days (one year) prior to the expiration date in 
Section 3 pursuant to Fish and Game Code Section 15406. So long as Tenant, during the 
period specified herein, is still actively engaged in aquaculture, as determined by the State, 
Tenant shall have a prior right to renew for a period of TEN (10) years on terms to be 
agreed upon between the State, in consultation with the Department of Fish and Wildlife 
Aquaculture Coordinator, and Tenant. If Tenant fails to give such notice of its right to seek 
renewal during the period specified herein, the Lease, including any remaining right to seek 
renewal, shall terminate upon expiration of the then-current Term. Moreover, if Tenant is 
in default on the date of giving such notice, the notice shall be ineffective; if Tenant cures 
the default and provides a new notice thereafter all within the period specified herein for 
giving notice, that new notice shall be sufficient to exercise Tenant’s prior right to renew. 
Provided, further, that if on the date a renewal Term is to commence Tenant is in default, 
the renewal Term shall not commence and this Lease shall expire at the end of the current 
Term. However, if the State continues negotiating renewal terms after the prior Term 
expires, then the holdover provisions of Section 9 may apply. In no event shall the Term of 
this Lease, or the Term of any renewal thereof, extend beyond 25 years each. 

9. HOLDOVER. If the Term in Section 3 expires and the Lease has not been renewed 
pursuant to Section 8, and Tenant remains in possession of the Lease area with State’s 
express or implied permission, Tenant shall become a tenant from month to month only, 
subject to all the provisions of this Lease except Sections 3, 4 and 5. During this holdover 
tenancy, a monthly rent representing one-twelfth of the current adjusted annual rent shall 
be payable on or before the first day of each month. It is expressly understood that a 
holdover tenancy does not create any right of renewal beyond that provided by Fish and 
Game Code section 15406 as set forth in Section 8, and that the only purpose of a holdover 
tenancy is to allow continuity of use of the property while the State continues to negotiate 
renewal terms or undertakes to issue a new lease to the highest responsible bidder 
pursuant to Fish and Game Code section 15406, or to allow the holdover tenant time to 
terminate and remove the aquaculture operation consistent with Fish and Game Code 
section 15409(a). If either party desires to terminate such holdover tenancy, it shall give 
the other party not less than thirty days advance written notice of the date of termination. 

10. POSSESSORY INTEREST. Tenant understands and acknowledges that, pursuant 
to Revenue and Taxation Code section 107.6(a), any possessory interest created by this 
Lease may be subject to the payment of property taxes levied on that possessory interest. 

Tenant agrees to pay, before delinquency, all lawful taxes, assessments, license fees and 
any other charges of any type whatsoever which at any time may be levied by the State, 
County, City or any tax or assessment-levying body upon any interest in or created by this 
Lease, or any possessory right which Tenant may have in or to the Lease area covered 
hereby. 

11. USE. Tenant shall use the Lease area only for the purpose stated in this Lease, and 
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such use shall be continuous from commencement of the Lease Term until its expiration 
or termination. Pursuant to Fish and Game Code section 15414, the State may require the 
Tenant to submit any periodic reports it deems necessary for the proper administration of 
State Water Bottom M-653-02. 

The Lease area shall be continuously used by Tenant to conduct aquaculture operations, 
as aquaculture is defined in Fish and Game Code section 17. Tenant shall not use or permit 
the Lease area to be used in whole or in part during the Term of this Lease for any purpose, 
other than as set forth herein, without the prior written consent of the State. 

The possessory interest herein given to the Tenant does not exclude the general public 
from the Lease area, and Tenant may not unreasonably impede public access to state 
waters for purpose of fishing, navigation, commerce or recreation or other public trust 
values. However, Tenant may limit public access to the extent necessary to avoid damage 
to the Lease area and the aquatic life culture therein. This Lease is not intended to confer 
third party beneficiary status to anyone benefiting from the terms of this Lease. The 
possessory interest is further subject to all valid and existing contracts, leases, licenses, 
encumbrances, and claims of title which may affect the Lease area. 

This Lease provides a tenancy of a temporary nature. The parties to this Lease agree that 
no Relocation Payment or Relocation Advisory Assistance will be sought or provided in 
any form as a consequence of this tenancy. 

This Lease is of no force or effect until signed by both parties and all approvals are secured. 
Tenant may not commence performance until such approval has been obtained. Any 
commencement of performance prior to Lease approval shall be done at the Tenant's own 
risk. Nothing in this Lease may be waived, modified, amended or discharged except by a 
writing signed by the State and Tenant and approved by the State in a public meeting. 

12. SHELLFISH PRODUCTION IMPROVEMENTS. 

(A) A lease for the cultivation of species other than oysters will include minimum planting 
and harvesting requirements for the species to be cultivated to insure that water bottoms 
so encumbered will be used for the purpose intended. Minumum planting requirements for 
all shellfish species cultivated on this lease are, in combination, 5,000 individual seed 
planted per acre per year, and 2,000 singles harvested per acre per year. 

(B) Harvest amounts shall be recorded in the form of a receipt in quadruplicate furnished 
by the Department of Fish and Wildlife. The triplicate copy shall be delivered to the 
Department of Fish and Wildlife on or before the first and sixteenth day of each month. 

Tenant shall record and report on its planting and harvesting activities each year in the 
annual proof-of-use statement required in Section 237(j), Title 14, California Code of 
Regulations. This report is a written declaration under penalty of perjury, that includes the 
date and amount of each type of aquaculture development, and date and amount of 
designated species comprising each planting, including a diagram (map) showing area, 
amounts, and dates planted. Such annual proof-of-use shall be submitted on or before 
February 1 of each year for the previous year, January 1 — December 31, inclusive, to the 
Department of Fish and Wildlife’s, Marine Region Aquaculture Project, currently contacted 
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at: 619 Second Street, Eureka, CA, 95501, telephone 707-445-5365. This contact 
information will be updated and maintained online at www.wildlife.ca.gov/aquaculture, or 
at such other place as the State may from time to time designate. The State may declare 
this lease terminated if Tenant at any time, is proven to be failing in good faith, to pursue 
the purpose of this lease. 

13. NO WARRANTY. This Lease is made without warranty of title, condition or fitness 
of State Water Bottom No. M-653-02 for the Tenant’s intended purpose or use. 

Tenant agrees to accept the Lease area in its presently existing condition, "As Is", and that 
the State shall not be obligated to make any alterations, additions or betterments thereto, 
except as otherwise provided in the Lease. 

14. COMPLIANCE. As a necessary condition for this Lease, Tenant must obtain and 
maintain all necessary registrations, permits and any other entitlements. Tenant shall 
comply with all applicable federal, state and local laws, including laws relating to public 
health and safety, zoning, resource conservation and environmental protection including, 
but not limited to, the Coastal Zone Act, the Porter-Cologne Water Quality Act, and the 
California Environmental Quality Act. 

Tenant shall comply with all applicable resource management and preservation mandates 
in the conduct of all activities that impact cultural, natural, or scenic resources. These 
mandates include, but are not limited to, those found in Public Resources Code sections 
5024 and 5097 and the United States Secretary of the Interior's Guidelines for Historic 
Preservation. Tenant's operations under this Lease shall ensure that the State's goals of 
ensuring historical preservation and proper cultural, scenic and natural resource 
management are continually achieved in a manner consistent with applicable law. 

15. RECORD KEEPING. The State may require periodic reports from Tenant as the 
State deems necessary for the proper administration of the State’s water bottoms. 

Tenant agrees that the Fish and Game Commission, Department of Fish and Wildlife, and 
the Bureau of State Audits, or their designated representative, shall have the right to review 
and copy any records and supporting documentation pertaining to the performance of this 
Lease. Tenant agrees to maintain such records for possible audit for a minimum of three 
years after final payment. Tenant agrees to allow the auditor(s) prompt access to such 
records during normal business hours and similarly to allow interviews of any employees 
who might reasonably have information related to such records. Tenant agrees to include 
a similar right of the State to audit records and to interview staff in any sublease or contract 
related to performance of this Lease. 

16. WAIVER AND CONSENT. Unless expressly acknowledged by the State in writing, 
no term, covenant, or condition of this Lease and no default or breach is waived by the 
acceptance of a late or nonconforming performance. The State’s consent for one 
transaction or event under this Lease is not consent to any subsequent occurrence of the 
same or any other transaction or event. 

17. BREACH. The occurrence of any one of the following shall constitute a breach of 
this Lease by Tenant: (1) Failure of Tenant to make any annual Lease payment within 
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ninety (90) days of the commencement date of the Lease or within ninety (90) days of any 
anniversary thereof; (2) Failure of Tenant to make any other payment more than thirty (30) 
days after such payment is due; (3) abandonment of the Lease area determined after the 
State has followed the procedures set forth in Civil Code section 1951.3; or (4) any failure 
by Tenant to comply with laws applicable to the conduct of aquaculture. 

Should a threat to public health or safety or to the environment be created or exist on the 
Lease area, the State may declare an emergency event and, unless an alternative 
arrangement is preferable in the State’s discretion, may enter upon and take possession 
of the Lease area to remedy the emergency without prior notice and/or demand an 
assignment of the right to operate the Lease area. Upon entering the Lease area under 
this Section, the State shall provide immediate notice of such action by hand delivery or 
fax of its declaration to Tenant. The State may retain possession of the Lease area until 
the emergency event has been completely and adequately addressed to the State's 
satisfaction. Where a breach of this Lease has caused or exacerbated the emergency 
event, or where the Tenant is non-cooperative in allowing or addressing any remedial 
action necessary because of the emergency event, the State may terminate the Lease. 
The State shall not be liable in any manner for any inconvenience, disturbance, loss of 
business, nuisance or other damage arising out of the State's entry in the Lease area as 
provided herein, except damage resulting from the active negligence or willful misconduct 
of the State or its authorized representatives. 

Any failure by Tenant to observe or perform another provision of this Lease where such 
failure continues for twenty (20) days after written notice thereof by the State to Tenant; 
any such notice shall be deemed to be the notice required under Code of Civil Procedure 
section 1161. However, if the nature of Tenant's breach is such that it cannot reasonably 
be cured within the twenty (20) day period, Tenant shall not be deemed to be in breach if 
Tenant shall commence such cure within the twenty (20) day period and thereafter 
diligently prosecutes such cure to completion. 

Neither this Lease nor any interest of Tenant hereunder in the Lease area shall be subject 
to involuntary assignment or transfer by operation of law in any manner whatsoever, 
including, without limitation, the following:  (a) transfer by testacy or 
intestacy; (b) assignments or arrangements for the benefit of creditors; (c) levy of a writ 
of attachment or execution on this Lease; (d) the appointment of a receiver with the 
authority to take possession of the Lease area in any proceeding or action in which the 
Tenant is a party; or (e) the filing by or against Tenant of a petition to have Tenant adjudged 
a bankrupt, or of a petition for reorganization or arrangement under any law relating to 
bankruptcy. Any such involuntary assignment or transfer by operation of law shall 
constitute a breach by Tenant and the State shall have the right to elect to take immediate 
possession of the Lease area, to terminate this Lease and/or invoke other appropriate 
remedies, in which case this Lease shall not be treated as an asset of Tenant. 

Notices of breach shall specify the alleged breach and the applicable Lease provision and 
shall demand that Tenant perform the provisions of this Lease within the applicable time 
period or quit the Lease area. No such notice shall be deemed a forfeiture or a termination 
of this Lease unless the State specifically so states in the notice. 

18. REMEDIES. In the event of breach by Tenant, the State shall have the following 
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remedies. These remedies are not exclusive; they are cumulative and are in addition to 
any other right or remedy of the State at law or in equity. 

Collection of Rent: In any case where the State has a cause of action for damages, the 
State shall have the privilege of splitting the cause to permit the institution of a separate 
suit for rent due hereunder, and neither institution of any suit, nor the subsequent entry of 
judgment shall bar the State from bringing another suit for rent; it being the purpose of this 
provision to provide that the forbearance on the part of the State in any suit or entry of 
judgment for any part of the rent reserved under this Lease, to sue for, or to include in, any 
suit and judgment the rent then due, shall not serve as defense against, nor prejudice a 
subsequent action for, rent or other obligations due under the Lease. The claims for rent 
may be regarded by the State, if it so elects, as separate claims capable of being assigned 
separately. 

Continued Performance:  At the State’s option, Tenant shall continue with its 
responsibilities under this Lease during any dispute. 

Termination of Tenant's Right to Possession: Upon an event of breach of this Lease by 
Tenant, in addition to any other rights or remedies it may have, the State may give Tenant 
a three-day notice to cure the breach or quit the Lease area. If Tenant fails to do either, the 
State may bring a statutory proceeding in unlawful detainer to regain possession of the 
Lease area. Any notice give by the State pursuant to this Section does not constitute a 
termination of this Lease unless expressly so declared by the State in the notice. In the 
absence of written notice from the State, no act by the State, including, but not limited to, 
acts of maintenance, efforts to re-let and/or assign rights to possession of the Lease area, 
or the appointment of a receiver on the State's initiative to protect the State's interest under 
this Lease shall constitute an acceptance of Tenant’s surrender of the Lease area, or 
constitute a termination of this Lease or of Tenant's right to possession of the Lease area. 
Upon such termination, the State has the right to recover from Tenant: (a) the worth, at the 
time of the award, of the unpaid rent that had been earned at the time of termination of this 
Lease; (b) the worth, at the time of the award, of the amount by which the unpaid rent that 
would have been earned after the date of termination of this Lease until the time of the 
award exceeds the amount of loss of rent that Tenant proves could have reasonably been 
avoided; (c) the worth, at the time of the award, of the amount by which the unpaid rent for 
the balance of the Term after the time of the award exceeds the amount of the loss of rent 
that Tenant proves could have been reasonably avoided; and (d) any other amount 
necessary to compensate the State for all the detriment proximately caused by Tenant's 
failure to perform its obligations under this Lease, and costs of clearing the State's title of 
any interest of Tenant, commissions, attorneys' fees, and any other costs necessary or 
appropriate to make the Lease area operational by a new Tenant. 

"The worth, at the time of the award," as used herein above shall be computed by allowing 
interest at the lesser of a rate of ten percent (10%) per annum or the maximum legal rate. 

Receiver: If Tenant is in breach of this Lease, the State shall have the right to have a 
receiver appointed to collect rent and conduct Tenant's business or to avail itself of any 
other pre-judgment remedy. Neither the filing of a petition for the appointment of a receiver 
nor the appointment itself shall constitute an election by the State to terminate this Lease. 

Right to Cure Tenant's Breach: At any time after Tenant commits a breach, the State can 
cure the breach at Tenant's cost. If the State, at any time by reason of Tenant's breach, 
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pays any sum or does any act that requires the payment of any sum, the sum paid by the 
State shall be due immediately from Tenant to the State, and if paid at a later date shall 
bear interest at the rate of ten percent (10%) per annum from the date the sum is paid by 
the State until the State is reimbursed by Tenant. 

Personal Property of Tenant: In the event any personal property or trade fixtures of Tenant 
remain at the Lease area after the State has regained possession, that property or those 
fixtures shall be dealt with in accordance with the provisions for Surrender of the Lease 
area provided below. 

State's Obligations After Breach: The State shall be under no obligation to observe or 
perform any covenant of this Lease on its part to be observed or performed that accrues 
after the date of any breach by Tenant. Such nonperformance by the State shall not 
constitute a termination of Tenant's right to possession nor a constructive eviction. 

No Right of Redemption: Tenant hereby waives its rights under California Code of Civil 
Procedure sections 1174 and 1179 or any present or future law that allows Tenant any 
right of redemption or relief from forfeiture in the event the State takes possession of the 
Lease area by reason of any breach by Tenant. 

Other Relief: The State shall have such rights and remedies for failure to pay any and all 
monetary obligations under this Lease as the State would have if Tenant failed to pay rent 
due. The remedies provided in this Lease are in addition to any other remedies available 
to the State at law, in equity, by statute, or otherwise. 

Attorney’s Fees and Costs: Tenant shall reimburse the State on demand for all reasonable 
attorney fees and expenses incurred by the State as a result of a breach under this Lease, 
provided that, in any litigation between the parties to this Lease concerning it, the prevailing 
party shall be entitled to recover court costs, reasonable attorney fees, and other costs 
reasonably incurred to secure the remedy obtained in the action. 
 
The State shall not be in breach of the performance of any obligation required of it under 
this Lease unless and until it has failed to perform such obligation for more than thirty (30) 
days after written notice by Tenant to the State specifying the alleged breach and the 
applicable Lease provision giving rise to the obligation. However, if the nature of the State's 
obligation is such that more than thirty (30) days is required for its performance, then the 
State shall not be deemed in breach if it shall commence performance within such 30-day 
period and thereafter diligently prosecute the same to completion. 

19. ASSIGNMENT AND SUBLEASES. Pursuant to Fish and Game Code section 
15412, this Lease may not be assigned, in whole or in part, by Tenant, either voluntarily or 
by operation of law, and no subleases or other rights may be granted under it by Tenant 
without the prior written approval of the State, subject to the conditions that it prescribes. 
At the election of the State, any attempted assignment or subletting without such prior 
approval of the State shall terminate this Lease. 

20. TERMINATION. In the event the Lease area becomes unsuitable for the practical 
cultivation or harvest of shellfish, or in the event the Tenant becomes unable to continue 
operating the Lease for aquaculture for reasons beyond Tenant’s ability to control, Tenant 
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may terminate the Lease after thirty (30) days written notice to the State. Tenant may 
terminate the Lease for any other reason through a written request presented to and 
approved by the State at a public hearing held for purposes of consideration of Tenant’s 
termination request. Such termination shall be effective thirty (30) days after State 
approval. 

On expiration of or within thirty (30) days after earlier termination of the Lease, Tenant shall 
surrender the Lease area to the State. Tenant shall remove all of its personal property as 
well as all man-made material deposited during Tenant’s occupancy within the above 
stated time unless otherwise agreed to in writing. 

If Tenant fails to surrender the Lease area to the State on the expiration, or within thirty 
(30) days after earlier termination of the Term as provided by this Section, Tenant shall 
hold the State harmless for all damages resulting from Tenant's failure to surrender the 
Lease area. 

21. QUITCLAIM. Tenant shall, within ninety (90) days of the expiration or sooner 
termination of this Lease, execute, acknowledge and deliver to the State in a recordable 
form provided by the State a release of all rights under this Lease. Should Tenant fail or 
refuse to deliver such a release, a written notice by the State reciting such failure or refusal 
shall, from the date of its recordation, be conclusive evidence against Tenant of the 
expiration or termination of this Lease. 

22. TIME OF THE ESSENCE. Time is of the essence of this Lease and any term, 
covenant or condition in which performance is a factor. 

23. CHANGES. Nothing in this Lease may be waived, modified, amended, or 
discharged except by an instrument in writing signed by Tenant and the State, in 
consultation with the Department of Fish and Wildlife Aquaculture Coordinator. At its 
discretion, the Department of Fish and Wildlife may charge Tenant for any and all costs it 
incurs in any lease amendment requested by Tenant. 
 
24. SEVERABILITY. If a court of competent jurisdiction determines that a Lease 
provision is legally invalid, illegal or unenforceable, and such decision becomes final, the 
provision shall be severed and deleted from the Lease and the remainder reasonably 
interpreted to achieve its intent. Tenant and the State agree to replace such void or 
unenforceable provision with a valid and enforceable provision that will achieve, to the 
extent possible, the purpose of the original provision. 
 
25. SITE CLEANUP. Tenant shall provide to the State financial assurance sufficient to 
ensure that, upon termination or abandonment of this Lease, the Lease area is surrendered 
in a condition that is in accordance with Section 20, to the satisfaction of the State. 

The financial assurance amount shall be calculated based on an analysis of the physical 
activities and materials necessary to surrender the site in the required condition; the unit 
costs or costs for third party contracting, for each of the identified activities as applicable; 
the number of units of these activities; and a contingency amount not to exceed ten percent 
(10%) of the costs of the activities. 
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Financial assurances may take the form of surety bonds executed by an admitted surety 
insurer, as defined in subdivision (a) of Section 995.120 of the Code of Civil Procedure, 
irrevocable letters of credit, trust funds, or other forms of financial assurances specified by 
the State which it reasonably determines to be adequate to perform restoration of the site. 
Personal surety bonds cannot provide financial assurance under this requirement. The 
financial assurance shall be payable to the State and shall remain in effect throughout the 
duration of the tenancy under the Lease, and until the State accepts surrender of the Lease 
area or until replaced by an equivalent financial assurance. 

The financial assurance shall be applied by the State to place the Lease area in the 
condition required for surrender under Section 20, whenever the Tenant fails or refuses to 
accomplish such activities, and to reimburse the State for all its costs of achieving that 
condition of the Lease area. Any assets remaining from the financial assurance after all 
costs to the State, including administrative costs to secure the funds, have been 
reimbursed therefrom, shall be returned to the Tenant. 

26. NON-DISCRIMINATION. In its use of the Lease area, Tenant shall not discriminate 
against, harass, or allow harassment against any person or class of persons on the basis 
of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, ancestry, sex, sexual orientation, age, marital 
status, medical condition or disability. Tenant shall ensure that the evaluation and 
treatment of its employees and applicants for employment are free from such discrimination 
and harassment. 

Tenant shall comply with the provisions of the Fair Employment and Housing Act 
(Government Code section12900 et seq.) and the applicable regulations promulgated 
thereunder (California Code of Regulations, Title 2, Section 7285.0 et seq.). Tenant shall 
give written notice of their obligations under this clause to labor organizations with which 
they have a collective bargaining or other agreement. Tenant shall include the non-
discrimination and compliance provisions of this clause in all contracts to perform work 
under and/or in connection with this Lease. 
 
Tenant shall be solely responsible for complying with the requirements of the Americans 
With Disabilities Act of 1990 (P.L. 101-336, commencing at section 12101 of Title 42, 
United States Code and including Titles I, II and III), the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, and all 
related regulations, guidelines and amendments to both laws. 

27. DRUG-FREE WORKPLACE. Tenant will comply with the requirements of the Drug-
Free Workplace Act of 1990, as amended, and will provide a drug-free workplace by taking 
the following actions: 

(a) Publish a statement notifying employees that unlawful manufacture, distribution, 
dispensation, possession or use of a controlled substance is prohibited and specifying 
actions to be taken against employees for violations. 

(b) Establish a Drug-Free Awareness Program to inform employees about: (1) the 
dangers of drug abuse in the workplace; (2) the Tenant's policy of maintaining a drug- free 
workplace; (3) any available counseling, rehabilitation and employee assistance programs; 
and, (4) penalties that may be imposed upon employees for drug abuse violations. 



 

Page 14 of 24 
State Water Bottom Lease No. M-653-02 

  
  

(c) Provide that every employee who works on the Lease area will: (1) receive a copy of 
the Tenant's drug-free policy statement; and, (2) agree to abide by the terms of the Tenant's 
statement as a condition of employment on the Lease area. 

Failure to comply with these requirements may result in suspension or termination of this 
Lease, and Tenant may be ineligible for award of any future State Water Bottom Leases if 
the State determines that any of the following has occurred: (1) the Tenant has made false 
certification, or (2) violated the certification by failing to carry out the requirements as noted 
above. 

28. ENTIRE AGREEMENT. This Lease contains the entire agreement between the 
parties, and an agreement hereafter shall be ineffective to change, modify or discharge it 
in whole or in part, unless such agreement is in writing and contains the authorized 
signature of the party against whom enforcement of the change, modification or discharge 
is sought. 

29. CONSTRUCTION. This Lease shall be governed by and construed in accordance 
with the laws of the State of California. The Section titles in this Lease are inserted only as 
a matter of convenience and for reference, and in no way define, limit, or describe the 
scope or intent of this Lease or in any way affect this Lease. 

Tenant shall maintain annual registration of its aquaculture facility in accordance with Fish 
and Game Code sections 15101 and 15103 and shall keep current with all fees and 
surcharges, including any penalties for late payment of same, required by those statutes. 

30. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE. The provisions of Chapters 1 through 8 of 
Division 12 of the Fish and Game Code (commencing with section 15000) and the 
provisions of Chapter 9 of Division 1 of Title 14, California Code of Regulations 
(commencing with section 235), as may be amended from time to time, are made part of 
this Lease by this reference. If there is a conflict between any term or condition of this 
Lease and any of the provisions incorporated by reference in it, the incorporated provisions 
shall control. 

31. CONFLICTS OF INTEREST. Tenant warrants that no official, employee in the state 
civil service or other appointed state official, or any person associated with same by blood, 
adoption, marriage, cohabitation, and/or business relationship: (a) has been employed or 
retained to solicit or aid in the procuring of this Lease; or (b) will be employed in the 
performance of this Lease without the immediate divulgence of such fact to the State. In 
the event the State determines that the employment of any such official, employee, 
associated person, or business entity is not compatible, Tenant shall terminate such 
employment immediately. For breaches or violations of this Section, the State shall have 
the right to annul this Lease without liability. 

32. EXPATRIATE CORPORATION. Tenant hereby declares that it is not an expatriate 
corporation or subsidiary of an expatriate corporation, within the meaning of Public 
Contract Code sections 10286 and 10286.1 and is eligible to contract with the State. 

33. NO AGENCY. The Tenant, and the agents and employees of the Tenant in the 
performance of the Lease, shall act in an independent capacity and not as officers or 
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agents of the State of California. 

34. CLOSURE. Neither the State nor the Department of Fish and Wildlife shall have 
any liability arising from a closure of waters by the Department of Fish and Wildlife Director 
pursuant to Fish and Game Code Section 5654, where aquaculture operations are taking 
place. 

35. NOTICES. Notices to the parties to this Lease shall be made in writing and may be 
given by delivery in person, by U.S. Mail with postage prepaid, or by receipt- confirmed 
facsimile to: 

 

Notices shall be deemed given upon delivery to the addressee. Any notice given by 
facsimile shall also be given to the addressee by U.S. Mail, with postage prepaid. If a notice 
given by facsimile is delivered to the addressee after 5:00 p.m. Pacific time, or on a 
Saturday, Sunday or State of California or national holiday, the notice shall be deemed 
given on the next business day. Either party may change its address for notice purposes 
by giving written notice to the other party in the manner provided in this Section. 

36.  SPECIAL CONDITIONS.  
(a) This lease, in accordance with the provisions of Fish and Game Code Section 
15400, as may from time to time be amended or changed by the State Legislature, is for 
the sole purpose of cultivating the following species in the previously designated area: 

 Mediterranean mussel (Mytilus galloprovincialis) 
 Pacific oyster (Crassostrea gigas) 

 All shellfish shall be cultured on buoyed submerged longlines, anchored to the bottom 
within the lease area planted by the Tenant in a manner approved by the State. No other 
mode of operation or culture method is authorized unless Tenant shall first obtain 
approval thereof from the State. Only the designated species planted in the specified 
lease area may be taken.  
 
The cultivation of additional species of aquatic plants and animals requires the approval 
of the Fish and Game Commission. In compliance with Section 15200 et seq. of the Fish 
and Game Code, and Section 237 of Title 14, California Code of Regulations, and to 
assure that only healthy shellfish seed will be planted, seed stock must be inspected and 
certified before planting. A request for certification of seed stock will be submitted by the 
Tenant to the State at least ten (10) days prior of the proposed date of inspection. 

 
(b) The notice of intent to plant shellfish on the lease shall be given to the Department 
of Fish and Wildlife’s, Marine Region aquaculture project, whose current contact 
information is 619 Second Street, Eureka, CA 95501, telephone 707-445-5365. This 

FISH AND GAME COMMISSION Santa Barbara Mariculture Company 
Executive Director Bernard Friedman 
P.O. Box 944209  
Sacramento, CA 94244-2090  
Telephone: (916) 653-4899 Telephone:  
Facsimile: (916) 653-5040 Email:  bernard@sbmariculture.com 
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contact information will be maintained online at www.wildlife.ca.gov/aquaculture, or at 
such other place as the State may from time to time designate. In addition to the required 
ten (10) day notice, at least a 24-hour notice shall be given to the aquaculture supervisor 
or their designee, giving the details on where the shellfish can be inspected. 
 
(c) In addition to annual rent, shellfish harvested from the lease is subject to the 
privilege taxes, and procedures for their payment, as established in Fish and Game 
Code, sections 15003 and, if applicable, 8051, as well as the applicable Title 14 
regulations, including Section 237. 
 
(d) Tenant shall comply with measures to avoid, minimize, and mitigate for potential 
environmental impacts resulting from the operation of mariculture activities on this lease 
to levels deemed less than significant as reflected by Mitigated Negative Declaration 
SCH #2018011009 certified by the State in association with this project in compliance 
with California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) requirements and reflected in the 
attached Exhibit C.  
 
______________ 
 
EXHIBITS: 

Exhibit A Description of State Water Bottom Lease No. M-653-02 
Exhibit B Maps of State Water Bottom Lease No. M-653-02 
Exhibit C List of Incorporated Mitigation Measures 
 
______________ 
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SIGNATURE PAGE 

This Lease and any amendment(s) may be executed in counterparts, each of which, when 
executed and delivered by the State and Tenant, shall be an original and together shall 
constitute one instrument, with the same force and effect as though all signatures appeared 
on a single document. 

Each signatory attests he or she is duly authorized to execute this Lease on behalf of the 
principal he or she represents. 

Where Tenant is a corporation, the signature of the Tenant on this Lease will be verifying 
that Tenant is currently qualified to do business in the State of California, as defined in 
Revenue and Taxation Code section 23101, in order to ensure that all obligations to the 
State are fulfilled. Both domestic and foreign corporations (those incorporated outside the 
State of California) must be in good standing in order to be qualified to do business in 
California. 

 

STATE OF CALIFORNIA: TENANT: 

FISH AND GAME COMMISSION SANTA BARBARA MARICULTURE COMPANY  
 

 
 
By:                                                      By:                                                       
 VALERIE TERMINI   BERNARD FRIEDMAN 
 Executive Director    Owner  
 
Date:  ________________________  Date:      
  



 

Page 18 of 24 
State Water Bottom Lease No. M-653-02 

  
  

 
EXHIBIT A 

Description of State Water Bottom Lease No. M-653-02 
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EXHIBIT B 

Maps of State Water Bottom Lease No. M-653-02 
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EXHIBIT C 

List of Mitigation Measures for  
State Water Bottom Lease #M-653-02 

 
Mitigation Measures (MM) – Tenant shall comply with the following mitigation 
measures, and follow Standard Operating Procedures, as reflected below and by this 
Project’s Mitigated Negative Declaration (SCH #2018011009), certified by the State in 
compliance with California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) requirements. 
 
1. Marine species entanglement (MM BIO-1). To reduce potential impacts of marine 
species entanglement, Tenant shall conduct the following measures: 

a.  Regular inspection and maintenance of gear for proper tensioning and 
evidence of wear or derelict gear or debris. In order to reduce entanglement risk, 
Tenant shall conduct regular inspections and, at all times, maintain longline system 
tensioning and buoyancy. Loose or entangled derelict debris and lines will be 
removed and appropriately disposed of on land.  
b.  Response training and reporting of incidents. Tenant shall coordinate with and 
participate in first responder training provided by the NOAA Marine Mammal program. 
Coordination includes the immediate reporting of entangled marine mammals to the 
NOAA whale entanglement response hotline at 1-877-SOS-WHALe (1-877-767-9425) 
or the hailing of U.S. Coast Guard on Channel 16. If possible, Tenant will photograph 
entangled whales, capturing a side view of its dorsal fin or hump, flukes, head, and 
any part of the body where gear may be present, and the entangling gear material 
(e.g.: buoys, tags, lines, netting, etc.), and stand by for responders when appropriate. 
Entangled sea turtles shall be reported to the NOAA response hotline at 1- 866-767-
6114, and similarly documented as described above.  
 
Reports of all entanglements shall also be made immediately to the CDFW 
Aquaculture Program (See Contact Information for Leaseholders) posted online: 
http://www.wildlife.ca.gov/Aquaculture#22164163-leases. 
    

2. Aquatic invasive species spread (MM BIO-2). To reduce the potential spread of 
marine invasive species resulting from the Project, such as certain tunicates known to be 
problematic, the Tenant shall conduct the following measures. 

a.  Awareness and training – Tenant will coordinate with CDFW staff to generate 
and utilize invasive species identification guides and training materials on board its 
vessels and educate all farm personnel in the importance of identifying and taking of 
appropriate action if certain invasive species are encountered. Tenant will maintain 
updated materials corresponding with applicable CDFW priority invasive species local 
to the Project and the appropriate response actions. 

b.  Responses – Upon identification of an invasive species of concern on Tenant 
aquaculture gear, farm personnel will carefully remove the organism for disposal on 
land. Care shall be taken to avoid fragmenting such tunicates to reduce their spread.  

c.  Maintenance and gear inspection – Tenant will continue its practice of frequent 
inspection, cleaning, and rotation of culture gear to reduce the opportunity for invasive 
species to colonize its gear. 
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3. Storm preparedness and structural failure response (MM BIO-4).  To reduce the 
potential impact of aquaculture gear structural failure resulting from the Project, the 
Tenant shall conduct the following measures. 

a.  Preparedness – Tenant will maintain all longline aquaculture gear, including 
anchoring, tensioning, and buoyancy components to avoid system failures at all times. 
Extra attention will be directed to storm preparation and inspecting for failures caused 
by extreme weather, waves, and currents, with full internal accounting for system 
components and structural integrity.  

b.  Structural failure response – Catastrophic failure of the longline system could 
occur if an anchor fails to hold or if the floats become overburdened or fail due to 
powerful storm activity. The longline system is naturally redundant; if one anchor fails 
to hold the culture gear in place, the other anchor serves as back up and works to 
keep the longline gear from moving far. If an anchor fails to hold, and drags toward 
the other anchor, the longline will reflect loss in tension (diagnosed by surface and 
subsurface buoy positions), or in an extreme case, will likely tangle among itself. A 
single anchor has enough holding force to secure the whole longline system, lowering 
the likelihood of the entire longline becoming derelict debris off-site. In the case of 
anchor failure or longline disruption, the tangled longline would be pulled and floated 
to the surface. The shellfish, culture gear, and floats would be untied or cut from the 
backbone and transferred to an empty longline. The tangled longline would be cut or 
untied from the anchor rode or anchor and hauled to the boat. A diver would be used 
to tie a new rode onto the anchor so that the boat can reposition it to the original 
position. A new longline would be attached to the anchor or anchor rode and tension 
would be applied. The boat would then travel along the backbone installing floats and 
weights to give the longline its proper shape. If floats become overburdened or fail, 
the longline would sink to the ocean floor. A grappling hook would be used to recover 
the longline and haul it to the surface where the failed floats can be replaced. 
Recovery would likely take from one to five days depending on the severity of 
catastrophic failure. New rope would always be used, and old rope would be 
repurposed for other uses. Damaged floats are recycled. Culture gear will be mended. 
Anchors are generally recovered and reused. Every effort is made to recover and re-
use all gear. That which is beyond use will be appropriately disposed of on land. 

 
4. Marine debris (MM BIO-5). To reduce the potential impact of marine debris resulting 
from the Project, the Tenant shall conduct the following measures. 

a.  Practices – All fasteners, lines, and components will, when detached from use or 
found to be compromised from wear, be disposed of appropriately on land. Fasteners, 
lines, and components of the longline system design and project operation will be 
chosen to minimize the risk of loss and contribution to marine debris in the ocean 
environment. Operational inspections of the Project’s longline systems will include the 
retrieval and land disposal of entangled man-made materials, regardless of the 
materials’ origin, to ensure their removal from the ocean environment. 

b.  Decommissioning plan – Should the farm need to be decommissioned and gear 
removed, Tenant shall harvest and remove all shellfish from the longline. Longline 
gear removal consists of a boat operator cutting the backbone in half, pulling the line 
and buoys onto the boat, and hauling in the anchors at the ends of the ropes using 
vessels of appropriate capacity. All components will be recycled or appropriately 
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disposed of on land.  
 
5. Spill Prevention and Response Plan (Standard Operating Procedure). Tenant 
operates at sea, aboard a small vessel equipped for the unique work of an offshore 
mussel farm. Its Spill Prevention and Response Plan includes measures and practices to 
reduce the likelihood of problems arising in the first place. 

The boat has a 130-gallon gasoline fuel tank made of ¼ -inch aluminum and built into the 
hull of the boat.  The fuel tank is sealed with a waterproof cap to prevent liquid from 
entering or leaving the tank and the vent is screened. The boat is refueled at the Santa 
Barbara harbor fuel dock with absorbent pads in place to catch any incidental spills. 

The boat also carries an 8-gallon hydraulic tank made of aluminum bolted to the boat hull 
filled with vegetable based hydraulic oil approved for use in food processing equipment, 
and is non-toxic and biodegradable.  The tank is sealed with a waterproof cap to prevent 
fluid from entering or escaping.  

A 13-hp auxiliary outboard engine is bolted to the boat hull and carries a 1.8 gallon steel 
tank which is sealed with a waterproof cap.  The fuel used to refill this auxiliary engine is 
held in a 5 gallon spill-proof, Department of Transportation (DOT)-approved plastic 
container.  The engine is shut down and an absorbent pad is used to catch any incidental 
spills during this process. 

a) Procedures and response equipment, that prevent potential spills and protect 
marine and shoreline resources in the event of a spill shall be updated continually 
and adhered to by Tenant’s personnel.  

b) Spill prevention and response equipment shall be kept on board project vessels at 
all times. Absorbent pads will be used to quickly mop up any incidental spills.  
Absorbent pads are stored with the spare lubricants and are used during all 
refueling of equipment. 

c) Spare lubricants such as grease and oil are held in a sealed aluminum stowage 
compartment.  The spare lubricants stored on board shall only be of quantities 
necessary for short-term operation and maintenance so as to minimize the 
amounts at risk at any given time. 

d) Emergency response and notification procedures, including a list of contacts to call 
in the event of a spill shall be kept at hand, on board project vessels at all times. In 
case of an oil or fuel spill where absorbent materials cannot accomplish the task, 
the Santa Barbara Harbor patrol will be hailed on Channel 12 to help contain the 
spill.  

e) Daylight-only farm operations, including vessel transit to and from the farm site, as 
well as obeyance of all boating laws, nautical rules of the road (aka: Navigation 
Rules), and safe handling practices that will minimize the risk of boating accidents 
shall be adhered to. 

f) Outfitting and training in all procedures outlined above will be conducted for all 
new vessels and crew members. Practices will be updated as needed. 
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