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Number: 2018-03 
Date Issued: August 8, 2018 
Expires:  Until Superseded 

To: All Department of Fish and Wildlife Staff  

Subject: Family and Medical/Pregnancy Disability Leave Policy 
 

This Bulletin supersedes the “Family Medical Leave Act” policy as represented by Section 
12440 of the California Department of Fish and Wildlife Operations Manual. The revised 
text follows: 

Family and Medical/Pregnancy Disability Leave Policy  12440 
It is the policy of the California Department of Fish and Wildlife (CDFW) to provide unpaid 
job-protected family and medical leave to eligible employees in compliance with the Family 
and Medical Leave Act (FMLA), including Military Caregiver Leave (MCL) and Qualifying 
Exigency Leave (QEL), the California Family Rights Act (CFRA), and Pregnancy Disability 
Leave (PDL). 

The following policy provisions do not supersede any Memoranda of Understanding that 
may provide employees greater family or medical leave benefits.  

FMLA/CFRA Leave Entitlement    12440.1 

FMLA/CFRA leave entitles an eligible employee up to 12 workweeks of unpaid job-
protected leave in a 12-month period (January 1 through December 31) and the 
continuation of health benefits for one or more of the following reasons: 

• The birth and care of a newborn child of the employee. 

• Placement of a child in the employee’s family for adoption or foster care. 

• To care for a spouse, son, daughter, or parent with a serious health condition. 

• To take medical leave when the employee is unable to work because of a serious 
health condition. 

• To take leave for a qualifying exigency (QEL) arising out of the foreign deployment of 
the employee’s spouse, son or daughter of any age, or parent who is a member of the 
Armed Forces (including the National Guard and Reserves) to manage their affairs 
while the military member is on covered active duty. 

• To take Military Caregiver Leave (MCL) up to 26 workweeks in a 12 month period, to 
care for a covered military servicemember who is undergoing medical treatment, 
recuperation, or therapy, who is otherwise on outpatient status, or is on a temporary 
disability list for a serious injury or illness. 

Typically, FMLA/CFRA are concurrent leave except during PDL, when a family member is 
ineligible for CFRA or taking FMLA Qualifying Exigency Leave (QEL) and Military Caregiver 
Leave (MCL). 
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Twelve workweeks of leave entitlement equals twelve (12) of the employee's normally 
scheduled workweeks. When an employee's schedule varies from week to week, to such 
an extent that an employer is unable to determine with any certainty how many hours the 
employee would have worked, the employer uses a weekly average of the hours scheduled 
over the prior 12 months to calculate the their leave entitlement. CFRA regulations state 
that for eligible employees who work more or less than five days a week, or who work an 
alternative work schedule, the number of working days that constitutes 12 workweeks is 
calculated on a pro rata or proportional basis. 

Military Family Leave Entitlement                  12440.11 

FMLA provides two types of Military Family Leave entitlements. The first is Military 
Caregiver Leave (MCL) and the second is Qualifying Exigency leave (QEL). Eligible criteria 
is the same as FMLA with the following exceptions: 

Employees who are eligible for MCL include: the servicemember's parent, spouse, or child 
and next of kin. Confirmation of the employee’s relationship to the covered servicemember 
must be provided to the Human Resources Branch (HRB) Medical Disability Services Unit 
(MDSU). Where a covered servicemember has a sibling and designates a cousin as their 
next of kin for FMLA purposes, then only the designated cousin is eligible as the covered 
servicemember’s next of kin. 

The 26 workweeks of MCL is not in addition to the 12 workweeks of FMLA leave normally 
available to eligible employees but is aggregated with all other types of FMLA qualifying 
leave during the applicable 12 month period. The 12-month period begins on the day the 
employee begins caregiver leave and ends 12 months after. 

Due to MCL being available on a per service member per injury basis, an eligible employee 
may be entitled to take more than one such leave during the course of his or her 
employment to care for different servicemembers or for the same servicemember with a 
subsequent injury or illness. In such circumstances, leave is still limited to no more than 26 
weeks during the applicable period. In addition, spouses who are FMLA eligible and work 
for the State may be limited to a combined total of 26 workweeks' caregiver leave. 

Qualifying Exigency Leave (QEL) is for eligible family members needing leave up to 12 
workweeks for “a qualifying exigency” arising out of a covered military member’s active duty 
status or call to active duty in support of a contingency operation or deployment to a foreign 
country. It is available only to the family members of regular Armed Forces, National Guard 
or Reservists called to federal active duty. QEL does not include military members who are 
retired members of the regular Armed Forces, a state Reserve or National Guard unit, or 
those called to active duty by a State rather than the Federal Government.  
 
QEL includes the following eight events: 

• Issues arising from short-notice deployment (i.e., deployment to active duty seven or 
less days prior to the date of deployment) 

• Military events, ceremonies, or programs related to active duty or related activities 

• Childcare and school activities 

• Financial or legal appointments 

• counseling 
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• Rest and recuperation 

• Post-deployment activities (e.g., arrival ceremonies and reintegration briefings) 

• Additional activities agreed upon by the employer and employee 

PDL Entitlement and Duty to Accommodate                 12240.12 

As outlined in the Department of Fair Employment and Housing (DFEH) regulations, an 
employee disabled by pregnancy is entitled to take up to four months of unpaid PDL. PDL 
regulations clarify that disabled by pregnancy includes the following conditions/situations: 
severe morning sickness, gestational diabetes, pregnancy induced hypertension, 
preeclampsia, post-partum depression, prenatal or postnatal care, bed rest, childbirth, loss 
or end of pregnancy, recovery from childbirth or loss/end of pregnancy, and lactation (a 
medical condition related to pregnancy). 

In addition, the employee is entitled to a reasonable accommodation, or a transfer to a less 
strenuous position, as prescribed by the health care provider. Leave can be taken during 
any time the employee is physically unable to work because of pregnancy or a pregnancy 
related condition. Leave can be taken before or after birth, intermittently, or continuously.  

FMLA and PDL are concurrent leave. When PDL ends, the eligible employee may request 
CFRA leave up to 12 workweeks for the birth of the child. There is no requirement that 
either the employee or child have a serious health condition nor a disability related to 
pregnancy, childbirth, or medical condition before taking CFRA leave for the birth of the 
child. For example, if the employee takes 14 weeks of PDL (FMLA equals 12 of the 14 
weeks of PDL) the employee may have up to 12 workweeks of CFRA leave to bond with 
the baby.  

If CFRA leave entitlement for baby bonding crosses two calendar years, the employee is 
entitled to the maximum benefit in each calendar year. For example, if the employee 
started baby bonding leave on December 15, 2018, they would take two weeks of their 
12 workweek entitlement in calendar year 2018. Then on January 1, 2019, the clock would 
reset and the employee is entitled to another 12 workweeks (total of 14 workweeks). 
Bonding leave occurs within one year of the child’s birth. Bonding leave is not limited to 
female employees. Eligible male employees may take up to 12 workweeks of bonding 
leave under CFRA.  

Spouses employed by the State are jointly entitled to a combined total of 12 workweeks of 
bonding leave. CDFW may not limit the employee’s entitlement to CFRA leave for any 
other qualifying purpose. If the parents are unmarried, they may have different rights under 
FMLA. 

Employees may take leave intermittently, which means taking leave in separate periods of 
time, or by reducing their normal weekly or daily work schedule. If leave is for bonding with 
a child, the basic minimum leave duration is two weeks. However, the employer must grant 
a request for leave of less than two weeks on any two occasions. 

Definitions     12440.2 

Definitions for the following can be found in the Code of Federal Regulations, under Title 29 
§ 825.102 and § 825.122 (Military). Definitions for CFRA are in the California Code of 
Regulations, under Title 2 § 11087: 
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• Spouse 

• Son or daughter 

• Parent 

• Servicemember 

• Serious health condition 

• Health care provider 

• Military definitions: Covered servicemember, active duty, spouse, parent, son, 
daughter, next of kin of a covered service member, etc. 

Eligibility Criteria     12440.3 

FMLA/CFRA Eligibility Criteria                   12440.31 

An employee is eligible for FMLA/CFRA leave when they have worked for the State for a 
total of 12 months following their date of hire, even with a break in service after the date of 
hire. In addition, the employee must have physically worked at least a minimum of 1,250 
hours in the preceding 12 months.  

The statutory requirement is that employee eligibility determinations be made “as of the 
date leave commences.” If an employee reaches the 12-month eligibility requirement while 
on leave, the leave period prior to meeting the requirement is non-FMLA leave, and the 
leave period after the requirement is fulfilled would then be considered FMLA leave. With 
the exception of administrative time off (ATO), periods of leave, including paid leave due to 
job-related accidents or injuries, do not count towards the 1,250 hours requirement. 
However, they do count towards the 12 months of employment requirement. 

Example: An employee requests and is denied FMLA/CFRA leave because they have only 
worked 11 months for the State and do not meet the 12 month requirement. The employee 
is allowed to take a non-FMLA/CFRA leave. During the time taken for the non-FMLA/CFRA 
leave, the employee meets the 12-month requirement and is now eligible for FMLA/CFRA 
leave from that point forward. The FMLA/CFRA approved leave counts against the 
employee’s FMLA/CFRA entitlement. 

PDL Eligibility Criteria                   12440.32 

Unlike FMLA/CFRA, to be eligible for PDL the employee is only required to submit a 
certification substantiating a medical condition related to pregnancy as noted above. The 
employee is not required to meet FMLA/CFRA’s 12 months or the 1,250 physical hours 
worked requirements. 

During the disabled pregnancy period, the employee is entitled to a reasonable 
accommodation, or a transfer to a less strenuous position, as prescribed by the healthcare 
provider. Likewise, the employee may be entitled to additional leave in accordance with 
CDFW’s Reasonable Accommodation Policy and Procedures. 

Notice Requirements                      12440.4 

Effective January 16, 2009, amended Department of Labor (DOL) regulations created three 
new employer and/or employee notice responsibilities. 
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CDFW Notice Requirements                   12440.41 

1. General Notice (FMLA): DOL has published a new general notice poster entitled 
“Employee Rights under the FMLA” (WH Publication 1420). Both the FMLA and CFRA’s 
notices are electronically posted on the Human Resources Branch (HRB) Medical 
Disability Services Unit (MDSU) intranet and included in the new employee hire packet. 

2. Notice of Eligibility and Rights and Responsibilities (FMLA/CFRA): HRB MDSU provide 
employees the notice within five business days after receiving a request for 
FMLA/CFRA leave or becomes aware that the leave may qualify for FMLA/CFRA. The 
notice informs the employee whether or not they are eligible and includes important 
information regarding their rights and responsibilities, certification requirements, and the 
consequences for not meeting those requirements, as well as information regarding the 
return-to-work release. In addition, the employee is informed of the consequences if 
they fail to return to work after FMLA/CFRA leave.  

When a represented employee is denied eligibility based solely on a lack of 1,250 hours 
of service, there may be a union noticing requirement. Eligibility does not mean the 
leave has been approved for FMLA/CFRA at this point.  

3. Designation Notice (FMLA/CFRA): After HRB MDSU receives the certification form (see 
below) the employee, supervisor and Personnel Specialist is informed within five 
business days whether the leave is approved, delayed, or denied in writing and if 
applicable, the consequence for failing to provide a complete certification. 

CDFW employees under the California Department of Human Resources’ (CalHR) safety 
sensitive designated classifications requiring a commercial driver license, including non-
sworn and sworn peace officers, shall provide a medical release certifying their ability to 
perform the essential job functions or meet Peace-Officer Standards and Training (POST) 
requirements with or without the need for a Reasonable Accommodation.  

With the exception of amendments and/or extensions, only one Designation Notice is 
required for each FMLA/CFRA qualifying reason, per leave year, regardless of whether the 
leave is taken as a continuous block of leave or on an intermittent or reduced leave 
schedule basis. A retroactive notice is permissible if it does not cause employee harm or 
injury. CDFW may not retroactively designate leave after the employee has returned to 
work. 

Employee Notice and Certification                  12440.42 

Employees seeking to use FMLA/CFRA/PDL are required to provide a 30-day advance 
notice of their need to take a foreseeable leave by submitting the “Family & Medical Leave 
Request & Fact Sheet” form DFW 1067. This form includes leave for a planned birth, 
adoption, foster care placement, or medical treatment. If it is not possible to give such 
advance notice, the employee must provide notice as soon as practicable (on the same or 
next business day). When intermittent leave is needed for planned medical treatment, the 
employee must try to schedule treatment so as not to unduly disrupt CDFW operations. 

Eligible Military Qualified Exigency Leave (QEL) employees are obligated to provide notice 
of leave due to a qualifying exigency when they first seek to take the leave. 

file://///hqfile2/home/PJohnson/HRB%20Handbook/CDFW%20Safety%20Sensitive%20Classifications.docx
file://///hqfile2/home/PJohnson/HRB%20Handbook/CDFW%20Safety%20Sensitive%20Classifications.docx
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Certification of a serious health condition, pregnancy disability, and military deployment, are 
required and maintained as confidential documents. Employees must submit a certification 
within 15 calendar days of their Notice of Eligibility. 

• CalHR 754 form: “Certification of Health Care Provider for Employee’s Serious Health 
Condition;” or  

• CalHR 755 form: “Certification of Health Care Provider for Family Member’s Serious 
Health Condition;” or 

• CalHR 756 form: “Certification of Qualifying Exigency for Military Family Leave (FMLA)” 
As part of the certification process, the employee is required to provide copies of the 
military member's orders or other military documentation, facts regarding the exigency, 
and dates of the military member's active duty service and beginning of the exigency; or 

• CalHR 757 form: “Certification for Serious Injury or Illness of Covered Service Member 
for Military Caregiver Leave (FMLA).” The certification form is completed by an 
authorized health care provider of the covered servicemember, such as the Department 
of Defense (DOD), Veteran Affairs (VA), DOD Tricare, DOD non-network Tricare, and 
DOD authorized representative. 

If CDFW has a good faith, objective reason, to doubt the validity of a certification for the 
employee’s own medical condition (FMLA), the HRB MSDU may require a second or third 
medical opinion at the department’s expense, in addition to periodic re-certification. CFRA 
regulations provide the HRB MDSU authority to only contact the health care provider for the 
limited purpose of authenticating a certification.  

Accordingly, if the HRB MDSU receives a deficient or incomplete certification, the 
employee will be provided a written explanation of the deficiency, given seven calendar 
days to submit the necessary information, and advised of the consequence of failing to 
timely provide a completed certification. 

Job Restoration     12440.5 

Regulation stipulates that, upon return from FMLA/CFRA/PDL leave, an employee must be 
restored to their original job, or to an equivalent job with equivalent pay, benefits, and other 
terms and conditions of employment. In addition, the employee’s use of FMLA/CFRA/PDL  
cannot result in the loss of any employment benefit that the employee earned or was 
entitled to before using leave. 

If an employee accepts light duty work while recovering from their own serious health 
condition, the period on light duty assignment will not be counted as FMLA/CFRA/PDL. 
Employees are not required to work light duty jobs in lieu of taking leave, and those who do 
so voluntarily are not on FMLA/CFRA/PDL. At the end of the assignment, the employee 
has the right to be reinstated to the same or equivalent position. 

Under specified and limited circumstances, where restoration to employment will cause 
substantial and grievous economic injury to its operations, an employer may refuse to 
reinstate certain highly-paid "key" employees after using FMLA/CFRA leave during which 
health coverage was maintained. In order to do so, the employer must: 

• Notify the employee of their status as a key employee in response to the employee's 
notice of intent to take leave. 
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• Notify the employee as soon as the employer decides it will deny job restoration, and 
explain the reasons for this decision. 

• Offer the employee a reasonable opportunity to return to work from leave after giving 
this notice. 

• Make a final determination as to whether reinstatement will be denied at end of the 
leave period, if the employee then requests restoration. 

A "key" employee is a salaried eligible employee who is among the highest paid 10 percent 
of employees within 75 miles of the work site. 

Under CFRA regulations, “an employee who fraudulently obtains or uses CFRA leave from 
an employer is not protected by CFRA’s job restoration or maintenance of health benefits 
provisions. 

Benefit Coverage     12440.6 

CDFW is required to maintain group health insurance coverage for an employee on 
FMLA/CFRA/PDL whenever such insurance was provided before the leave commenced 
and on the same terms as if the employee had continued to work. If applicable, employees 
need to arrange payment of their health insurance premiums while on leave. CDFW may 
recover employee health premiums paid for an employee who fails to return to work from 
FMLA/CFRA and PDL, and through payroll deductions. 

The continuation of health benefits for FMLA are separate from CFRA and PDL regulations. 
The maximum continuation of health benefits (concurrent FMLA and PDL, and consecutive 
CFRA) is 29.33 weeks.  

Disability Insurance-(Wage Benefit Replacement) 

Pursuant to the Employment Development Department (EDD), which administers the State 
Disability Insurance (SDI), applicable to bargaining units (BU) 1, 4, 11 and 14), and 
Nonindustrial Disability Insurance (NDI), applicable to excluded employees and rank-and-
file employees in BU’s 2, 7, 9, 10, and 12, the employer will pay the employer’s portion of 
the health benefits premium for up to 26 weeks. 

FlexElect 

The reimbursement account and/or cash option (Flex or CoBen) enrollment will stop while 
the employee is on an unpaid leave of absence. If the employee returns to pay status in the 
same plan year, the enrollment will resume. Reimbursement account deductions will 
continue for employees who have sufficient pay issue to cover the deduction during any 
given pay period. Pay may issue for time worked, leave credits used to cover the 
FMLA/CFRA/PDL absence, NDI or ENDI payments, or supplementing SDI with the use of 
leave credits. 

If an employee is enrolled in the medical reimbursement account and wishes to continue to 
submit claims for services provided during the leave of absence, the employee may elect to 
continue making their contributions through COBRA. 
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Call-in and Reporting Procedures   12440.7 

Employees are required to follow their standard operating call-in procedures when 
approved for intermittent FMLA/CFRA/PDL leave. When approved for continuous leave, 
employees are not required to call in daily during the approved leave period. Employees 
should inform their supervisor how they want to charge leave (e.g. FMLA/CFRA/PDL sick).  

Appeals and Complaints    12440.8 

Employees may exercise their right to appeal the FMLA/CFRA/PDL determination to the 
HRB Chief, CDFW’s Equal Employment Opportunity (EEO) Office, the U.S. Department of 
Labor’s (DOL) Employment Standards Administration, Wage and Hour Division, and/or the 
California Department of Fair Employment and Housing (DFEH) without fear of reprisal, 
interference, or retaliation. DOL administers and enforces FMLA whereas; DFEH 
administers and enforces CFRA and PDL.  

Violations      12440.9 

An employee who fraudulently obtains or uses FMLA/CFRA/PDL is not entitled to the 
provisions’ protection, reinstatement, and continuation of group health benefits. Failure to 
follow any of the provisions of this policy will result in corrective and/or disciplinary action, 
which may include termination of employment. Violation of this policy does not pertain to an 
employee who does not wish to request FMLA/CFRA/PDL. 

Managers and supervisors shall engage in the interactive process timely and in good faith 
and may be subject to disciplinary action for any unlawful act or policy violation. It is 
unlawful to interfere with, restrain, or deny the exercise of any right provided by 
FMLA/CFRA/PDL. It is also unlawful to discharge or discriminate against any individual for 
opposing any practice, or because of involvement in any proceeding related to 
FMLA/CFRA/PDL. 

Authorities                    12440.10 

• Family and Medical Leave Act 

• California Family Rights Act 

• Pregnancy Disability Leave 

• California Department of Human Resources’ (CalHR) Manual section 2107-Family 
Medical Leave Act / California Family Rights Act 

• CalHR’s Manual section 2120-Pregnancy Disability Leave 

Forms                     12440.11 

DFW 1067:    Family & Medical Leave Request 
CalHR 754:   Certification of Health Care Provider for Employee’s Serious Health Condition 
CalHR 755:   Certification of Health Care Provider for Family Member’s Serious Health 
 Condition 
CalHR 756:   Certification of Qualifying Exigency for Military Leave (FMLA) 
CalHR 757:   Certification for Serious Injury or Illness of Covered Service Member for 
 Military Caregiver Leave (FMLA) 
DFEH-E10P: Certification for Pregnancy Disability Leave 
 

https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?c=ecfr&amp;sid=abbd92cdff37c5d32de741cc5ccc1e81&amp;rgn=div5&amp;view=text&amp;node=29:3.1.1.3.54&amp;idno=29
https://govt.westlaw.com/calregs/Browse/Home/California/CaliforniaCodeofRegulations?guid=I12D192FC066742F080A88B499334B3E2&originationContext=documenttoc&transitionType=Default&contextData=(sc.Default)&bhcp=1
https://govt.westlaw.com/calregs/Document/IF05B20ACB3414C21B36A7642A1C1F9B4?viewType=FullText&originationContext=documenttoc&transitionType=CategoryPageItem&contextData=(sc.Default)&bhcp=1
http://hrmanual.calhr.ca.gov/Home/ManualItem/1/2107
http://hrmanual.calhr.ca.gov/Home/ManualItem/1/2107
http://hrmanual.calhr.ca.gov/Home/ManualItem/1/2120
http://nrm.dfg.ca.gov/FileHandler.ashx?DocumentID=161923
http://www.calhr.ca.gov/Documents/calhr-754.pdf
http://www.calhr.ca.gov/Documents/calhr-755.pdf
http://www.calhr.ca.gov/Documents/calhr-756.pdf
http://www.calhr.ca.gov/Documents/calhr-757.pdf
https://www.dfeh.ca.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/32/2017/06/PregnancyCertificationHealthCareProvider_ENG.pdf
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This Policy was previously distributed as CDFW Operations Manual Policy 12440, 
Family and Medical Leave Policy (issued April 29, 2010).  
 
 

Contact  

For more information regarding this policy and to report any broken links, contact the 
Human Resources Branch. 
 
 
 
 
 
 ___Signed original on file_____  
Gabe Tiffany 
Deputy Director, Administration Division 

http://dfgintranet/portal/HumanResources/tabid/57/Default.aspx

