
State of California – Department of Fish and Wildlife 

2019 LOST OR ABANDONED COMMERCIAL DUNGENESS CRAB TRAP GEAR RETRIEVAL PERMIT APPLICATION 
DFW 1078 (NEW 04/25/2019 08/14/19) Page 1 of 2  

FEE: $377.75 Fee includes a nonrefundable three percent (3%) application fee, not to exceed $7.50. (Section 700.4, Title 14, California Code of Regulations) 
AMENDED 

 

SEE PAGE 2 FOR INSTRUCTIONS.  TYPE OR PRINT CLEARLY.  
RETRIEVAL PERMIT APPLICANT 

 ORGANIZATION / ENTITY NAME  GO ID # (if applicable) 

 FIRST NAME  M.I.  LAST NAME TITLE 

 BUSINESS TELEPHONE  EMAIL ADDRESS 

 MAILING ADDRESS CITY  STATE ZIP CODE 

 PHYSICAL ADDRESS (DO NOT USE PO BOX) CITY  STATE  ZIP CODE 

DESIGNATED RETRIEVER(S) 

OPERATOR FIRST NAME M.I.  LAST NAME Commercial Fishing License No. 

OPERATOR FIRST NAME M.I. LAST NAME Commercial Fishing License No. 

OPERATOR FIRST NAME M.I. LAST NAME Commercial Fishing License No. 

OPERATOR FIRST NAME M.I. LAST NAME Commercial Fishing License No. 

OPERATOR FIRST NAME M.I. LAST NAME Commercial Fishing License No. 

OPERATOR FIRST NAME M.I. LAST NAME Commercial Fishing License No. 

OPERATOR FIRST NAME M.I. LAST NAME Commercial Fishing License No. 

OPERATOR FIRST NAME M.I. LAST NAME Commercial Fishing License No. 

OPERATOR FIRST NAME M.I. LAST NAME Commercial Fishing License No. 

OPERATOR FIRST NAME M.I. LAST NAME Commercial Fishing License No. 

VESSEL NAME USCG OFFICIAL # / STATE VESSEL REG # FG BOAT # (if applicable) 

VESSEL NAME USCG OFFICIAL # / STATE VESSEL REG # FG BOAT # (if applicable) 

VESSEL NAME USCG OFFICIAL # / STATE VESSEL REG # FG BOAT # (if applicable) 

VESSEL NAME USCG OFFICIAL # / STATE VESSEL REG # FG BOAT # (if applicable) 

VESSEL NAME USCG OFFICIAL # / STATE VESSEL REG # FG BOAT # (if applicable) 

VESSEL NAME USCG OFFICIAL # / STATE VESSEL REG # FG BOAT # (if applicable) 

VESSEL NAME USCG OFFICIAL # / STATE VESSEL REG # FG BOAT # (if applicable) 

VESSEL NAME USCG OFFICIAL # / STATE VESSEL REG # FG BOAT # (if applicable) 



State of California – Department of Fish and Wildlife 

2019 LOST OR ABANDONED COMMERCIAL DUNGENESS CRAB TRAP GEAR RETRIEVAL PERMIT APPLICATION 
DFW 1078 (NEW 04/25/2019 08/14/19) Page 2 of 2  

FEE: $377.75 Fee includes a nonrefundable three percent (3%) application fee, not to exceed $7.50. (Section 700.4, Title 14, California Code of Regulations) 
AMENDED 

 

X 

VESSEL NAME USCG OFFICIAL # / STATE VESSEL REG # FG BOAT # (if applicable) 

VESSEL NAME USCG OFFICIAL # / STATE VESSEL REG # FG BOAT # (if applicable) 

In the event a permit is granted, I hereby agree to abide by all conditions of said permit and all laws and regulations of the Fish and Game Code of 
California, and Section 132.7 Title 14, California Code of Regulations. I am eligible for the permit and I am not under revocation or suspension, 
nor is there a case pending that would restrict me from obtaining a permit. I hereby certify under the penalty of perjury that all information contained 
on this application and/or submitted to meet the requirements for issuance of subject permit is correct and true. I understand that, in the event 
that this information is found to be untrue or incorrect, the permit issued will be invalid and must be surrendered to the Department of Fish and 
Wildlife and that I will be subject to criminal prosecution. I understand this license or permit may be suspended or revoked by the Department of 
Fish and Wildlife if I am convicted of, or plead guilty or nolo contendere to a Fish and Wildlife violation. 

SIGNATURE OF RETRIEVAL PERMIT APPLICANT 
 

 

DATE 
 

 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE LOST OR ABANDONED COMMERCIAL  
DUNGENESS CRAB TRAP GEAR RETRIEVAL PERMIT APPLICATION 

The Department may grant a Lost or Abandoned Commercial Dungeness Crab Trap Gear Retrieval Permit (“Retrieval Permit”) to aid in the 

cleanup of lost or abandoned traps in state waters after the close of the commercial Dungeness crab season under the requirements of the 

Gear Retrieval Program (Fish and Game Code (FGC) Section 9002.5). 
 

 INSTRUCTIONS  
  

1. An applicant for a Retrieval Permit shall only be: 

(A) a charitable organization as defined by 26 U.S.C. § 501(c)(3); 
(B) a sport or commercial fisherman association with a written charter or a governing board; or 
(C) a “Local agency” within the meaning of Government Code Section 50001, or a “District” within the meaning of Harbors and 
Navigation Code Section 6002 or Section 6200. 
 

2. Complete Retrieval Permit applicant information. 

3. Complete designated retrievers and vessel information. 

4. Sign and date the application.  

5. Submit this application with a cashier's check, money order, personal check*, or credit card** authorization form for the nonrefundable 
fee to: 

                    California Department of Fish and Wildlife 
 License and Revenue Branch 
 1740 N. Market Blvd.  
 Sacramento, CA 95833 95834 

 

IMPORTANT! Please allow 15 business days to process all applications. Incomplete applications will be returned and could delay the 
issuance of your permit. DO NOT SEND CASH*** 

 IDENTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS  
  
Section 700.4(c), Title 14, of the California Code of Regulations (CCR) states any applicant applying for any license, tag, permit, reservation or 
other entitlement issued via the Automated License Data System (ALDS) shall provide valid identification. Acceptable forms of identification 
include: 

• Any license document or Get Outdoors identification 
number (GO ID) previously issued via ALDS.  

• A valid driver’s license or identification card issued to him or 
her by the Department of Motor Vehicles or by the entity 
issuing driver’s licenses from the licensee’s state of 
domicile. 

• US Military Identification Cards (Active or reserve duty, 
dependent, retired member, discharged from service, 
medical/religious personnel) 

• US Birth Certificate 

• US Certificate or Report of Birth Abroad 

• Tribal Identification Card, as defined by each sovereign tribal 
nation 

• US Passport 

• A foreign government-issued photo identification  

• Certificate of Naturalization or Citizenship 

• Birth Certificate or passport issued from a US Territory 

 PAYMENT POLICY  
  
*Personal Checks—will be accepted by the Department if name and address are imprinted on the check. Personal checks returned to the 

Department due to insufficient funds will render your license or permit invalid. The Department may also deny the issuance or renewal of any 

commercial fishing license or permit if a person has failed to reimburse the Department for the amount due plus an additional processing fee of 

$30 (FGC Section 7852.25). Any commercial fishing activity performed without a valid license or permit is a violation of the Fish and Game Code and 

therefore subject to enforcement action. 
 

**Credit Cards—Licenses, permits, tags, stamps or registrations may be purchased with a Visa or MasterCard. 
 

*** Cash is not accepted at California Department of Fish and Wildlife offices. 
 
If you have any questions or need more information, contact us at (916) 928-7470 or LRB@wildlife.ca.gov. 
 

mailto:LRB@wildlife.ca.gov


State of California – Department of Fish and Wildlife 

2019 LOST OR ABANDONED COMMERCIAL  
DUNGENESS CRAB TRAP GEAR RETRIEVAL PERMIT AMENDMENT 
DFW 1078Aa (NEW 01/23/19 08/14/19) Page 1 of 2  
Fee: $102.75 Fee includes a nonrefundable three percent (3%) application fee, not to exceed $7.50. (Section 700.4, Title 14, California Code of Regulations) 

 

 

X 

 

SEE PAGE 2 FOR INSTRUCTIONS. TYPE OR PRINT CLEARLY.  

RETRIEVAL PERMIT APPLICANT 

 ORGANIZATION / ENTITY NAME  PERMIT #  GO ID # 

 FIRST NAME M.I.  LAST NAME  TITLE 

 BUSINESS TELEPHONE  EMAIL ADDRESS 

 MAILING ADDRESS  CITY  STATE  ZIP CODE 

 PHYSICAL ADDRESS (DO NOT USE PO BOX)  CITY  STATE  ZIP CODE 

ADD NEW DESIGNATED RETRIEVER(S) / VESSEL(S) 

 OPERATOR FIRST NAME M.I  LAST NAME  Commercial Fishing License No. 

 OPERATOR FIRST NAME M.I  LAST NAME  Commercial Fishing License No. 

 OPERATOR FIRST NAME M.I  LAST NAME  Commercial Fishing License No. 

 VESSEL NAME  USCG OFFICIAL # / STATE VESSEL REG #  FG BOAT # (if applicable) 

 VESSEL NAME  USCG OFFICIAL # / STATE VESSEL REG #  FG BOAT # (if applicable) 

 VESSEL NAME  USCG OFFICIAL # / STATE VESSEL REG #  FG BOAT # (if applicable) 

REMOVE DESIGNATED RETRIEVER(S) / VESSEL(S) 

 OPERATOR FIRST NAME M.I.  LAST NAME  Commercial Fishing License No. 

 OPERATOR FIRST NAME M.I.  LAST NAME  Commercial Fishing License No. 

 OPERATOR FIRST NAME M.I.  LAST NAME  Commercial Fishing License No. 

 VESSEL NAME  USCG OFFICIAL # / STATE VESSEL REG #  FG BOAT # (if applicable) 

 VESSEL NAME   USCG OFFICIAL # / STATE VESSEL REG #  FG BOAT # (if applicable) 

 VESSEL NAME  USCG OFFICIAL # / STATE VESSEL REG #  FG BOAT # (if applicable) 

I hereby certify under the penalty of perjury that all information contained on this application and/or submitted to meet the requirements for 
issuance of subject permit is correct and true. I understand that, in the event that this information is found to be untrue or incorrect, the permit 
issued will be invalid and must be surrendered to the Department of Fish and Wildlife and that I will be subject to criminal prosecution.  

 SIGNATURE OF RETRIEVAL PERMIT APPLICANT 
 
 

DATE 
 

AMENDED 



State of California – Department of Fish and Wildlife 

LOST OR ABANDONED COMMERCIAL  
DUNGENESS CRAB TRAP GEAR RETRIEVAL PERMIT AMENDMENT 
DFW 1078Aa (NEW 08/14/19) Page 2 of 2  
 

 

 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE LOST OR ABANDONED COMMERCIAL  
DUNGENESS CRAB TRAP GEAR RETRIEVAL PERMIT AMENDMENT 

 
1. Complete Retrieval Permit applicant information. 

2. Add new designated retrievers and vessels as needed. 

3. Remove any designated retrievers and vessels as needed. 

4. Sign and date the application. 

5. Submit this application with a cashier's check, money order, personal check*, or credit card** authorization form for the nonrefundable 
fee to:  
      California Department of Fish and Wildlife 

                     License and Revenue Branch 
                     1740 N. Market Blvd.  

Sacramento, CA 95833 95834 
 

DO NOT SEND CASH***  

The Department will mail the amendment to the Retrieval Permittee. 

 PAYMENT POLICY  
  
*Personal Checks—will be accepted by the Department if name and address are imprinted on the check. Personal checks returned to the 

Department due to insufficient funds will render your license or permit invalid. The Department may also deny the issuance or renewal of any 

commercial fishing license or permit if a person has failed to reimburse the Department for the amount due plus an additional processing fee of 

$30 (FGC Section 7852.25). Any commercial fishing activity performed without a valid license or permit is a violation of the Fish and Game Code and 

therefore subject to enforcement action. 
 

**Credit Cards—Licenses, permits, tags, stamps or registrations may be purchased with a Visa or MasterCard. 
 

*** Cash is not accepted at California Department of Fish and Wildlife offices. 

If you have any questions or need more information, contact us at (916) 928-7470 or LRB@wildlife.ca.gov.  

 

mailto:LRB@wildlife.ca.gov.


State of California – Department of Fish and Wildlife 

TRAP GEAR RETRIEVAL LOGBOOK        AMENDED 
DFW 1059 (NEW 04/25/19 08/14/19) 

 
INSTRUCTIONS 
• The Trap Gear Retrieval Logbook must be filled out completely, accurately and legibly prior to mailing to CDFW. 

• Retrieval logbooks shall be kept on the vessel while it is engaged in trap retrieval operations. Each trip where traps are retrieved must be documented on a 
separate logbook page. For trips where more traps are retrieved than can be documented on a single logbook page, the Retrieval Trip section must be 
filled out on each logbook page.   

• Unless otherwise specified in Title 14, CCR, the Retrieval Trip (items 1-6) and Trap Log (items 7-12) sections and signature (item 16) must be completed 
by the Designated Retriever prior to any person disembarking from the vessel. Items 13 and 17 shall be completed by the Retrieval Permittee prior to 
submission of the logbook. Items 14-15 are completed at the discretion of the Designated Retriever and Retrieval Permittee. 

• Each original logbook page must be signed and mailed to CDFW; Retrieval Permittees are encouraged to retain a copy of each logbook page. All 
completed logbooks must be mailed to California Department of Fish and Wildlife Attn: Dungeness Crab Trap Retrieval, 20 Lower Ragsdale Dr., Suite 100, 
Monterey, CA, 93940, postmarked between October 22 and November 1, or the next business day of the Retrieval Permit year. Failure to return logs on 
time may will result in nonpayment of requested Department reimbursement. 

Retrieval Trip 
1. Vessel Name – Name of the vessel retrieving the gear. If the vessel does not have a name listed on their commercial registration, please write the USCG, 

state vessel registration, or DFW Commercial Boat Registration Number.  

2. Retrieval Permit Number – Number of the Retrieval Permit the Designated Retriever is operating under. 

3. Designated Retriever – Name of the Designated Retriever. 

4. Port of Landing – Port in California in which retrieved gears were landed. 

5. Trip Start Date – The month, day and year the trip was started to retrieve gear in MM/DD/YY format. 

6. Trip End Date – The month, day and year the trip was ended to retrieve gear in MM/DD/YY format. 
Trap Log (a separate line must be filled out for each retrieved trap) 

7. Date – The month and day (MM/DD) the gear was pulled. 

8. Buoy Tag # – Permit number on buoy tag.  

9. License # – License number listed on buoy. If there is no license number record ‘no license’. 

10. Trap Tag – Phone number listed on trap tag, and other information (e.g. name) if available. If there is no trap tag attached to the trap record ‘no tag’. 

11. Depth (fm) – Record approximate depth, in fathoms, where the gear was retrieved. 

12. Location – Latitude and Longitude in decimal minutes (i.e. 38° 40.5’ N and 123° 30.7’ W) where the gear was retrieved. 
Other Information 

13. Reimbursement Requested – Check to request to have the retrieval of a trap reimbursed by the Department because the Responsible Vessel Permitholder 
had not paid a negotiated Retriever Trap Fee for the trap by October 21st. A copy of the certified mail letter specified in 14 CCR § 132.7(h)(3), and all 
attached buoy tags, must be submitted to CDFW with the completed Retrieval Logbook. 

14. Trap Optional Comments – For recording miscellaneous information which may be of interest to the Department about each trap retrieved (i.e. rotten cotton 
intact, traps in a string or a “rosebud” prior to retrieval, numbers of crab and other species in trap, instructions from Law Enforcement Division officers, etc.). 

15. Trip Optional Comments – For recording miscellaneous information about the retrieval trip which may be of interest to the Department (i.e. weather, sea 
conditions, etc.). 

Signature Required 

16. Designated Retriever Signature - Designated Retriever must sign logbook pages to attest the information he/she provided is accurate. 

17. Retrieval Permittee Signature - Retrieval Permittee must sign logbook pages to show he/she agrees to entries.



State of California – Department of Fish and Wildlife 

TRAP GEAR RETRIEVAL LOGBOOK        AMENDED 
DFW 1059 (NEW 04/25/19 08/14/19) 

 

Vessel Name:      

 

Retrieval Permit 
       Number: 

 
 Trip Start Date: 

Designated 
     Retriever: 

 
Port of Landing: 

 Trip End Date:  

Date Buoy Tag # License # Trap Tag Depth (fm) Latitude Longitude 
Reimbursement 

Requested Comments 

         

         

         

         

         

         

         

         

         

         

         

         

         

         

Trip Comments: 

 

 
 

Designated Retriever Signature: ______________________________        Retrieval Permittee Signature:                                   
                                                                                       (Certified under penalty of perjury as true and correct)                                                                                                                 (Certified under penalty of perjury as true and correct) 

 

      Date: _______________________                                                                                                                                               Date: _______________________ 


