
 
2024 COMMERCIAL FISHING VESSEL ITEMS AND FEES 

   

AUTHORIZED LICENSE AGENT 

To Report Hunting, Fishing, or Pollution Violations Call 1-888-334-2258  

Your license purchase supports conservation and management of California’s fisheries. 

www.wildlife.ca.gov 

  (Rev 1/2024) 

California Natural Resources Agency 
Department of Fish and Wildlife 

Fee includes 5% License Agent Handling Fee and 3% Nonrefundable Application Fee 

 

COMMERCIAL FISHING VESSEL REGISTRATIONS 

Required for any resident or non-resident owner, or operator for any vessel operated in public waters in 
connection with fishing operations for profit in this State; or which, for profit, permits persons to sport fish. 

Commercial Boat Registration (CBR) Resident  ................................................................................    $490.50 

Commercial Boat Registration (CBR) Nonresident  ...........................................................................  1,457.05 

COMMERCIAL NONRESTRICTIVE VESSEL PERMITS  

Before non-restrictive commercial fishing vessel permits can be issued, an applicant must possess a valid 
commercial fishing vessel registration (resident or non-resident). 

Commercial Passenger Fishing Vessel (CPFV)  ................................................................................    $490.50 

Coonstripe Shrimp Trap Vessel ...........................................................................................................    149.04 

Ocean Enhancement CPFV  ..................................................................................................................      70.46 

Salmon CPFV, Second Salmon CPFV, or John Doe Salmon  .............................................................      91.80 

COMMERCIAL LIMITED ENTRY VESSEL PERMITS  

Limited Entry Vessel Permits are issued only to pre-qualified commercial vessel owners. "Limited entry fishery" 
means a fishery in which the number of persons who may participate or the number of vessels that may be 
used in taking a specified species of fish is limited by statute or regulation. 

California Halibut Trawl Vessel  ........................................................................................................       $83.98 

Dungeness Crab Vessel Resident  ....................................................................................................       394.45 

Dungeness Crab Vessel Nonresident  ..............................................................................................       780.30 

Market Squid Brail Vessel (Transferrable)  .......................................................................................    3,817.45 

Market Squid Light Boat (Transferrable)  .......................................................................................       1,150.45  

Market Squid Light Boat (Non-Transferrable)  ..................................................................................         75.86 

Market Squid Vessel (Transferrable)  ................................................................................................    3,817.45 

Market Squid Vessel (Non-Transferrable)  ........................................................................................    1,913.00 

Northern Pink Shrimp Trawl Vessel (Transferrable)  .......................................................................    1,940.30 

Northern Pink Shrimp Trawl Vessel (Non-Transferrable)  ...............................................................       975.10 

Salmon Vessel (Over 70 or with Qualifier)  .......................................................................................         59.66 

Salmon Vessel (with Stamp)  .............................................................................................................       151.46 

Spot Prawn Trap Vessel (Tier 1 or Tier 2)  ........................................................................................       490.50 

Spot Prawn Trap Vessel (Tier 3)  .......................................................................................................    1,940.30 

LIMITED ENTRY VESSEL LATE FEES  

Late 1 to 30 Days  ..................................................................................................................................  $204.75 

Late 31 to 60 Days  ................................................................................................................................    407.40 

Late 61 Days or More ............................................................................................................................    815.85 

DUPLICATES  

CBR  .......................................................................................................................................................    $13.78 

Nonrestrictive and Limited Entry Vessel Permits (each)  ...................................................................        3.81 

 

IMPORTANT INFORMATION 

New commercial fishing customers and vessels must contact LRBCOMM@wildlife.ca.gov or 

(916) 928-5822 to establish a commercial customer record before they can purchase a 

commercial fishing license or commercial boat registration.  

http://www.wildlife.ca.gov/
mailto:LRBCOMM@wildlife.ca.gov

