
  
  

 
     

 
 

 
    

     

      
   

 
    

  

  

       

      
 

  
 

   

      

            

  
   

    
              

         

  

          
 

                   
                 

                       
                        

                        
                         

                  

 

 

 

  
                                                       

 

 
        

 

State of California – Department of Fish and Wildlife 
2022 KELP HARVESTING LICENSE AND DRYING APPLICATION 
DFW 658 (REV. 11/01/21) Page 1 of 2 
FEE: $165.83 (Valid January 1, 2022, through December 31, 2022)

FIRST NAME M.I. LAST NAME GO ID# 

BUSINESS NAME HAVESTER’S LICENSE # 
(Required unless first permit) 

GENDER 
 MALE  FEMALE

 NONBINARY 

DATE OF BIRTH 

MAILING ADDRESS HAIR COLOR EYE COLOR HEIGHT WEIGHT 

CITY STATE ZIP CODE DAY TELEPHONE BUSINESS TELEPHONE 

STREET ADDRESS COUNTY 

CITY STATE ZIP CODE EMAIL ADDRESS 

BOAT NAME (Complete if boat used. If kayak, write “kayak”) CA VESSEL REGISTRATION NUMBER NUMBER OF PROCESSING PLANTS 

METHOD OF HARVESTING 
 HAND  MECHANICAL

CHECK THE BOX FOR EACH TYPE OFAQUATIC PLANT TO BE HARVESTED 
 AGAR  EDIBLE SEAWEED  BULL KELP  BULL KELP (HUMAN CONSUMPTION)  GIANT KELP 

 DRYING PERMIT (Select this option if you choose to dry harvest pursuant to California Code of Regulations (CCR), Title 14, Section 165(a)(1)(B).)

NAME, PLACE, AND DATE OF INCORPORATION 

 (Required) I understand that I must obtain a valid license from the Department’s Los Alamitos office once per year before I begin harvesting, kelp or other
aquatic plants.

In the event a license is granted, I hereby agree to abide by all conditions of said license and all laws and regulations of the Fish and Game Code (FGC) and 
the CCR, including FGC Sections 6650 – 6711 and CCR, Title 14, Sections 165, 165.5, and 705.1. I am eligible for the indicated license, and I am not under 
revocation or suspension, nor is there a case pending that would restrict me from obtaining a license. I hereby certify that all information contained on 
this application and/or submitted to meet the requirements for issuance of subject license is true and correct. I understand that, in the event that this 
information is found to be untrue or incorrect, the license issued will be considered invalid and must be surrendered to the California Department of Fish 
and Wildlife and that I will be subject to criminal prosecution. I understand this license or permit may be suspended or revoked by the California Fish and 
Game Commission if I am convicted of, or plead guilty or nolo contendere to, a Fish and Wildlife violation. 

SIGNATURE DATE 

X 
FOR DEPARTMENT OF FISH AND WILDLIFE USE ONLY 

ISSUED BY LOS ALAMITOS/DATE TRANSACTION # 

IF NEW YOU MUST INCLUDE VALID IDENTIFICATION WITH THIS APPLICATION 

SEE INSTRUCTIONS ON REVERSE. PRINT CLEARLY 

SFONBUENA
Typewriter
PROPOSED FORM - not for official use



  
  

 
     

 
 

 
                 

     
 

            
   
                      

                   
     

 
                

   
 

               
       

       
   

 
    
  
    
  
  
   
   

 
     

  
  

 
    

      
         

     
     

       
 

                 
    

     
    

 
 

        
       

       
 

        
       

State of California – Department of Fish and Wildlife 
2022 KELP HARVESTING LICENSE AND DRYING APPLICATION 
DFW 658 (REV. 11/01/21) Page 2 of 2 
FEE: $165.83 (Valid January 1, 2022, through December 31, 2022) 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE KELP HARVESTING LICENSE APPLICATION 
Contact the California Department of Fish and Wildlife (CDFW) Los Alamitos office by phone (562) 342-7100, if you need additional information 
regarding the  kelp harvesting license and drying application. 

INSTRUCTIONS 
1. It is mandatory to complete all items unless specified as voluntary.
2. Sign and date the application.
3. Mail the application with a cashier’s check, money order, personal check, or credit card authorization form with the appropriate fee to the

California Department of Fish and Wildlife, 4665 Lampson Avenue, Suite C, Los Alamitos, CA 90720, (562) 342-7100. This application
will become your license when validated and returned to you by CDFW.

IDENTIFICATION REQUIREMENT 
California Code of Regulations (CCR), Title 14, Section 700.4(c), states any applicant applying for any license, tag, permit, reservation or other 
entitlement issued via the Automated License Data System (ALDS) shall provide valid identification. Acceptable forms of identification include: 

• Any license document or Get Outdoors identification number (GO ID) previously issued via ALDS
• A valid driver’s license or identification card issued to him or her by the Department of Motor Vehicles or by the entity issuing driver’s

licenses from the licensee’s state of domicile
• US Military Identification Cards (Active or reserve duty, dependent, retired member, discharged from service, medical/religious

personnel)
• US Certificate or Report of Birth Abroad
• US Birth Certificate
• Tribal Identification Card, as defined by each sovereign tribal nation
• US Passport
• A foreign government-issue photo identification
• Certificate of Naturalization or Citizenship
• Birth Certificate or passport issued from a US Territory

Any applicant less than 18 years of age applying for any license, tag, permit, reservation or other entitlement issued via the ALDS shall 
provide valid identification. Acceptable forms of identification include any form of identification described above; or a parent or legal guardian’s 
identification as described above. 

At all times when engaged in any activity for which a commercial fishing license is required, the licensee shall have in his or her possession, 
or immediately available to the licensee, a valid driver’s license or identification card issued to him or her by the Department of Motor Vehicles 
or by the entity issuing driver’s licenses from the licensee’s state of domicile. A current passport may be used in lieu of a valid driver’s license 
or identification card by a holder of a valid nonresident commercial fishing license issued pursuant to Fish and Game Code (FGC), Section 
7852(b). The licensee’s driver’s license, identification card or, if applicable, passport, shall be exhibited upon demand to any person 
authorized by CDFW to enforce this code or regulations pursuant to FGC Section 7852.27. 

NOTICE 
Pursuant to FGC, Sections 6650 - 6680, and CCR, Title 14, Sections 165 and 165.5, CDFW is authorized to collect information from kelp 
harvester license applicants to maintain a record of licensure. All information requested on the application is mandatory unless otherwise 
indicated. Pursuant to FGC, Section 391, CDFW may exchange or release to appropriate federal, state, or local agency or agencies in other 
states, for purposes of law enforcement, any information collected or maintained by CDFW. 

PAYMENT POLICY 
Personal Checks will be accepted if name and address are imprinted on the check. Make checks payable to “California Department of Fish 
and Wildlife”. Checks returned to CDFW due to insufficient funds will render your license or permit invalid. CDFW may also deny the issuance 
or renewal of any license or permit if a person has failed to reimburse CDFW for the amount due. Any commercial activity performed without 
a valid license or permit is a violation of the FGC and therefore subject to enforcement action. 
Credit Cards- Licenses, permits, and other entitlements may be purchased with debit or credit cards displaying the Visa or Mastercard logo. 
Cash is not accepted at CDFW’s license sales offices. 
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