
PARTICIPATING IN CALIFORNIA’S  

FREE HUNTING 
DAYS

November 25, 2023 & April 13, 2024
During a free hunting day eligible California residents may 

hunt without purchasing a California hunting license under the 
following requirements:

HUNTER EDUCATION
Proof of completion of a hunter 

education course. 

FREE HUNT DAYS 
REGISTRATION

Possession of a valid Free Hunt 
Days Registration.

TAGS, CARDS, 
ENTITLEMENTS, 

PERMITS
Possession of any required tags or 
report cards, federal entitlements 

and entry permits.

PARTICIPANTS MUST BE 
ACCOMPANIED BY A  

HUNTER WHO:
•	 Holds a valid California hunting license.

•	 Is at least 21 years of age.
•	 Only accompanies one free hunting day 

participant in the field at a time.

OR SCAN THIS QR CODE:

FOR MORE INFORMATION, VISIT:
wildlife.ca.gov/Free-Hunting-Days
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FREE HUNT DAYS  

Recent legislation (AB 804) authorized CDFW to implement two free hunt days each 

year. Hunters wishing to participate in Free Hunting Days shall only participate for one 

license year and shall only take resident and migratory game birds, resident small game 

mammals, fur-bearing mammals, nongame mammals and wild pigs with a wild pig tag.  

 

Free Hunting Day participants are subject to all limitations, restrictions, conditions, 

statutes, rules and regulations, except the required possession of a valid hunting license, 

upland game bird hunting validation and state duck hunting validation. 

 

2023/2024 FREE HUNT DAYS (subject to change each license year) 

Saturday, November 25, 2023 & Saturday, April 13, 2024 

 

FREE HUNT DAY REQUIREMENTS (Fish and Game Code § 3040) 

California residents that do not currently hold a valid hunting license and meet the 

requirements below may participate in the two free hunt days:   

✓ Proof of completion of a hunter education course 

✓ Possession of a valid Free Hunt Days Registration 

✓ Possession of any required tags or report cards, federal entitlements and entry 

permits 

✓ Participants must be accompanied by a licensed hunter who: 

o Holds a valid California hunting license 

o Is at least 21 years of age 

o Only accompanies one free hunting day participant in the field at a 

time 

 

FREE HUNT DAYS REGISTRATION – AVAILABLE OCTOBER 11, 2023  

Starting October 11, 2023, customer may claim the Free Hunt Days Registration for the 

2023/2024 hunting season through all sales channels (CDFW license sales offices, license 

agents, online sales website, and telephone sales). 

Please refer to the CDFW Internet Point of Sales (IPOS) Terminal Instructions section 

below on how to issue the Free Hunt Days Registration items to customers.  
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Frequently Asked Questions 

Q: Who is eligible for the Free Hunt Days Registration? 

A: California residents who do not hold a current valid annual hunting license. 

Q: How long is the Free Hunt Day Registration valid? 

A: The Free Hunt Days Registration is valid for two designated days each year. The 2023-

24 hunting license year's free hunt days are November 25, 2023 and April 13, 2024. Free 

hunt days are published each year in the Hunting Regulations Booklets. 

Q: What does a customer need to do to claim the Free Hunt Days Registration? 

A: The participant shall complete the following requirements to register for a Free Hunt 

Days Registration: 

• Complete a hunter education course before registering. 

• Be accompanied by a hunter who is 21 years of age or older and possesses a 

current valid California hunting license. 

o The licensed hunter may only accompany one unlicensed hunter in the 

field at a time. 

Q: How many years can a person participate in Free Hunt Days? 

A: A resident may only register and participate in free hunting days for one license year. 

Q: Where does a customer register for a Free Hunt Days Registration? 

A: The Free Hunt Days Registration is available anywhere CDFW licenses are sold. At 

CDFW license sales offices, license agents, and through our online sales website and 

telephone sales services. 

Q: What can a customer hunt for with a Free Hunt Days Registration? 

A: The Free Hunt Days Registration allows participants to take only resident and 

migratory game birds, resident small game mammals, fur-bearing mammals, nongame 

mammals and wild pigs. 

A participant with a Free Hunt Days Registration must also be in possession of any 

required tags, report cards, entry permits or required federal entitlements, and must 

follow restrictions, conditions, statutes, rules and regulations applicable to anyone 

holding a valid hunting license. 
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Q: Can a customer hunt wild pig on Free Hunt Days? 

A: Participants wishing to hunt wild pig on Free Hunt Days are required to purchase a 

"Wild Pig Tag - Free Hunt Days" when claiming their Free Hunt Days Registration. To 

hunt wild pigs, participants must be 12 years of age or older. 

Q: Can a customer apply for drawings with a Free Hunt Days Registration? 

A: No. A Free Hunt Days participant is an unlicensed hunter and shall not apply for any 

draw or lottery to obtain any tag, reservation, or other hunting opportunity. 

Q: Can a customer use a hunting license from another state to participate in Free Hunt 

Days? 

A: No, a hunting license from another state cannot be used to participate in Free Hunt 

Days. 

Q: Does a customer need a hunter education certificate? 

A: Yes. Free Hunt Days participants must complete and provide a hunter education 

certificate to claim their Free Hunt Days Registration. CDFW accepts hunter education 

certificates from any state. Hunter education classes are available in three formats. 

Customers can view California hunter education options at wildlife.ca.gov/Hunter-

Education. 

Q: Can a customer use a Free Hunt Days Registration to hunt on state-managed 

wildlife areas? 

A: On the Free Hunt Days, participants may hunt on state-managed wildlife areas but 

will need to purchase a wildlife area pass. Customers may find more information about 

passes for state-operated hunting areas at wildlife.ca.gov/licensing/hunting. 

 

For additional information, visit our Free Hunt Days website at 

wildlife.ca.gov/Licensing/Hunting/Free-Hunting-Days.  

 

 

 

 

 

https://wildlife.ca.gov/Hunter-Education
https://wildlife.ca.gov/Hunter-Education
https://wildlife.ca.gov/licensing/hunting
https://wildlife.ca.gov/Licensing/Hunting/Free-Hunting-Days
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1. Retrieve the customer record for the individual participating in the Free Hunt Days. 

2. Select the appropriate year’s Hunting tab, then select Add on the Free Hunt Days 

Registration item.  

 
3. Read the displayed pop-up message to the customer and select Acknowledged to 

add the item to the cart. 

 
4. If a customer is hunting for wild pig, they must purchase a pig tag. Select the Tags 

tab, then select Add on the Wild Pig Tag - Free Hunt Days item.  
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5. After all desired items are added to the cart, select Go To Cart. 

 

6. If the customer is hunting on a State-Operated Wildlife Area, they will also need to 

purchase a short-term Wildlife Area Pass. 

 

7. Verify all documents in the cart are correct and select Continue To Check Out. 

 

8. Complete the Transaction. Collect any funds due and provided the printed 

documents to the customer.  

 

CONTACT US 

For assistance with the Free Hunt Days Registration sales process, please contact our 

Agent Sales Support (M-F, 8 AM – 5 PM PST): (916) 928-2537 | Agent@wildlife.ca.gov  

mailto:Agent@wildlife.ca.gov
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