State	Agency Name	Specialty Rehabilitation Requirements	Exam Required	General Eligibility Requirements	Wildlife Rehabilitation Agency Manual	NWRA/IWRC Wildlife Rehabilitation Standards (1) required by agency; or (2) Incorporated by reference?
Alabama	Department of Conservation and Natural Resources	Yes	Yes	19+ years; tetanus shot within last 10 years.	No	4th Ed. 2012 Minimum Standards
<u>Arizona</u>	Game and Fish Department	No	Yes	18+ years; 2 years' experience with 832 hours min (avg 8 hours /wk)	No	No
Arkansas	Game and Fish Commission	Yes	No	2 years' experience	No	No
<u>California</u>	Department of Fish and Wildlife	Yes	No	18+ years; 400 hours experience		3 <sup>rd</sup> Ed. 2000 Minimum Standards
Colorado	Parks and Wildlife	No	No	Sponsorship under a permittee with 3+ years' experience; Learning Plan prior to becoming Full Wildlife Rehabber.	TBD	No
Connecticut	Department of Energy and Environmental Protection	Yes	Yes	18+ years; wildlife rehabilitation seminar or training; 3 years' experience	TBD	TBD
<u>Delaware</u>	Division of Fish and Wildlife	No	No	100 hours within last year	TBD	TBD
<u>Florida</u>	Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission	No	Yes	1000 hours, 1+ years' experience	TBD	TBD
Georgia	Wildlife Resources Division	No	Yes	Not specified	TBD	TBD
<u>Hawaii</u>	Department of Land and Natural Resources	No	No	18+ years	TBD	TBD
<u>Idaho</u>	Fish and Game	No	No	None	TBD	TBD
Illinois	Department of Natural Resources	Yes	No	Not specified	TBD	TBD
<u>Indiana</u>	Department of Natural Resources	No	Yes	8 hours training	TBD	TBD
<u>lowa</u>	Department of Natural Resources	No	No	5 years' experience OR licensed veterinarian; local state conservation officer recommendation	TBD	TBD

State	Agency Name	Specialty Rehabilitation Requirements	Exam Required	General Eligibility Requirements	Wildlife Rehabilitation Agency Manual	NWRA/IWRC Wildlife Rehabilitation Standards (1) required by agency; or (2) Incorporated by reference?
Kansas	Department of Wildlife and Parks	No	No	18+ years; 100 hours experience	TBD	TBD
Kentucky	Department of Fish and Wildlife	No	No	18+ years; complete "Basic Rehabilitation" (IWRC) OR be a licensed veterinarian. Captive Wildlife Permitees or those possessing non-native wildlife not eligible for a permit.	No	3 <sup>rd</sup> Ed. 2000 Minimum Standards
Louisiana	Department of Wildlife and Fisheries	No	Yes	18+ years; liability release; financial responsibility statement; wildlife rehabilitation course	TBD	TBD
Maine	Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife	No	Yes	100 hours	TBD	TBD
Maryland	Department of Natural Resources	No	No	18+ years; sponsored as an apprentice by a licensed wildlife rehabilitator	TBD	TBD
Massachusetts	Division of Fisheries and Wildlife	No	Yes	Not specified	TBD	TBD
Michigan	Department of Natural Resources	Yes	No	30 hours experience; complete IWRC Basic Wildlife Rehabilitation course; sponsored as apprentice by a licensed wildlife rehabilitator	TBD	TBD
Minnesota	Department of Natural Resources	Yes	Yes	18+ years; training requirements vary by class of permit & type of wildlife	Yes	TBD
Mississippi	Department of Wildlife, Fisheries, and Parks	No	No	TBD	TBD	TBD
Missouri	Department of Conservation	Yes	No	Licensed veterinarian OR "substantive" wildlife rehabilitation training.	TBD	TBD
Montana	Fish, Wildlife, and Parks	Yes	No	_	TBD	TBD

State	Agency Name	Specialty Rehabilitation Requirements	Exam Required	General Eligibility Requirements	Wildlife Rehabilitation Agency Manual	NWRA/IWRC Wildlife Rehabilitation Standards (1) required by agency; or (2) Incorporated by reference?
<u>Nebraska</u>	Game and Parks Commission	Yes; Skunks, Threatened/ endangered species prohibited	No	Wildlife Rescue Team (non- governmental organization) has developed requirements with the state agency	Yes	No
<u>Nevada</u>	Department of Wildlife	Yes	No		TBD	TBD
New Hampshire	Department of Fish and Game	Yes	No	Class I (Apprentice Permit); Class II: 200 hrs certified by a Class II sponsor, or be a licensed veterinarian	TBD	TBD
New Jersey	Division of Fish and Wildlife	Yes	No	1+ year apprenticeship under a permitted rehabilitator; 200 hours' experience	TBD	TBD
New Mexico	Department of Game and Fish	No	Yes		TBD	TBD
New York	Department of Environmental Conservation	Yes	Yes	16+ years; agency interview; Class II license requires 2 years' experience as Class I General Rehabilitator	Yes	Referenced "most current" version on agency website (broken link)
North Carolina	Wildlife Resources Commission	Yes	No		TBD	3 <sup>rd</sup> Ed. 2000 Minimum Standards
Ohio	Division of Wildlife	Yes	No	18+ years; wildlife rehabilitation course for Category I permit (non-rabies vector mammals); 3+ years Category I experience for Category II permit (all species except rabies-vectors, deer, coyote, bobcat, mute swans, endangered species).	Yes	No
Oklahoma	Department of Wildlife Conservation	Yes	Yes	None listed	No	No
Oregon	Department of Fish and Wildlife	Yes	Yes	18+ years old.	TBD	No

State	Agency Name	Specialty Rehabilitation Requirements	Exam Required	General Eligibility Requirements	Wildlife Rehabilitation Agency Manual	NWRA/IWRC Wildlife Rehabilitation Standards (1) required by agency; or (2) Incorporated by reference?
Pennsylvania	Game Commission	Yes	Yes	Varies by permit type: Capture and transportation, wildlife rehabilitation, educational use of rehabilitation wildlife; & type of wildlife: Mammals, non-raptor avifauna, raptors.	No	No
Rhode Island	Department of Environmental Management	Yes	Yes	18+ years; IWRC Basic Wildlife Rehabilitation Course; Tetanus vaccine within last 10 yrs.	Yes	4th Ed. 2012 Minimum Standards
South Carolina	Department of Natural Resources	Yes			No	No
South Dakota	Department of Game, Fish & Parks	No	Yes	21+ years;	No	4th Ed. 2012 Minimum Standards
Tennessee	Wildlife Resources Agency	Yes (skunks prohibited)	Yes	200 hours experience, OR 1 year as Veterinary Technician, OR be a Licensed Veterinarian; OR possess valid wildlife rehab permit from another state. Captive Wildlife Permitee or person possessing non-native wildlife NOT eligible	No	References "Minimum facility guidelines of the National Wildlife Rehabilitators Association"
<u>Texas</u>	Department of Parks and Wildlife	No	Yes	18+ years; IWRC, NWRA, or other approved training.	No	4th Ed. 2012 Minimum Standards
<u>Utah</u>	Division of Wildlife Resources	Yes (coyote & raccoons require Dept of Agriculture authorization)	Yes	2 years' experience with 832 hours min (avg of 8 hrs./week) for the taxa for which applicant is applying	No	No
Vermont	Fish and Wildlife Department	Yes	No	2 years' experience as an apprentice under a wildlife rehabilitator; Game Warden interview; liability insurance.	Yes	4th Ed. 2012 Minimum Standards for Wildlife Rehabilitation
Virginia	Department of Wildlife Resources	Yes	No	Varies by Category: Category I requires an applicant be sponsored by Category II or Category III permittee	Yes	4th Ed. 2012 Minimum Standards

State	Agency Name	Specialty Rehabilitation Requirements	Exam Required	General Eligibility Requirements	Wildlife Rehabilitation Agency Manual	NWRA/IWRC Wildlife Rehabilitation Standards (1) required by agency; or (2) Incorporated by reference?
Washington	Department of Fish and Wildlife	Yes	Yes	18+ years; 1000 hours experience	Yes (2019, now archived)	References "most current minimum standards for wildlife rehabilitation" (NWRA)
Wisconsin	Department of Natural Resources	Yes	Yes	18+ years; signed sponsorship agreement (basic license); 2+ years' experience under sponsorship (advanced license)	No	References "Minimum Standards of the National Wildlife Rehabilitation Association"
Wyoming	Game and Fish Department	No	No	18+ years; basic wildlife rehabilitation course; provisional permit applicant requires 2+ years' experience under sponsorship of a wildlife rehabilitator	No	2 <sup>nd</sup> Ed. 1993 Minimum Standards ("and which does not include any later amendments or editions)"

NOTE: Alaska, North Dakota, and West Virginia do not have state regulations to permit wildlife rehabilitation activities in their State.

Additional information required.