OFFICE OF SPILL PREVENTION AND RESPONSE (OSPR) TECHNICAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE (TAC) Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, April 10, 2024, 10:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. Microsoft TEAMS Meeting

Link used: Click here to join the meeting

Or Dial-In number: +1(916) 535-0984, Conference ID: 422 803 087# Public comments were accepted via the chat function.

The following were in attendance:

TAC Members:

Matt Rezvani (Chair), Janell Myhre (Vice Chair), John Berge, James Farner, Ed Harmon, Mike Young

Recording Secretary:

Brenda Brantley

OSPR Participants:

Julie Yamamoto – Acting Administrator, Amir Sharifi – Assistant Deputy Administrator, Eric Milstein – Assistant Chief Counsel, Lenore Phelps – FASB Branch Chief, Christine Kluge – Regulations Analyst, Greg McGowan - Spill Response Technology Program Manager, Martice Vasquez – Laboratory Environmental Program Manager, Jenna Driscoll - Liaison Officer, Cindy Murphy – Tribal Liaison, Andrea Moore – Local Government ALOF / VUL

I. Introductions

Julie Yamamoto – Acting Administrator

II. OSPR Update

Julie Yamamoto – Staff changes and external activities
Greg McGowan – Response Technology and Support Branch presentation
Martice Vasquez – Laboratory, fingerprinting presentation

Written OSPR programmatic updates can be found in the TAC Binder.

III. Agency Briefings

- A. San Francisco Bay Conservation and Development Commission Cody Aichele
- B. California Coastal Commission Jonathan Bishop
- C. California State Lands Commission Jennifer Lucchesi
- D. California Department of Forestry and Fire Protection Unavailable for briefing
- E. California Geologic Energy Management Division Doug Ito
- F. State Water Resources Control Board Mark Bare
- G. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Unavailable for briefing
- H. US Coast Guard Trevor Siperek (for Ben Perry-Thistle)
- I. US Environmental Protection Agency Unavailable for briefing

Written agency briefings can be found in the TAC Binder.

IV. Approval of minutes

Matt Rezvani, TAC Chair

Action Item: Motion to approve the TAC Minutes of January 31, 2024; Motion Seconded; Roll Call Vote taken; Motion Approved.

V. OSPR and State Lands Budget Updates

Amir Sharifi - OSPR Jennifer Lucchesi – California State Lands Commission

VI. Regulatory and Legislative Update

Christine Kluge - OSPR

VII. OSPR Liaison Presentation

Jenna Driscoll – Liaison Officer, Overall Liaison Program Cindy Murphy – Tribal Liaison, OSPR 101 Andrea Moore – Local Government, Volunteer Unit

VIII. TAC Biennial Report

Matt Rezvani – TAC Chair

Ed Harmon and John Berge will prepare the Accomplishment section and Matt Rezvani and Kathleen Rogers will prepare the Priority section of the report before the next TAC meeting.

IX. Next Meeting

Matt Rezvani – TAC Chair

The next TAC meeting to be the last week of September or early October; Doodle Poll to be sent out for availability of TAC Members.

Adjourn Meeting