#### OFFICE OF SPILL PREVENTION AND RESPONSE (OSPR) TECHNICAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE (TAC) Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, September 25, 2024, 10:00 a.m. – 2:45 p.m. Microsoft TEAMS Meeting Link used: <u>Click here to join the meeting</u>

Or Dial-In number: 1 (916) 535-0984, Conference ID: 623949336# California Poppy Room, 1010 Riverside Parkway, West Sacramento, CA 95605 Public comments were accepted via the chat function.

The following were in attendance:

# TAC Members:

Matt Rezvani (Chair), Janell Myhre (Vice Chair), John Berge, Sejal Choksi-Chugh, James Farner, Rue Furch, Ed Harmon, Lynn Korwatch, Kathleen Rogers, Mike Young

## **Recording Secretary:**

Brenda Brantley

## **OSPR Participants:**

Heather Geldart – Administrator, Julie Yamamoto – Deputy Administrator, Amir Sharifi – Assistant Deputy Administrator, Eric Milstein – Assistant Chief Counsel, Lenore Phelps – FASB Branch Chief, Kathleen Jennings – Environmental Response Branch Chief, David Reinhard – Preparedness Branch Chief, Jon Victoria – Prevention Branch Chief, Christine Kluge – Regulations Analyst, Greg McGowan – Spill Response Technology Program Manager

## I. Introductions

Julie Yamamoto – Introduced new OSPR Administrator, Heather Geldart TAC Members/Agency Representatives/OSPR Staff present

## II. OSPR Update

Kathleen Jennings – Overview of Environmental Response Branch, roles and responsibilities David Reinhard – Goal of Harmonization of Marine and Inland Facility Contingency Plans Jon Victoria – Central Valley Unmanned Aerial System (UAS) Operations Heather Geldart – Professional background, personal history, and first impressions

Written OSPR programmatic updates can be found in the TAC Binder.

## III. Agency Briefings

- A. San Francisco Bay Conservation and Development Commission Unavailable for briefing
- B. California Coastal Commission Jonathan Bishop
- C. California State Lands Commission Jennifer Lucchesi
- D. California Department of Forestry and Fire Protection James Hosler
- E. California Geologic Energy Management Division Doug Ito
- F. State Water Resources Control Board Mark Bare
- G. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Unavailable for briefing
- H. US Coast Guard Trevor Siperek
- I. US Environmental Protection Agency Katherine Lawrence

## IV. Approval of minutes

Matt Rezvani, TAC Chair

Action Item: Correction to minutes; motion to approve the corrected TAC minutes of April 10, 2024; motion seconded; roll call vote taken; motion approved.

## LUNCH

V. OSPR and State Lands Budget Updates

Amir Sharifi – OSPR Jennifer Lucchesi – California State Lands Commission

VI. Regulatory and Legislative Update Christine Kluge – OSPR

#### VII. OSPR Spill Response Applications Presentation

Greg McGowan – OSPR Custom Field Data Collection Applications, various types of applications and uses for better planning and response

#### VIII. Biennial Update Discussion

- Discussed using similar formatting for both the Accomplishments section and the Priority section
- Discussed current content and how to submit additional content for inclusion
- New TAC Member assignments:
  - Accomplishment section Janell Myhre and Ed Harmon
  - Priority section Matt Rezvani and Kathleen Rogers

#### IX. Next Meeting

Matt Rezvani – TAC Chair

The next TAC meeting to be set up for November 6, 2024, from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.<sup>1</sup>

#### **Adjourn Meeting**

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Meeting room(s) unavailable for November 6, 2024. Doodle Poll sent out for availability of TAC members. Next meeting to be determined after receiving results from Doodle Poll.