W'E’Tﬁ Page 1 of 4

U State of California — Department of Fish and Wildlife

LICENSED DOMESTICATED MIGRATORY GAME BIRD

SHOOTING AREA LAWS AND REGULATIONS

This document is designed to provide essential information about licensed domesticated migratory game
bird shooting areas. It does not provide complete coverage of all licensed domesticated migratory game

bird shooting area laws and regulations.

Although this document contains excerpts from the Fish and Game Code, and/or the California Code of
Regulations, Title 14, it is the licensee’s responsibility to know and obey all laws and regulations in effect
while he/she is operating a licensed domesticated migratory game bird shooting area. Changes to either

code may occur at any time during the year.

Any discrepancies between this document and the codes(s) from which it was prepared will be enforced
and adjudicated according to the official code(s) in effect on the date the activity takes place.

Fish and Game Code Excerpts

83300. Raise and Release Domesticated
Migratory Game Birds; License Required

It is unlawful for any person to engage in the
raising and releasing, or the releasing, of
domesticated migratory game birds for shooting
by persons who pay for that privilege, unless the
person has a revocable nontransferable license
issued by the department. The licenses may be
issued annually by the department and shall be
valid from July 1 through the following June 30,
upon payment of a base fee of eighty dollars
($80), as adjusted under Section 713.

Any bird of a species included in the definition of
migratory game birds, as defined in Section 3500,
which has been held live in captivity is a
"domesticated migratory game bird" for purposes
of this section, except such a bird that has been
released from captivity and any control before
attaining six weeks of age.

83301. Posting of Boundaries of Licensed
Area

The application for a license shall show the size
and location of the area to be licensed. If an
application is approved and a license is issued,
the licensee shall post the boundaries of the
licensed area with signs, at intervals of not more
than 500 feet, which shall indicate that the area is
licensed for the shooting of domesticated
migratory game birds. Such signs shall be of a
size not less than 12 by 18 inches.

83302. Additional License Regulations;
Revocation

The commission may prescribe additional
regulations deemed necessary for the releasing
and shooting of domesticated migratory game
birds and shall set the season and areas where
such birds may be taken. If the licensee violates
any of the provisions of this article or any
regulations made pursuant thereto, the
commission may cancel or revoke the license
provided notice has been given to the licensee
and he has been given an opportunity to be heard
by the commission.

83303. Proper and Adequate Care of Game
Birds Required

Where domesticated migratory game birds are
reared or held for release by the licensee, the
licensee shall provide proper and adequate care
for the birds and shall raise and hold them only
under sanitary conditions. Conditions for proper
care and raising shall be prescribed by the
Commission. The licensee shall provide for the
inspection of birds and facilities upon the request
of the department.

83305. Condition and Age Requirement of
Game Birds at Time of Release

All domesticated migratory game birds at time of
release for shooting shall be at least 14 weeks of
age, capable of strong and sustained flight, fully
feathered, and otherwise in condition to survive in
the wild. Birds that are altered in any manner
which would, in the opinion of the department,
render them incapable of normal sustained flight,
or which are diseased, or show evidence of
malnutrition or injury, shall not be released.

83306. Shooting Requirements



Shooting shall be confined to blinds, except for
shooting necessary to recover a downed and
injured bird, and not more than three shooters
shall occupy or use each blind. Such blinds shall
be constructed to prevent the shooting of
domestic migratory game birds over water and to
ensure maximum safety to occupants of adjoining
blinds. The blinds shall be so situated that the
occupants of the blinds cannot see the release
site. The licensee shall not permit any shooting
within 500 feet of a point where the birds are
released, nor shall any birds be taken within such
distance from the point of release.

83307. Killed or Injured Bird Retrieval;
Retrieval Dog Availability

All birds killed or injured by shooters shall be
retrieved without delay, and all injured birds shall
be humanely dispatched. The licensee shall not
permit injured birds to remain on a pond or
feeding area, nor shall he knowingly permit such
birds to be used in any subsequent release.

In order to prevent the loss of any dead or
injured birds, the licensee shall provide the use of
a retrieving dog, without cost, to all shooters,
except that shooters may provide their own
retrieving dogs. The licensee shall not permit the
shooting of any birds unless a retrieving dog is
immediately available for use by all shooters.

83308. Inspection Fee - Maximum

Licensees shall pay the department an
inspection fee not to exceed five cents ($0.05) for
each domesticated migratory game bird raised or
used on a licensed area to insure proper
adherence to these regulations.

83309. Seal Attachment to Dead Birds

No dead domesticated migratory game bird
shall be removed from the premises of a licensed
area until there is securely attached to the
carcass a seal, and such seal shall remain
attached to the carcass until it is finally prepared
for consumption. Each such seal shall be supplied
by the department at a fee set by the commission
not to exceed five cents ($0.05).

§3310. Valid Hunting License Required

It shall be unlawful for any person to shoot
domesticated migratory game birds on a licensed
area without having a valid hunting license as
provided by Section 3031.

83311. Licensee - Must comply with Federal
Laws and Regulations

The licensee shall comply with all applicable
federal laws or regulations relating to the
releasing and shooting of domesticated migratory
game birds.

Title 14, California Code of Regulations

8600.4. Licensed Domesticated Migratory
Game Bird Shooting Areas.

Pursuant to the provisions of Section 3300 of
the Fish and Game Code, licenses to operate
licensed domesticated migratory game bird
shooting areas may be issued by the Department
of Fish and Wildlife on the following terms:

(a) Application Requirements.

(1) If the application indicates that the property
upon which a licensed domesticated migratory
game bird shooting area is to be operated does
not belong to the applicant, he shall declare in the
application that he has acquired from the
landowner exclusive hunting rights on the said
property during the license period. The
department may at its discretion require the
applicant to provide written verification that he has
acquired such hunting rights.

(2) Application shall be made on forms supplied
by the department.

(3) Applications shall be signed by the applicant.
If the applicant is a corporation the application
shall be signed by any one or more duly
authorized officers of the corporation. If the
applicant is a partnership, the application shall be
signed in behalf of the partnership by any one or
more of the general partners. If the applicant is a
natural person, doing business under a fictitious
name, the application shall be signed by such
natural person accompanied by a statement of
the fictitious name under which he is doing
business.

(4) Appearance of Representative of Applicant.
Whenever it appears to the commission, on
information furnished by the department, that a
licensee has not complied with all of the terms
and conditions of his permit, no license shall be
issued to such licensee for the following year
unless he supports his application for renewal of
his license by an appearance before the
commission in person or by an authorized
representative and presents evidence which, in



the opinion of the commission, constitutes a
justifiable excuse for his failure to satisfy the
conditions of his permit during the preceding
license year. Unless the commission is thus
satisfied, no license shall be issued to the
applicant for the period covered by the
application.

(5) License Withdrawal. The department may, in
its discretion upon written application by the
licensee, allow the licensee to withdraw from his
license. In the application the licensee shall state
the reasons for his request. The license fee shall
not be refunded once the license has been
issued.

(b) Suitability of Area for Use as Licensed
Domesticated Migratory Game Bird Shooting
Area. No license for a licensed domesticated
migratory game bird shooting area shall be issued
until an investigation has been completed by the
department and the department has determined
that the property is suitable for the purpose of a
licensed domesticated migratory game bird
shooting area. The department shall base its
determinations on whether or not the proposed
shooting area will cause conflicts with wild
migratory game bird hunting, that the
establishment of the shooting area will be in the
public interest, and that the operation of a
licensed domesticated migratory game bird
shooting area at the location specified in the
application will not have a detrimental effect upon
wild migratory game birds. In the event the
license is refused by the department the applicant
shall have the right of appeal to the Fish and
Game Commission.

(c) Signs. Licensed domesticated migratory
game bird shooting area signs shall be posted by
the licensee as required by Section 3301 of the
Fish and Game Code. Such signs shall be
removed prior to September 15 of the succeeding
year if no license is granted for that year.

(d) Inspection of Licensed Premises and
Domesticated Migratory Game Birds.

(1) The premises where domesticated migratory
game birds are held for the purpose of shooting
shall be inspected by the Department of Fish and
Wildlife for health of birds and sanitation of
facilities. Licensees shall pay the department an
inspection fee of two cents ($0.02) for each
migratory game bird raised or imported for
shooting purposes.

(2) Every person who brings or causes to be
brought into this state live domestically reared
migratory game birds for shooting purposes shall
have such birds inspected for disease and health
conditions at the point of origin by a licensed
veterinarian. A certificate stating that the birds are
disease free and signed by a licensed
veterinarian, and endorsed by a federal
veterinarian, will be forwarded to the Department
of Fish and Wildlife for each shipment of birds.
Any shipment of birds not accompanied by a
certificate of inspection shall be destroyed or
returned to the place of origin by the importer at
his sole cost and responsibility.

(e) Shooting Season. The season during which
shooting shall be permitted shall be for the period
September 1 through May 31.

() Shooting Hours. Shooting hours for taking
domesticated migratory game birds on licensed
areas shall be from one-half hour before sunrise
to sunset.

(9) Methods of Take. Domesticated migratory
game birds may be taken on licensed areas only
by the following equipment or methods:

(1) Shotguns 10 gauge or smaller using
shotshells only and incapable of holding more
than three shells in the magazine and chamber
combined;

(2) Muzzle-loading shotguns;

(3) Falconry;

(4) Long bow and arrow.

(h) Reports and Records. Licensees shall
maintain on forms supplied by the department an
up-to-date record of the number of domesticated
migratory game birds taken and the number of
hunters using the area. Such original record shall
be submitted to the Department of Fish and
Wildlife, Wildlife Protection Branch, 1416 Ninth
Street, Sacramento, California 95814, within ten
(10) days after the close of each month during the
shooting season, and the licensee shall retain a
legible copy of such records. Such records shall
be open to inspection at the area headquarters on
shooting days, at the club headquarters or in the
possession of the licensee or his agent during the
balance of the shooting season, and at a location
specified by the licensee for one year thereafter.
Such records shall be open to the inspection at
any time during these periods by authorized
representatives of the department.

(i) Seals on Birds Killed.



(1) Seals, as required by Section 3309 of the
Fish and Game Code, shall be affixed by the
licensee or his agent to all domesticated
migratory game birds taken on the licensed area
before such birds are removed from the licensed
area. Unused seals shall not be given to shooters.
These seals shall be of a type approved by the
Fish and Game Commission and shall be
purchased at a cost of five cents ($0.05) each
prior to the taking of any domesticated migratory
game birds on the license area.

(2) All seals must be accounted for by the
licensee whenever requested by the department,
and at the end of the domesticated migratory
game bird shooting area season unused seals
shall be returned to the department with the final
report. There shall be a refund of money for all
returned unused seals.

(3) Seals are not transferable and shall be used
only on the licensed domesticated migratory
game bird shooting area for which issued.

(j) Posting of Laws and Regulations. Each
licensee shall post a complete copy of the
licensed migratory game bird shooting area laws
and regulations in the area headquarters where
they may be read by any person using the
facilities of the area. An appropriate copy of the
laws and regulations will be furnished to each
licensee by the department.



