Abalone Recovery and Management Plan Acknowledgments

We would like to specially acknowledge the late Dr. Mia Tegner of Scripps Institution of Oceanography, who was a valued colleague, friend, and mentor to the Department's Abalone Team. She spent years working on problems associated with the kelp forest community, and wrote numerous scientific papers concerned with abalones. Mia was instrumental in the development of the Abalone Recovery and Management Plan legislation.

Members of several committees and a panel also contributed valuable input to the preparation of the ARMP, and provided a broad perspective. Each panel member considered a large body of information in preparation for the workshops. In addition, we wish to acknowledge participation of the members of the Director's Abalone Advisory Committee (DAAC) and the Recreational Abalone Advisory Committee (RAAC). We appreciate their suggestions and assistance in the preparation of the plan. Contributors (in alphabetical order) and their affiliations include:

Ben Beede - The Cultured Abalone (Panel); Steve Benevides, recreational diver, RAAC member (Panel); Ron Burton, Scripps Institution of Oceanography (Panel); John Butler, National Marine Fisheries Service, Southwest Fisheries Science Center (Panel alternate); Stephen Campi, recreational diver, RAAC member (Panel alternate); Jennifer Casselle. Marine Science Institute. University of California at Santa Barbara (Panel); John Colgate, commercial diver, DAAC and RAAC member (Panel); Jim Curland, Defenders of Wildlife (Panel); Rocky Daniels, recreational diver, RAAC member (Panel alternate); Tom Ebert, emeritus professor, San Diego State University (Panel); Carolyn Friedman, University of Washington (Panel); Leah Gerber, National Center for Ecological Analysis and Synthesis (Panel alternate); Peter Haaker, CDFG senior biologist, Commercial Abalone Advisory Committee chairman (Panel co-chair); Michael Henderson, recreational diver, RAAC member; Konstantin Karpov, CDFG senior biologist, RAAC chair (Panel co-chair): Harry Liquornik, commercial diver, DAAC member (Panel alternate); Jim Marshall, commercial diver, DAAC member; Richard Pogre, commercial diver, RAAC member; Tom McCormick, Proteus Sea Farms and Channel Islands Marine Research Institute (Panel); Steve Schroeder, Marine Science Institute, University of California at Santa Barbara (Panel); Steve Riske, CDFG warden, RAAC member; Greg Sanders, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (Panel); and Kate Wing, Natural Resources Defense Council (Panel).

Others always made themselves available for information and suggestions. We thank them for their help and look forward to working with them in the future. They are (in alphabetical order): Mary Bergen, CDFG; Paul Dayton, Scripps Institution of Oceanography; Alistair Hobday, CSIRO Marine Research, Tasmania, Australia; Eric Knaggs, CDFG; Kristin Riser, Scripps Institution of Oceanography; L. Ignacio Vilchis, Scripps Institution of Oceanography; and Fred Wendell, CDFG.

We also thank all the individuals who took the time to participate and comment at the various public meetings and workshops held during the preparation of the ARMP.