
State of California – Department of Fish and Wildlife 

2020-2021 TAKE INLAND OR FRESHWATER FISH PERMIT APPLICATION 
DFW 723 (REV. 12/20/19) Page 1 of 2  
FEE: $46.87  Fee includes a nonrefundable three percent (3%) application fee, not to exceed $7.50 per item. 

(California Code of Regulations (CCR), Title 14, Section 700.4) 
 

 

YOU MUST INCLUDE YOUR GO ID# OR A COPY OF YOUR IDENTIFICATION WITH THIS APPLICATION 

 

CHECK ONE: ❑  NEW ❑  RENEWAL 

 SEE INSTRUCTIONS ON PAGE 2.  TYPE OR PRINT CLEARLY. 

 COMMERCIAL FISHING ID#  GO ID NUMBER  

 FIRST NAME  M.I.  LAST NAME 

 DATE OF BIRTH  EMAIL ADDRESS  DAY TELEPHONE 

 MAILING ADDRESS  CITY  STATE  ZIP CODE 

 PHYSICAL ADDRESS (DO NOT USE PO BOX)  CITY  STATE  ZIP CODE 

 F&G BOAT #  BOAT NAME 

 CHECK THE BOX(S) FOR THE SPECIES YOU WISH TO TAKE: 

❑  CARP OR MINNOW FAMILY* (Cyprinidae) ❑ KILLIFISH FAMILY (Cyprinodontidae) ❑ SMELT FAMILY (Osmeridae) 

❑  CICHLID FAMILY (Cichlidae) ❑ LAMPREY FAMILY (Petromyzontidae)  Note: Delta Smelt (Hypomesus transpacificus) are prohibited to be taken. 

❑  FRESHWATER MOLLUSKS ❑ LIVEBEARER FAMILY (Poeciliidae) ❑ STICKLEBACK FAMILY (Casterosteidae) 

❑  GOBY FAMILY** (Gobiidae) ❑ SCULPIN FAMILY (Cottidae) ❑ SUCKER FAMILY (Catostomidae) 

❑  GRAY MULLET FAMILY (Mugilidae) ❑ SILVERSIDE FAMILY (Antherinidae) ❑ THREADFIN SHAD (Dorosoma petenense) 
* Excludes grass carp 
 

** Only longjaw mudsucker (Gillichthys mirabilis), staghorn sculpin (Leptocottus armatus), and yellowfin goby (Acanthogobius flavimanus) may 
be sold under the authority of a commercial fishing license for Live Freshwater Bait purposes. No other species collected under a 
Commercial Fishing License shall be sold for live freshwater bait purposes. (CCR, Title 14, Section 200.29). 

A. I PLAN TO USE THE FOLLOWING GEAR: (Specifically describe all methods of take e.g., diameter and mesh of cast net; size, mesh and 
type of trap, etc.) allowed by law or permit. (Be specific, and add additional pages if necessary) 

   

   

B. I PLAN TO FISH IN THE FOLLOWING AREAS (WATER): 
(Be specific, and add additional pages if necessary) 

 
 COUNTY: 

   

   

C. SPECIES WILL BE TAKEN FROM DATE: 
 

 TO: 

D. SPECIAL CONDITIONS ATTACHED ❑ YES ❑ NO INITIAL OF APPLICANT (Acknowledgment of special conditions): 

LISTALL DEPARTMENT LICENSES AND PERMITS HELD 

NOTE:  The permittee shall provide the Department with a schedule of fishing operations. This notification is to be made during regular  

 business hours to   (address on reverse side) per CCR, Title 14, Section 226.7(k). 
 

I certify that I have read, understand, and agree to abide by all conditions of this permit, the applicable provisions of the Fish and Game Code 
(FGC) and Title 14 of the California Code of Regulations (CCR). I certify that I am not currently under any Fish and Wildlife license or permit 
revocation or suspension, and that there are no other legal or administrative proceedings pending that would disqualify me from obtaining this 
permit. I agree that if I make any false statement as to any fact required as a prerequisite to this permit, the permit is void and will be 
surrendered, and I may be subject to prosecution pursuant to FGC Section 1054 and other sections of the CCR. (CCR, Title 14, Section 746). 

  SIGNATURE (Must be signed before use)  DATE 

 
  

FOR DEPARTMENT OF FISH AND WILDLIFE USE ONLY 
 APPROVED BY  DATE 

 SIGNATURE 
 

 DATE 

L 

TAKE INLAND OR 

FRESHWATER FISH PERMIT 

Doc. ID: 

x 

PERMIT MUST BE IN IMMEDIATE POSSESSION 

WHILE FISHING 
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE APPLICATION 
Incomplete applications will be returned and could delay the issuance of your permit. Contact one of the Department of Fish and Wildlife 
(Department) offices listed below if you need additional information. 

 INSTRUCTIONS  
  

1. Fill in and complete all items. 

2. Submit a copy of your 2020-2021 Commercial Fishing License, (resident or nonresident). (FGC Section 7857 (a)). 

3. Sign and date the application. FGC Section 7857(h) requires that all commercial fishing licenses, permits or other entitlements 
must be signed by the holder before use. 

4. Mail the application and attachments with a cashier’s check, money order, personal check* or credit card** authorization form for the 
appropriate fee, to one of the Department’s license sales offices listed below, for the area where fish are to be taken.  

This application will become your permit when validated and returned to you by the Department. 

DO NOT SEND CASH*** 
IMPORTANT! Please allow 15 business days to process all applications. 

 IDENTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS  
  
California Code of Regulations (CCR), Title 14, Section 700.4(c) states any applicant applying for any license, tag, permit, reservation or 
other entitlement issued via the Automated License Data System (ALDS) shall provide valid identification. Acceptable forms of 
identification include: 

• Any license document or Get Outdoors identification 
number (GO ID) previously issued via ALDS.  

• A valid driver’s license or identification card issued to 
him or her by the Department of Motor Vehicles or by 
the entity issuing driver’s licenses from the licensee’s 
state of domicile. 

• US Military Identification Cards (Active or reserve duty, 
dependent, retired member, discharged from service, 
medical/religious personnel) 

• US Birth Certificate 

• US Certificate or Report of Birth Abroad 

• Tribal Identification Card, as defined by each sovereign tribal 
nation 

• US Passport 

• A foreign government-issued photo identification  

• Certificate of Naturalization or Citizenship 

• Birth Certificate or passport issued from a US Territory 

At all times when engaged in any activity for which a commercial fishing license is required, the licensee shall have in his or her 
possession, or immediately available to the licensee, a valid driver’s license or identification card issued to him or her by the Department 
of Motor Vehicles or by the entity issuing driver’s licenses from the licensee’s state of domicile. A current passport may be used in lieu of a 
valid driver’s license or identification card by a holder of a valid nonresident commercial fishing license issued pursuant to FGC Section 
7852(b). The licensee’s driver’s license, identification card or, if applicable, passport, shall be exhibited upon demand to any person 
authorized by the Department to enforce this code or regulations.  (FGC Section 7852.27) 

 NOTICE  
  
Permit is issued pursuant to FGC Sections 8437 and Section 226.7, Title 14 of the CCR. Pursuant to FGC Section 7857(h), the Department 
is authorized to collect information from applicants to maintain a record of licensure. All information requested on this application is 
mandatory unless otherwise indicated and is confidential pursuant to FGC Section 8022. This information may be released to law 
enforcement agencies, to federal fisheries management agencies, or pursuant to a court order. 
 

An applicant may obtain a copy of his/her license records maintained by the Department by contacting the custodian of records at the 
Department’s License and Revenue Branch, 1740 N. Market Blvd., Sacramento, CA 95834, (916) 928-5822 or email LRB@wildlife.ca.gov. All 
requests for copies of license records must be submitted in writing and include the requester’s name, address and telephone number. 

 PAYMENT POLICY  
  
*Personal Checks—will be accepted by the Department if name and address are imprinted on the check. Personal checks returned to the 
Department due to insufficient funds will render your license or permit invalid. The Department may also deny the issuance or renewal of any 
commercial fishing license or permit if a person has failed to reimburse the Department for the amount due plus an additional processing fee of $30 
(FGC Section 7852.25). Any commercial fishing activity performed without a valid license or permit is a violation of the Fish and Game Code and 
therefore subject to enforcement action. 

**Credit Cards—Licenses, permits, tags, stamps or registrations may be purchased with a Visa or Mastercard. 

*** Cash is not accepted at California Department of Fish and Wildlife offices. 

CDFW LICENSE SALES OFFICES 

• EUREKA - 619 Second St., Eureka, CA 95501 
(707) 445-6493 

• MONTEREY - 20 Lower Ragsdale Dr., Ste. 100, Monterey, CA 
93940 (831) 649-2870 

• FAIRFIELD - 2825 Cordelia Rd., Ste. 100, Fairfield, CA 94534 
(707) 428-2002 

• REDDING - 601 Locust St., Redding, CA 96001 
(530) 225-2300 

• FRESNO - 1234 E. Shaw Ave., Fresno, CA 93710 
(559) 243-4005 

• SACRAMENTO - License and Revenue Branch - 1740 N. Market 
Blvd., Sacramento, CA 95834 (916) 928-5822 

• LOS ALAMITOS - 4665 Lampson Ave., Ste. C, Los Alamitos, CA 90720 
(562) 342-7100 

• SAN DIEGO - 3883 Ruffin Rd., San Diego, CA 92123 
(858) 467-4201 

 

mailto:LRB@wildlife.ca.gov

