CALIFORNIA State of California — Department of Fish and Wildlife

COMMERCIAL SALMON VESSEL PERMIT TRANSFER APPLICATION
Py  DFW 1306 (Rev 08/27/15) -l -|

NONREFUNDABLE TRANSFER FEE: $200 (MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH APPLICATION)
SEE INSTRUCTIONS ON REVERSE. TYPE OR PRINT CLEARLY.

PERMITTED VESSEL OWNER'’S FIRST NAME M.I. LAST NAME L#

BUSINESS NAME (if any) JOINT OWNERS

MAILING ADDRESS DAY TELEPHONE
CITY STATE ZIP CODE E-MAIL ADDRESS
F & G BOAT # VESSEL NAME STATE DMV OR USCG NUMBER

PLEASE COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING:

PERMITTED VESSEL WAS ACCIDENTALLY LOST, STOLEN OR DESTROYED DYES DATE OF INCIDENT |:|NO
| HAVE OWNED AT LEAST 50 PERCENT OF THE PERMITTED VESSEL FOR AT LEAST 18 MONTHS ] ves ] no

SAME TRANSFER HAS NOT BEEN REQUESTED OR DENIED WITHIN THE PREVIOUS 12 MONTHS [] YEs ] No
REPLACEMENT VESSEL OWNER’S FIRST NAME M.l. | LAST NAME L#

BUSINESS NAME (if any) JOINT OWNERS

MAILING ADDRESS DAY TELEPHONE

CITY STATE ZIP CODE E-MAIL ADDRESS

F & G BOAT # VESSEL NAME STATE DMV OR USCG NUMBER
PERMITTED VESSEL REPLACEMENT VESSEL

YEAR BUILT

LENGTH/ DRAFT / DEPTH / BEAM (in feet) / / / / / /

GROSS TONS / NET TONS / /

FISHING CAPACITY (in pounds of salmon)

TYPE OF FISH HOLD — BUILT-IN, PORTABLE (TOTES, BARRELS) or both

PRIMARY FISHERY

SECONDARY FISHERY (if any)

HOME PORT

HULL MATERIAL

VESSEL MANUFACTURER

ENGINE MANUFACTURER

HORSEPOWER / NO. OF CYLINDERS / /
THRU DRIVE, I/B, O/B, SINGLE/DOUBLE PROP
FUEL TYPE / FUEL CAPACITY (GALLONS) / /

| agree to renew the permit before the expiration date, if the transfer request takes place during the annual permit renewal period. | certify that | have read,
understand, and agree to abide by all conditions of the applicable provisions of the FGC, and the regulations promulgated thereto. | agree that if | make any false
statement as to any fact required as a prerequisite to the review, approval of this transfer request, the transfer will be surrendered, and | understand that | may be
subject to prosecution pursuant to FGC Section 1054 or to other administrative actions pursuant to Section 746, Title 14, of the CCR. | certify under penalty of

perjury that the included information is true to the best of his or her information and belief. (FGC Section 8239(e))

SIGNATURE OF OWNER OF PERMITTED VESSEL DATE
X
SIGNATURE OF JOINT OWNER OF PERMITTED VESSEL DATE
X
SIGNATURE OF OWNER OF REPLACEMENT VESSEL DATE
X




GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR SALMON VESSEL PERMIT TRANSFERS

Commercial Salmon Vessel Permit (SVP) transfers are allowed only under California Fish and Game Code (FGC)Section 8239.
The nonrefundable fee for each transfer is $200 and must be submitted with the transfer application.

Salmon Vessel Permits must be valid with the Department of Fish and Wildlife (Department) before a transfer application will be
reviewed.

The permit for the permitted vessel must be current, and the owner of the permitted vessel make assurances in the application that
any renewal of the permit which becomes due during the application period will be made.

The permittee cannot sell the vessel and retain the SVP. The permittee must own the vessel until the transfer has been completed. If the
vessel owner sells the permitted vessel before the transfer review process is completed, the permit belongs to the new owner of the vessel.

Ownership of Permitted Vessel (FGC Section 8239(g)(h)

The permittee must have 50 percent or greater ownership interest in the permitted vessel and in the replacement vessel, and has maintained
ownership in the permitted vessel for not less than 18 months prior to the date of the transfer. Exceptions to 18 month ownership
requirement are vessels that are accidentally lost, stolen, or destroyed. (FGC Section 8239.1(a))

Lien/Mortgage Holder Approval (FGC Section 8239(i))
If the permitted vessel has a lien holder or mortgage holder, an original notarized letter of approval to transfer the SVP must be submitted from the
lien holder or mortgage holder.

Determination for Issuance of Replacement Vessel Permit (FGC Section 8241)
The Department shall issue the permit for use on a replacement vessel if it determines the following:
e The replacement vessel has the same fishing potential as, or less fishing potential than, the permitted vessel.
e The replacement vessel’s fishing potential will not substantially increase fishing capacity over that which resulted from the operation
of the permitted vessel.
e The applicant owns the replacement vessel.

Fishing Potential (FGC Section 8231(e))

“Fishing potential” means the capability and capacity for harvesting salmon of a particular commercial fishing vessel. “Fishing
potential” includes, but is not limited to, a rating based upon factors such as size, seaworthiness, propulsion system, hold size, and
hull design. Photographs are used to identify and compare the fishing potential between the permitted and replacement vessels.

Proof of Vessel Ownership (FGC Section 7601)
The Department accepts the following as proof of vessel ownership:

e United States Coast Guard Certificate of Documentation
e California Department of Motor Vehicle Registration; or
e Out of state vessel registration

If the permitted vessel or the replacement vessel is owned by a business, you must provide documentation stating the business
entity. Acceptable forms of identification include:

e Articles of Incorporation e Statement of Partnership Authority
e Atrticles of Organization e Limited Liability Partnership
e Certificate of Limited Partnership e Sole Proprietorship

Identification Requirements
If the transferee is applying for the first time for a commercial fishing license they must provide valid identification as defined in Section
700.4, Title 14 of the California Code of Regulations.

Acceptable forms of identification include:

e Any license document or Get Outdoors identification e US Birth Certificate
number (GO ID) previously issued via ALDS e US Certificate or Report of Birth Abroad
e Avalid driver’s license or identification card issued e Tribal Identification Card, as defined by each sovereign

to him or her by the Department of Motor Vehicles tribal nation

or by the entity issuing driver’s licenses from the US Passport

licensee’s state of domicile A foreign government-issued photo identification
e US Military Identification Cards (Active or reserve Certificate of Naturalization or Citizenship

duty, dependent, retired member, discharged from Birth Certificate or passport issued from a US Territory
service, medical/religious personnel)

APPEAL PROVISIONS AND DEADLINES
If a transfer request is denied, the Department will notify the permittee in writing. The permittee may appeal the denial in writing to the
Fish and Game Commission within 60 days from the date of the Department’s denial. (FGC Section 8246.6)

If you have any questions or need more information contact Ruth Flores, at (916) 928-7470 or e-mail Ruth.Flores@wildlife.ca.gov.
Mail the Transfer Application, supporting documentation and transfer fee to Department of Fish and Wildlife, License and Revenue
Branch, 1740 N. Market Blvd., Sacramento, CA 95834.
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SALMON VESSEL PERMIT TRANSFER APPLICATION CHECKLIST

TRANSFER PERMIT TO A REPLACEMENT VESSEL (FGC SECTION 8239)
Submit copies unless noted of the following:

N

ONoG AW

©

Original Salmon Vessel Permit Transfer Application signed and dated by all owners.

Photographs of the original bow, stern and profile identifying the vessel name, State DMV or USCG
Documentation Number, or Fish and Game Boat Registration number for the permitted and replacement vessel.
Current Commercial Fishing License for the owner of the permitted vessel.

Current Commercial Boat Registration for the permitted vessel.

Original SVP.

Current proof of vessel ownership for the permitted vessel and the replacement vessel.

Current Commercial Boat Registration for the replacement vessel.

Original notarized Bill of Sale showing proof that the owner of the permitted vessel owns of at least 50 percent or
greater interest in the replacement vessel.

Nonrefundable transfer fee of $200. Payment can be made by check, money order or credit card (Visa or
MasterCard). Make checks payable to the Department of Fish and Wildlife.

LOST, STOLEN, OR DESTROYED VESSEL TRANSFERS (FGC Section 8239.1)

The Department shall accept a transfer application within one year after the date that a permitted vessel was lost, stolen,
or destroyed. Only the permittee at the time of the loss, theft, or destruction of the vessel may apply for the transfer.
Submit copies unless noted of the following:

PobdE

5.

Original Salmon Vessel Permit Transfer Application signed and dated by all owners.

Current Commercial Boat Registration.

Original SVP.

Report filed with the United States Coast Guard or any other law enforcement agency or fire department
investigating the loss.

Nonrefundable transfer fee of $200. Payment can be made by check, money order or credit card (Visa or
MasterCard). Make checks payable to the Department of Fish and Wildlife.

The Department may grant an additional six months extension for up to five years following the incident, if necessary, to
complete the transfer process. Permit fees must be paid annually as required. The permittee must submit the request in

writing.

CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP OF VESSEL (FGC Section 8233.5)

The Department shall change the designation of the holder of a permit, and with it shall go all rights, privileges, and
obligations of a permit holder, including rights of renewal, upon receipt of a notice of change of ownership to a new owner
of a permitted vessel upon change of ownership in the permitted vessel.

Submit copies unless noted of the following:

arwbdE

Original Commercial Boat Registration.

Original Salmon Vessel Permit.

Copy of new owner's Commercial Fishing License.

Copy of new owner’s Commercial Fishing Salmon Stamp.
Copy of the proof of ownership in the new owner’s name.
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