
State of California – Department of Fish and Wildlife 

2017-2018 COMMERCIAL HERRING PERMIT WORKSHEET 

DFW 1377 (REV. 8/17)  
 

 
Permit renewal worksheet must be received with permit fee at the Department of Fish and Wildlife, License and Revenue Branch or if mailed, 
postmarked on or before October 6, 2017. 

 
Instructions: Complete and return this worksheet along with your herring permit application and fees for all required licenses. Commercial fishing licensing 
requirements are printed in the Digest of California Commercial Fish Laws and Licensing Requirements at  www.wildlife.ca.gov. 

 

COMMERCIAL FISHING ID# F& G BOAT# HERRING PERMIT# 

DRIVERS LICENSE OR DMV I.D. NUMBER AND STATE DATE OF BIRTH GO ID# (FROM ALDS ISSUD LICENSE) 

FIRST NAME M.I LAST NAME 

MAILING ADDRESS DAY TELEPHONE (Voluntary) 

CITY STATE ZIP CODE SEX 

 MALE  FEMALE 

HEIGHT WEIGHT HAIR COLOR EYE COLOR E-MAIL ADDRESS 

SECONDARY PARTNER’S FIRST NAME M.I LAST NAME COMMERCIAL FISHING ID# 

L 

PARTNER’S MAILING ADDRESS DAY TELEPHONE (Voluntary) 

CITY STATE ZIP CODE CELLULAR TELEPHONE (Voluntary) 

PLATOON FOR BOAT (Check One & Complete) 

 DH  ODD  EVEN  TOMALES 

LIST BOAT NAME F&G BOAT # 

PLATOON FOR BOAT (CH ONLY –Check One & Complete) 

 DH  ODD  EVEN 

LIST BOAT NAME F&G BOAT # 

CHECK ONE BOX      YES   NO THAT I, PRIMARY PERMITTEE HAVE RESIDED IN CALIFORNIA CONTINUOUSLY FOR THE LAST SIX 

MONTHS. 

SPECIFY BY WHERE YOU WILL FISH – THIS PERMIT IS VALID ONLY IN: 

SAN FRANCISCO TOMALES HUMBOLDT CRESENT CITY 
 

Fees include a nonrefundable three percent (3%) application fee, not to exceed $7.50 per item. 
(Section 700.4, Title 14, California Code of Regulations) 

 Commercial Fishing License Resident (R) 
 

   x 
 

$136.99 
 

= 
 

   

 Commercial Fishing License Nonresident (NR)    x 136.99 =    

 Commercial Boat Registration (R)    x 357.00 =    

 Commercial Boat Registration (NR)    x    357.00 =    

 Herring Gill Net (R)     x 378.25 =    

 Herring Gill Net (NR)    x    378.25 =    

          Herring Gill Net San Fran w/Herring Stamp (R)                                  x             522.45 =   

 Herring Gill Net San Fran w/ Herring Stamp (NR)                              x    522.45 =   

   Permit renewal worksheets received or postmarked after October 7, 2016, must be accompanied with permit fee and late fee as follows: 

 
Permit late fees are not subject to the nonrefundable three percent (3%) application fee. 

 
 

 Permit Late Fee (October 7, 2017 to November 5, 2017) 
 

   x 
 

148.00 
 

= 
 

   

 Permit Late Fee (November 6, 2017 to December 5, 2017)    x 295.00 =    

 Permit Late Fee (December 6, 2017 to March 31, 2018)    x 590.50 =    

METHOD OF PAYMENT – Please Do Not Send Cash  Indicate type of payment:   Check*  Money Order  Visa  MasterCard 
       

      * Make checks or money orders payable to California Department of Fish and Wildlife
   
 

  $|    |    |    |     |.|    |     | 
 

 
CREDIT CARD #: |    |    |    |     | |    |    |    |    | |    |    |  _|    | |    |    |    |    | 

 

EXPIRATION DATE (MM/YY): |    |    | / |    |    | 
 

 CVC Number (On back of credit card) |    |    |    | 
 

I authorize CDFW to charge the agreed amount listed above to my credit card provided herein. I agree that I will pay for this purchase in accordance with the 

issuing bank cardholder agreement. 
 

SIGNATURE DATE 

PRINT NAME (As it appears on your credit card) PHONE NUMBER 

ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP CODE 

 

Note: Herring permits are issued at the Department’s License and Revenue Branch in Sacramento (916) 928-5822. Credit card authorizations with completed 
boat transfers or temporary substitute requests can be faxed to Sacramento at (916) 419-7586. 

 
 

MAIL PAYMENT WITH THIS WORKSHEET TO: Department of Fish and Wildlife 
                                                                                                           License and Revenue Branch 

1740 N. Market Blvd. 
Sacramento, CA 95834 

 
 
 
 
 
 



INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING COMMERCIAL HERRING PERMIT WORKSHEET 
 

Incomplete worksheets will be returned and could delay the issuance of your permit(s). Any herring permit holder taking herring for 
commercial purposes in San Francisco Bay must purchase a herring stamp before a herring permit can be issued. Questions regarding 
this application should be directed to (916) 928-5822. 

 

INSTRUCTIONS 
 

1.     It is mandatory to complete all items unless specified as voluntary. 

2. Mail this application with a cashier’s check, money order or personal check* or credit card** authorization form for the appropriate  

 fee to the Department of Fish and Wildlife, License and Revenue Branch, 1740 N. Market Blvd., Sacramento, CA 95834.  

 DO NOT SEND CASH.***  
 

NOTE: Pursuant to Section 163(a)(1) of Title 14 of the California Code of Regulations (CCR), all herring permittees must be currently 
licensed commercial fishermen. When a permit is held in partnership, both partners must be currently licensed California commercial 
fishermen. 

 

Herring permits are ONLY issued from the License and Revenue Branch in Sacramento. 

IDENTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS 
 

Section 700.4(c) of Title 14 of the California Code of Regulations (CCR) states any applicant applying for any license, tag, permit, 
reservation or other entitlement issued via the Automated License Data System (ALDS) shall provide valid identification. Acceptable 
forms of identification include: 

 

• Any license document or Get Outdoors identification number (GO ID) previously issued via ALDS 

• A valid driver’s license or identification card issued to him or her by the Department of Motor Vehicles or by the entity issuing 

driver’s licenses from the licensee’s state of domicile 

• US Military Identification Cards (Active or reserve duty, dependent, retired member, discharged from service, 
medical/religious personnel) 

• US Certificate or Report of Birth Abroad 

• US Birth Certificate 

• Tribal Identification Card, as defined by each sovereign tribal nation 

• US Passport 

• A foreign government-issued photo identification 

• Certificate of Naturalization or Citizenship 

• Birth Certificate or passport issued from a US Territory 
 

Any applicant less than 18 years of age applying for any license, tag, permit, reservation or other entitlement issued via the ALDS 
shall provide valid identification. Acceptable forms of identification include any form of identification described above; or a parent or 
legal guardian’s identification as described above. 

 

At all times when engaged in any activity for which a commercial fishing license is required, the licensee shall have in his or her 
possession, or immediately available to the licensee, a valid driver’s license or identification card issued to him or her by the Department 
of Motor Vehicles or by the entity issuing driver’s licenses from the licensee’s state of domicile. A current passport may be used in lieu 
of a valid driver’s license or identification card by a holder of a valid nonresident commercial fishing license issued pursuant to 
FGC Section 7852(b). The licensee’s driver’s license, identification card or, if applicable, passport, shall be exhibited upon demand to 
any person authorized by the Department to enforce this code or regulations. (FGC Section 7852.27) 

 

NOTICE 
 

Permits are issued pursuant to Fish and Game Code (FGC) Sections 8550 through 8559 and Section 163 of Title 14 of the CCR. 
Pursuant to the FGC Section 7857(h) the Department is authorized to collect information from applicants to maintain a record of 
licensure. All information requested on this application is mandatory unless otherwise indicated and is confidential pursuant to FGC 
Section 8022. Other personal information submitted on this application may be released for law enforcement purposes, for official 
natural resources management purposes, or pursuant to court order. An applicant may obtain a copy of his/her license records 
maintained by the Department by contacting the custodian of records at the Department’s License and Revenue Branch, 1740 N. 
Market Blvd., Sacramento, CA 95834, (916) 928-5822, or email LRB@wildlife.ca.gov. All requests for copies of license records must 
be submitted in writing and include the requester's name, address and telephone number. 

 

PAYMENT POLICY 
 

* Personal Checks will be accepted by the Department if name and address are imprinted on the check. Checks returned to the 
Department due to insufficient funds will render your license or permit invalid. The Department may also deny the issuance or renewal 
of any commercial fishing license or permit if a person has failed to reimburse the Department for the amount due plus an additional 
processing fee of $30 (FGC Section 7852.25). Any commercial fishing activity performed without a valid license or permit is a violation 
of the FGC and therefore subject to enforcement action. 

 
**Credit Cards - Licenses, permits, tags, validations, or registrations may be purchased with a Visa or MasterCard. 

 ***Cash will no longer be accepted at California Department of Fish and Wildlife office starting January 1, 2017. 

 

mailto:LRB@wildlife.ca.gov

