

Fee: \$200.00 Nonrefundable (Required when applying for transfer or change of ownership. Not required upon application to retain a permit.)  CHECK ONE:  CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP  RETAINING PERMIT ON LOST OR DAMAGED VESSEL  RETAINING PERMIT UPON SALE OF THE VESSEL  DEATH OF PERMITTEE/TRANSFER TO HEIR						
SEE PAGE 2 FOR INSTRUCTIONS. TYPE OR PRINT CLEARLY.						
PERMITTED VESSEL (OWNER'S INFORMATION)       F&G VESSEL NUMBER     PERMIT NUMBER     VESSEL NAME     STATE DMV OR USCG NUMBER						
T &O VESSEE NOWBER	I LIXWII NOWBLK	\ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \	LOOLL NAN	/IL	SIAILD	WIV OR OOCO NOWBER
FIRST NAME		M.I. LAST		COMMERCIAL FISHING ID#		
BUSINESS NAME (if any) JOINT OWNERS						
MAILING ADDRESS				CITY	STATE	ZIP CODE
DAY TELEPHONE				EMAIL ADDRESS		
PLEASE COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING: PERMITTED VESSEL WAS LOST, STOLEN OR DESTROYED  YES DATE OF INCIDENT  NO						
PERMITTED VESSEL SUFFERS MAJOR MECHANICAL BREAKDOWN						
REPLACEMENT VESSEL (OWNER'S INFORMATION)						
F&G VESSEL NUMBER			VESSEL NAME		STATE DMV OR USCG NUMBER	
FIRST NAME		M.I. LAST		COMMERCIAL FISHING ID#		
BUSINESS NAME (if any) JOINT OWNERS						
MAILING ADDRESS				CITY	STATE	ZIP CODE
DAY TELEPHONE EMAIL ADDRESS				S		
FOR CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP (NEW OWNER'S INFORMATION)						
FIRST NAME		M.I. LAST		COMMERCIAL FISHING ID#		
BUSINESS NAME (if any) JOINT OWNERS						
MAILING ADDRESS				CITY	STATE	ZIP CODE
DAY TELEPHONE				EMAIL ADDRESS		
If the transfer request takes place during the annual permit renewal period, I agree to renew the permit before the expiration date. I certify that I have read, understand, and agree to abide by all conditions of the applicable provisions of the Fish and Game Code (FGC) and Title 14 of the California Code of Regulations. I agree that if I make any false statement as to any fact required as a prerequisite to the approval of this transfer application, the permit will be surrendered, I may be subject to prosecution pursuant to FGC Section 1054 and other sections of the California Code and California Code of Regulations, and my commercial fishing license and/or Dungeness Crab Vessel Permit may be suspended or revoked. I certify under penalty of perjury that the included information is true to the best of my information and belief. (FGC Section 8280.6(c))  SIGNATURE OF OWNER OF PERMITTED VESSEL						
						DATE
X						JANIE .
SIGNATURE OF JOINT OWNER OF PERMITTED VESSEL						
X						DATE

### CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP OF PERMITTED VESSEL

### Submit the following:

- Original Dungeness Crab Vessel Permit Transfer Application signed and dated by all owners.
- 2. Original current Commercial Boat Registration for the permitted vessel.
- 3. Original current Dungeness Crab Vessel Permit.
- Copy of survey conducted by a licensed marine surveyor that shows the length overall of the permitted vessel.
- 5. Copy of proof of ownership in the new owner's name.
- 6. Copy of the new owner's Commercial Fishing License.
- Nonrefundable transfer fee of \$200. Payment can be made by check, money order, or debit/credit card displaying a Visa or Mastercard logo. Make check payable to the Department of Fish and Wildlife. A Credit Card Payment Authorization Form is included on Page 6.

# TRANSFER TO A REPLACEMENT VESSEL

### Submit the following:

- 1. Original Dungeness Crab Vessel Permit Transfer Application signed and dated by all owners.
- 2. Original current Dungeness Crab Vessel Permit.
- 3. Copy of current proof of vessel ownership for the permitted vessel and the replacement vessel.
- 4. Copy of one of the following showing the current length overall for the replacement vessel:
  - a. A vessel survey conducted by licensed marine surveyor;
  - b. Copy of United States Coast Guard (USCG) Certificate of Documentation; or
  - c. Copy of the state Vessel Registration Certificate.
- 5. Copy of current Commercial Boat Registration for the replacement vessel.
- 6. Copy of the replacement vessel owner's current Commercial Fishing License.
- Nonrefundable transfer fee of \$200. Payment can be made by check, money order, or debit/credit card displaying a Visa or Mastercard logo. Make check payable to the Department of Fish and Wildlife. A Credit Card Payment Authorization Form is included on Page 6.

### **TEMPORARY TRANSFER**

### Submit the following:

- 1. Original Dungeness Crab Vessel Permit Transfer Application signed and dated by all owners.
- 2. Copy of current Dungeness Crab Vessel Permit.
- Copy of current proof of ownership for the permitted vessel and the temporary replacement vessel.
- 4. Copy of report filed with the USCG or other law enforcement agency investigating the loss or destruction of the permitted vessel.
- Copy of estimate of the cost to repair the vessel from a marine surveyor or boat repair yard if the permitted vessel suffers major mechanical breakdown.
- 6. Copy of Dungeness crab landing receipts amounting to not less than 5,000 pounds cumulative for the past two Dungeness crab seasons.
- 7. Copy of one of the following showing the current length overall for both the permitted and the replacement vessel:
  - a. A vessel survey conducted by licensed marine surveyor;
  - b. Copy of United States Coast Guard (USCG) Certificate of Documentation; or
  - c. Copy of the state Vessel Registration Certificate.
- Nonrefundable transfer fee of \$200. Payment can be made by check, money order, or debit/credit card displaying a Visa or Mastercard logo. Make check payable to the Department of Fish and Wildlife. A Credit Card Payment Authorization Form is included on Page 6.

### **Extension of Temporary Transfer**

**Note:** Temporary transfers (if approved) are valid for six months in the current permit year. If an additional six months are needed to repair or replace a permitted vessel, the vessel owner must submit a Dungeness Crab Vessel Permit Transfer Application with a \$200 nonrefundable transfer fee.

# RETAINING PERMIT ON LOSS OR DAMAGED VESSEL

### Submit the following:

- 1. Original Dungeness Crab Vessel Permit Transfer Application signed and dated by all owners.
- 2. Original current Dungeness Crab Vessel Permit.
- 3. Copy of current proof of ownership for the permitted vessel.
- 4. Copy of one of the following showing the current length overall for the permitted vessel:
  - a. A vessel survey conducted by licensed marine surveyor;
  - b. Copy of United States Coast Guard (USCG) Certificate of Documentation; or
  - c. Copy of the state Vessel Registration Certificate.
- 5. Copy of report filed with the USCG or other law enforcement agency investigating the loss or destruction of the permitted vessel.
- 6. Copy of estimate of the cost to repair the vessel from a marine surveyor or boat repair yard if the permitted vessel suffers major mechanical breakdown.



State of California - Department of Fish and Wildlife

### COMMERCIAL DUNGENESS CRAB VESSEL PERMIT TRANSFER APPLICATION

DFW 1305 (REV. 03/01/23) Page 3 of 6

7. Nonrefundable transfer fee of \$200. Payment can be made by check, money order, or debit/credit card displaying a Visa or Mastercard logo. Make check payable to the Department of Fish and Wildlife. A Credit Card Payment Authorization Form is included on Page 6.

### RETAINING PERMIT UPON THE SALE OF THE VESSEL

### Prior to the sale of the permitted vessel, the vessel owner must submit the following:

- 1. Original Dungeness Crab Vessel Permit Transfer Application signed and dated by all owners.
- 2. Original current Dungeness Crab Vessel Permit.
- 3. Copy of current proof of ownership for the permitted vessel.

**Note:** If the request is approved, written notification will be sent to the vessel owner. The vessel owner will be required to submit a notarized bill of sale to verify they no longer own the permitted vessel. Within one year from the date of sale of the permitted vessel, the vessel owner must transfer the permit to a replacement vessel.

### **DEATH OF PERMITTEE**

#### Submit the following:

- Original Dungeness Crab Vessel Permit Transfer Application signed and dated by the executor of the deceased permittee's estate.
- 2. Original current Dungeness Crab Vessel Permit.
- 3. Copy of current proof of ownership for the permitted vessel.
- 4. Copy of death certificate of the permittee.
- 5. Copy of proof that the applicant is the executor of the deceased's estate.
- Nonrefundable transfer fee of \$200. Payment can be made by check, money order, or debit/credit card displaying a Visa or Mastercard logo. Make check payable to the Department of Fish and Wildlife. A Credit Card Payment Authorization Form is included on Page 6.

# **IDENTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS**

If the transferee is applying for the first time for a commercial fishing license, they must provide valid identification as defined in Section 700.4, Title 14 of the California Code of Regulations.

- Any license document or Get Outdoors Identification number (GO ID) previously issued via the Automated License Data System (ALDS)
- A valid driver's license or identification card issued to by the Department of Motor Vehicles or by the entity issuing driver's licenses from the licensee's state of domicile
- US Military Identification Cards (Active or reserve duty, dependent, retired member, discharged from service, medical/religious personnel)
- Birth Certificate or passport issued from a US Territory
- US Passport
- US Birth Certificate
- US Certificate or Report of Birth Abroad
- Certificate of Naturalization or Citizenship
- Tribal Identification Card, as defined by each sovereign tribal nation
- A foreign government-issued photo identification

# **BUSINESS DOCUMENTATION**

If the permitted vessel or the replacement vessel is owned by a business, you must provide documentation showing the business entity type. Acceptable forms of documentation include:

- Articles of Incorporation
- Certificate of Limited Partnership

- Articles of Organization
- Statement of Partnership Authority

# PROOF OF VESSEL OWNERSHIP

Pursuant to Fish and Game Code Section 7601, the following may be submitted as proof of vessel ownership:

- United States Coast Guard Certificate of Documentation; or
- California Department of Motor Vehicles Vessel Registration; or
- Out of state vessel registration

If you have any questions or need more information, contact (916) 928-5822 or <a href="LRBCOMM@wildlife.ca.gov">LRBCOMM@wildlife.ca.gov</a>. Mail the Transfer Application, transfer fee, and supporting documentation to California Department of Fish and Wildlife, License and Revenue Branch, PO Box 944209 Sacramento, CA 94244-2090.

### RELEVANT FISH AND GAME CODE SECTIONS

Pursuant to Fish and Game Code Section 8280.1(c), Nontransferable Dungeness Crab Vessel Permits cannot be sold to another person or change ownership. Nontransferable Dungeness Crab Vessel Permits shall become immediately null and void upon the death of the permittee.

### CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP

**8280.3(c)(1)** The owner of a vessel to whom a Dungeness crab vessel permit has been issued shall transfer the permit for the use of that vessel upon the sale of the vessel by the permitholder to the person purchasing the vessel, except that the permit shall not be transferred if the vessel is more than five feet longer in length overall, as determined by a licensed marine surveyor, than the baseline length on the permit. Thereafter, upon notice to the department, the person purchasing the vessel may use the vessel for the taking and landing of Dungeness crab for any and all of the unexpired portion of the permit year, and that person is eligible for a permit pursuant to this article for the use of that vessel in subsequent years. The person purchasing the vessel shall not transfer the permit for use of that vessel in the Dungeness crab fishery to another replacement vessel during the same permit year.

(2) A permit described in subdivision (c) of Section 8280.1 shall not be transferred pursuant to this subdivision.

# TRANSFER PERMIT TO A REPLACEMENT VESSEL

**8280.3(a)** For purposes of this section, the term "length overall" means the horizontal distance between the forward-most and after-most points on the hull of a vessel. The length overall of a vessel does not include attachments fixed to the stern and bow.

- **(b)** Notwithstanding Article 9 (commencing with Section 8100) of Chapter 1 and except as provided in this section, a Dungeness crab vessel permit shall not be transferred.
- (d) The owner of a vessel to whom the Dungeness crab vessel permit has been issued may transfer the permit to a replacement vessel of equivalent capacity, except as specified in this section. Thereafter, upon notice to the department and payment of the transfer fee specified in Section 8280.6, the replacement vessel may be used for the taking and landing of Dungeness crab for any and all of the unexpired portion of the permit year and that person is eligible for a permit pursuant to this article for the use of that replacement vessel in subsequent years.
- (e) (1) The owner of a permitted vessel may transfer the permit to a vessel of greater capacity as follows:
- (A) If the person the permit is to be transferred to purchased the vessel of greater capacity on or before November 15, 1995, the vessel of greater capacity may not be more than 10 feet longer in length overall than the baseline length on the permit.
- (B) If the person the permit is to be transferred to purchased the vessel of greater capacity after November 15, 1995, the vessel of greater capacity may not be more than five feet longer in length overall than the baseline length on the permit.
- (2) A permit described in subdivision (c) of Section 8280.1 shall not be transferred pursuant to this subdivision.
- (f) (1) The department may authorize the owner of a permitted vessel to transfer the permit to a replacement vessel that was owned by the person the permit is to be transferred to on or before April 1, 1996, that does not fish with trawl nets that is greater than five feet longer in length overall than the baseline length on the permit, if all of the following conditions are satisfied:
- (A) A vessel of a larger size is essential to the proposed permitholder for participation in another fishery other than a trawl net fishery.
- (B) The owner of the permitted vessel held a permit on or before January 1, 1995, for the fishery for which a larger vessel is needed and has participated in that fishery.
- (C) The permit for the vessel from which the permit is to be transferred qualified pursuant to paragraph (1) of subdivision (b) of Section 8280.1, as that section read on August 1, 2018, or any prior version of that paragraph.
- (D) The vessel to which the permit is to be transferred does not exceed 20 feet longer in length overall than the baseline length on the permit and the vessel to which the permit is to be transferred does not exceed 60 feet in length overall.
- (E) A permit was not previously transferred to the same replacement vessel.
- (2) A permit described in subdivision (c) of Section 8280.1 shall not be transferred pursuant to this subdivision.
- (g) A transfer of a permit to a larger vessel shall not be allowed more than one time. If a permit is transferred to a larger vessel, any Dungeness crab vessel permit for that permit year or any subsequent permit years for that larger vessel shall not be transferred to another larger vessel. The department shall not thereafter issue a Dungeness crab vessel permit for the use of the original vessel from which the permit was transferred, except that the original vessel may be used to take or land Dungeness crab after that transfer if its use is authorized pursuant to another Dungeness crab vessel permit subsequently transferred to that vessel pursuant to subdivision (d), (e), or (f).

# **TEMPORARY TRANSFER**

8280.3(h)(1) Upon the written approval of the department, the owner of a vessel to whom the Dungeness crab vessel permit has been issued, which has California Dungeness crab landings made with trap gear documented on department landing receipts and which has had California Dungeness crab landings amounting to not less than 5,000 pounds cumulative for the past two Dungeness crab seasons, may temporarily transfer the permit to a replacement vessel for which use in the Dungeness crab fishery is not permitted pursuant to this article that is of equivalent size and capacity of the originally permitted vessel, no greater than 10 feet longer in length overall than the vessel from which the permit is transferred, for a period of not more than six months during the current permit year if the vessel for which the permit was issued is seriously damaged, suffers major mechanical breakdown, or is lost or destroyed, as determined by the department, upon approval of the director. The owner of the vessel shall submit proof that the department may reasonably require to establish the existence of the conditions of this paragraph. Only the permittee at the time of the loss, theft, damage, breakdown, or destruction of the vessel may apply for the transfer of the vessel permit. Proof of loss or destruction shall be documented by submission of a copy of the report filed with the United States Coast Guard or any other law enforcement or fire agency that investigated the loss. In the case of mechanical breakdown, the request shall include an estimate of the costs to repair the vessel from a marine surveyor or boat repair yard. The department shall not issue a permit for a replacement vessel pursuant to this subdivision if the permitted vessel was reported lost, stolen, mechanically broken down, destroyed, or damaged for fraudulent purposes. Upon approval by the director, the owner of a vessel granted a six-month temporary transfer under this section may be granted an additional six-month extension of the temporary transfer.

### RETAINING PERMIT ON LOSS OR DAMAGED VESSEL

**8280.3(h)(2)** Notwithstanding subdivision (e) of Section 8280.2, in the event of loss or destruction of a vessel for which a Dungeness crab vessel permit was issued, or serious damage that renders the vessel inoperable, and upon written approval of the department, the owner of the vessel to whom the permit was issued may retain the permit and may transfer the permit to another vessel of equivalent size and capacity of the vessel that was lost or damaged during the period of two years after the loss or damage of the vessel for which the permit was originally issued. The owner of the lost or damaged vessel shall submit proof that the department may reasonably require to establish the loss or damage of the vessel. Only the permittee at the time of the loss, theft, damage, or destruction of the vessel may apply for the transfer of the vessel permit. Proof of loss or destruction shall be documented by submission of a copy of the report filed with the United States Coast Guard or any other law enforcement or fire agency that investigated the loss. In the case of mechanical breakdown, the request shall include an estimate of the costs to repair the vessel from a marine surveyor or boat repair yard. The department shall not issue a permit for a replacement vessel pursuant to this paragraph if the lost or damaged vessel was reported lost, stolen, destroyed, mechanically broken down, or damaged for fraudulent purposes. The department shall only transfer a permit pursuant to this paragraph if the lost or damaged vessel makes assurances in the application that any renewal of the permit that becomes due during the application processing period will be made. If the permit is not permanently transferred to another vessel owned by the person to whom the vessel permit was originally issued within two years of the loss or damage, the permit shall become void by operation of law.

# RETAINING PERMIT UPON THE SALE OF THE VESSEL

**8280.3(i)** Upon written approval of the department, the owner of a vessel to whom the Dungeness crab vessel permit has been issued may retain that permit upon the sale of that permitted vessel for the purpose of transferring the permit to another vessel if the requirements of this section are satisfied, including the payment of transfer fees. If the permit is not transferred to a new vessel within one year of the sale of the permitted vessel, the permit shall become void by operation of law.

# **DEATH OF PERMITTEE**

**8280.3(j)** Except as provided in subdivision (c) of Section 8280.1, in the event of the death or incapacity of a permitholder, the permit shall be transferred, upon application, to the heirs or assigns, or to the working partner, of the permitholder, together with the transfer of the vessel for which the permit was issued, and the new owner may continue to operate the vessel under the permit, renew the permit, or transfer the permit upon sale of the vessel pursuant to subdivision (b). The estate of the holder of a transferable Dungeness crab vessel permit may renew that permit as provided for in statute if needed to keep it valid. The estate of the decedent may transfer that permit pursuant to these regulations no later than two years from the date of death of the permitholder as listed on the death certificate.

### BASELINE LENGTH OF VESSEL (FGC Section 8280.3(k))

**8280.3(k)(1)** For purposes of this section, the baseline length on a Dungeness crab vessel permit shall be equal to the length overall of the vessel for which the permit was originally issued, as originally documented on the permit, unless updated pursuant to paragraph (2).

- (2) (A) If, on or before March 31, 2020, the owner of a vessel to whom a Dungeness crab vessel permit has been issued submits to the department a survey reflecting a current length overall of the vessel that is greater than the length overall described in paragraph (1), the baseline length on the permit shall be equal to that current length overall.
- (B) A survey submitted pursuant to subparagraph (A) shall be conducted by a licensed marine surveyor.

**ADDRESS** 

State of California – Department of Fish and Wildlife

CREDIT CARD PAYMENT AUTHORIZATION FORM

DFW1443b (REV. 08/15)

The California Department of Fish and Wildlife accepts Visa and Mastercard credit card payments. Please complete this form and return with your application if paying by credit card.

CREDIT CARD TYPE: Visa MasterCard TOTAL \$ EXPIRATION DATE (MM/YY) | // | // |

CREDIT CARD #: CVC Number (On back of credit card) | // |

I authorize CDFW to charge the agreed amount listed above to my credit card provided herein. I agree that I will pay for this purchase in accordance with the issuing bank cardholder agreement.

SIGNATURE

PRINT NAME (As it appears on your credit card)

PHONE NUMBER

CITY

STATE

ZIP CODE