

DEPARTMENT OF FISH AND W License and Revenue Branch 1740 N. Market Blvd Sacramento, CA 95834 http://www.wildlife.ca.gov

Certified Mail

April 18, 2013

NOTICE OF CALIFORNIA DUNGENESS CRAB TRAP TAG TIER PROGRAM ADOPTION

Dear Dungeness Crab Vessel Permitholder:

Effective March 31, 2013, the Director of the Department of Fish and Wildlife (Department) implemented the California Dungeness Crab Trap Tag Tier Program for California Dungeness Crab Vessel Permits (DCVP). Beginning with the 2013 commercial Dungeness crab season, any vessel with a valid DCVP must have a valid tag attached to the Dungeness crab trap and a valid Department-issued tag assigned to that vessel attached to the buoy, when fishing for Dungeness crab.

2013-2014 Permit and Buoy Tag Fees Due

Any person taking Dungeness crab for commercial purposes must also have a valid Biennial Dungeness Crab Trap Limit Permit and biennial buoy tags. Included is a purchase form with your tier allocation and fees due. Permit and tags can be purchased at any Department license sales office or you may submit your payment by mail to the Department's License and Revenue Branch in the enclosed envelope.

Tags will not be mailed to any permitholder unless the fees for a Biennial Dungeness Crab Trap Limit Permit and buoy tags are paid in full. Permitholders will not be eligible to renew their 2014-2015 DCVP unless the fees have been paid. Permitholders must purchase the permit and tags even if they do not intend to fish for Dungeness crab during the 2013-2014 season.

Tier	Buoy Tags	*Biennial Crab Trap	\$5 per buoy tag	Total
		Limit Permit		
1	500	\$1,007.50	\$2,500	\$3,507.50
2	450	\$1,007.50	\$2,250	\$3,257.50
3	400	\$1,007.50	\$2,000	\$3,007.50
4	350	\$1,007.50	\$1,750	\$2,757.50
5	300	\$1,007.50	\$1,500	\$2,507.50
6	250	\$1,007.50	\$1,250	\$2,257.50
7	175	\$1.007.50	\$ 875	\$1.882.50

Following is a summary of fees due for each tier:

* Includes a nonrefundable application fee of \$7.50. (Section 700.4, Title 14, California Code of Regulations)

Tier 7 Tag Transfer Restrictions

Pursuant to FGC Section 8276.5(a)(1)(G), the tags in this tier allocation shall not be transferable for the first two years of the program until March 31, 2015.

Conserving California's Wildlife Since 1870

April 29, 2013 Page Two

Appeal Process and Deadlines

A permitholder who wishes to appeal a tier assignment to revise an assignment upward or downward must submit the following:

- a. Notarized letter which identifies the tier to which the permitholder wants to be transferred. The letter must include the following statement, "The decision is permanent and shall not be revoked or canceled".
- b. Nonrefundable filing fee of \$3,044 to revise a tier assignment upward, or a nonrefundable filing fee of \$250 to revise a tier assignment downward.

Within 12 months of the postmarked date on a request for an appeal to revise a tier assignment upward, the Department shall submit a written request to the Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH) to set a hearing date.

An appeal to revise a tier assignment downward will be decided by the Department within 12 months of the postmarked date on the request.

Waiver of the Filing Fee

Any Dungeness crab permitholder requesting an appeal to revise a tier assignment may apply to the Administrative Law Judge at OAH for a waiver of the nonrefundable filing fee. In making the determination, the Administrative Law Judge may only consider medical hardship or military service occurring during the qualifying window period of November 15, 2003 through July 15, 2008. (FGC Section 8276.5(a)(6)(B); Section 132.5(a)(1)(C), Title 14, of the CCR.)

Deadline to Appeal Tier Allocation

A request to appeal a tier assignment must be postmarked no later than March 31, 2014. Please mail an appeal request to the Department's License and Revenue Branch, 1740 N. Market Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95834. The Department will not accept an appeal that is postmarked after March 31, 2014.

Change of Address

Buoy tags will be mailed to the address on file with the Department. All commercial fishermen are required to notify the Department of their old and new addresses within three months from when they move or acquire new addresses. (Fish and Game Code (FGC) Section 7857(m))

More Information

More information regarding the California Dungeness Crab Trap Limit Program may be found at the Department's website: www.dfg.ca.gov/marine/invertebrate/traplimit.asp.

If you have any questions or require further assistance, please contact Ms. Ruth Flores, of my staff, at the letterhead address, by telephone at (916) 928-7470, or e-mail <u>Ruth.Flores@wildlife.ca.gov.</u>

Sincerely,

James Fong, Chief License and Revenue Branch

Enclosure