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California Department of Fish and Wildlife 

2022 FORT HUNTER LIGGETT ELK HUNT 

HUNT OVERVIEW 
 

Hunt dates:  

Archery only either-sex: July 30-Aug 7, 2022 
Archery only antlerless: November 5-13, 2022 
Period 2 antlerless: November 23–December 1, 2022 
Period 3 bull and apprentice antlerless and bull: December 20, 2022–Jan 1, 2023 
 

CDFW Contact: Jeff Cann, Unit Wildlife Biologist, 831-649-7194, Jeff.Cann@wildlife.ca.gov  

 
Hunters are legally required to know and follow current hunting regulations. Related 

regulations are listed later in this document.  
 

Geography and maps 

Fort Hunter Liggett has maps available on their website. CDFW has an interactive mapping program 
that allows you to zoom into 7.5-minute topographical maps, view hunt zones and CDFW owned lands, 
and access other geographic data. 
   

FHL Specific Info: 

➢ FHL HUNTING PERMIT—FHL Tule Elk General Weapon and Archery Hunt participants are 
required to create a FHL iSportsman account and purchase a FHL Annual Hunting Permit online 
through their account. Cost of a general public annual permit is $130.00. FHL provides discounts to 
select groups (e.g., juniors, disabled veterans). 

 
➢ FHL requires all hunters to clear a National Crime and Information Center - Interstate Identification 

Index (NCIC-III) background check prior to being able to purchase a FHL annual hunting permit. 
The vetting process can take up to two weeks after submitting an Access Request Form to FHL 
Law Enforcement. 

 
➢ The process to buy a permit can take up to 3 or 4 weeks, so please begin this process as soon as 

possible to avoid losing your elk hunt. Visit the FHL iSportsman website 
(https://fthunter.isportsman.net) for more information or email your questions to the FHL Hunt 
and Fish Program at: usarmy.hunterliggett.id-readiness.mbx.hunt-and-fish-program@army.mil. 

 

➢ MANDATORY HUNTER ORIENTATION—all tag holders will be required to attend a mandatory 
hunter orientation given in the late-afternoon the day before the hunt. Tag holders will receive a 
letter with information on the time and location of this meeting from FHL. 

 
➢ WEAPON RESTRICTED AREAS— for general weapon tag holders, during your hunt there may be 

Hunt Areas with restrictions that prohibit the use of rifles or only allow archery equipment. It is 
recommended that you bring other legal methods of take (muzzleloader or archery) during your 
hunt. Note: Shotguns with slugs are NOT a legal method to take elk in California.   

 

➢ CLOSED AREAS—during your hunt there will be portions of the base closed to all access due to 
military activities, mission operations, and the possibility of unexploded munitions.  

 

mailto:Jeff.Cann@wildlife.ca.gov
https://wildlife.ca.gov/Regulations
https://fthunter.isportsman.net/Hunt%20Area%20Maps%20(All%20HAs%20Map%20&%201-9).aspx
https://wildlife.ca.gov/Data/GIS/IMAPS
https://fthunter.isportsman.net/
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➢ The Department cannot guarantee where elk will be during the season in relation to closed 
or weapon restricted areas. 

 

➢ HUNT CHANGE OR CANCELLATION—due to on-going military training and mission operations, 
there is a possibility that season dates might be changed or the hunt may be cancelled. Training 
schedules can change at any time, limiting our ability for timely hunter notification. FHL and the 
Department will contact you regarding changes in hunting days as soon as possible. As such, it is 
critical that we and FHL have your current contact information.  

 

➢ TAG VALIDATION and DATA COLLECTION—all successful tag holders will be required to have 
elk brought in to the FHL Wildlife Check Station for biological data collection and tag validation prior 
to leaving FHL. All unsuccessful tag holders will be required to turn in their unfilled tags to FHL 
immediately upon completion of their hunt.  

 
Tooth collection 

CDFW collects teeth from harvested animals for age determination. Successful hunters should remove 
only the two front teeth and return them using the provided envelope. Do not wrap teeth in plastic or 
enclose in materials other than the provided envelope as this may cause teeth to rot. Tooth-age 
results will be posted online as soon as possible, but may not be available until 2023 or later. 
 

Return elk teeth samples by mail to: 

California Department of Fish and Wildlife 
Wildlife Branch - Elk and Pronghorn Program 
PO Box 944029 
Sacramento, CA 94244 

Lameness in elk and collection of hoof samples 

If you observe elk that are limping, lame, or sickly in appearance, or have deformed, broken, or missing 
hooves, please report your observation to CDFW immediately by calling the unit biologist at the top of 
this document or by using the online mortality reporting tool: 
https://wildlife.ca.gov/conservation/laboratories/wildlife-investigations/monitoring/mortality-report 
  
Although signs such as lameness or limping can have various causes, they can be an indication of 
treponeme associated hoof disease (TAHD, elk hoof disease) – a type of hoof rot related to infection 
by bacteria in the Treponema genus. Elk hoof disease has been detected in elk in Washington, Oregon, 
and Idaho, and was first reported in elk in Del Norte County, California, in April 2020. CDFW is 
conducting surveillance to determine the statewide prevalence and distribution of elk hoof disease.  
 
If you harvest an elk, please inspect its hooves and feet according to training information that will be 
provided in your packet. If there are hoof or foot abnormalities as described in the training, we ask that 
you cut the affected hoof off just above the dewclaws for submission to the unit biologist. Use the 
provided Tyvex tag to identify your name and tag number, location and date of harvest, and which hoof 
is included (left/right, front/hind). Please contact the CDFW staff member listed at the top of this 
document immediately to arrange transfer of samples to CDFW. 
 

https://wildlife.ca.gov/Conservation/Mammals/Elk/Harvest-Data
https://wildlife.ca.gov/conservation/laboratories/wildlife-investigations/monitoring/mortality-report
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Tagging harvested animals and reporting on your hunt 

Successful hunters are required to completely fill out their tag, tag their animal, and have the tag 
validated by an authorized individual (see §708.6 and §708.11 in Title 14 California Code of 
Regulations). 
 
CDFW implores all elk hunters to provide the most accurate harvest information possible. Information 
you provide will contribute to conservation and management of California’s elk herds, including for their 
continued recreational use and hunter opportunity. Harvest data are crucial for CDFW personnel to 
evaluate and modify harvest strategies, assess herd health, track elk distributions, and recommend tag 
quota changes to the California Fish and Game Commission. For harvest locations, reporting a GPS 
location is encouraged. Online reporting is ideal, but please use any method to report your hunt. 
 
Care of meat 

Elk are large mammals and hold heat, which leads to spoilage. The weather and the terrain within the 
hunt area make it critical that you are prepared to properly care for the meat if you harvest an animal. 
Failure to properly care for or remove all edible portions of a harvested animal can lead to a violation 
of the Fish and Game Code, section 4304. 

FHL Wildlife Check Station has a skinning facility for elk hunters. FHL prefers elk are brought to the 
check station field dressed (or quartered, if necessary) for full data collection. Please do not bring 
whole animals to the check station.  

Field dressed weights for mature tule elk at FHL range from 350-500 lbs. for bulls and 250-350 lbs. for 
cows. You should be physically fit to retrieve such a large animal, and be prepared to field dress, skin, 
quarter and/or de-bone your elk after it is tagged. It is recommended that you bring a visitor/guest 
for game spotting and retrieval. All guests are required to clear a Criminal Background Check and 
obtain a Guest Permit through https://fthunter.isportsman.net/ ($15.00 for the year) prior to accessing 
FHL hunting areas. If you are hunting by yourself, you will likely need, at minimum, a pen to fill out your 
tag, game sacks, plenty of rope, a game hoist, a knife, a knife sharpener, and a pack frame. A meat 
saw or hatchet and a tarp would also likely be helpful. Never lay meat directly on the bed of a truck 
because the exhaust system heats the bed and can lead to spoilage. It is suggested you place a pad 
or sleeping bag down to insulate the meat underneath. The meat should be hung in fly proof breathable 
sacks in the shade until you pack it out (as soon as possible).   

 
Additional information is available at the following links 

• CDFW elk hunting (zone maps, season dates, harvest success, report an elk sighting): 
https://wildlife.ca.gov/Hunting/Elk 

• Fish and Game Laws and Hunting Regulations: https://fgc.ca.gov/Regulations/Current 

• Online reporting: https://wildlife.ca.gov/Licensing/Online-Sales 

• Tooth age data: https://wildlife.ca.gov/Conservation/Mammals/Elk/Harvest-Data 

• California Big Game Hunting Digest: https://wildlife.ca.gov/Publications/Hunting-Digest 

• CDFW elk management and conservation: https://wildlife.ca.gov/Conservation/Mammals/elk 

• Interactive map viewers: https://wildlife.ca.gov/Data/GIS/IMAPS 

• Report poachers and polluters to CalTip: https://wildlife.ca.gov/Enforcement/CalTIP 

• List of hunt guides: 
https://www.ca.wildlifelicense.com/InternetSales/PublicListSearch/SelectPermitType 

• Fort Hunter Liggett hunting website: https://fthunter.isportsman.net/default.aspx 

https://fgc.ca.gov/Regulations/Current/Mammals#70811
https://fgc.ca.gov/Regulations/Current/Mammals#7086
https://wildlife.ca.gov/Licensing/Online-Sales
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=FGC&sectionNum=4304.
https://wildlife.ca.gov/Hunting/Elk
https://fgc.ca.gov/Regulations/Current
https://wildlife.ca.gov/Licensing/Online-Sales
https://wildlife.ca.gov/Conservation/Mammals/Elk/Harvest-Data
https://wildlife.ca.gov/Publications/Hunting-Digest
https://wildlife.ca.gov/Conservation/Mammals/elk
https://wildlife.ca.gov/Data/GIS/IMAPS
https://wildlife.ca.gov/Enforcement/CalTIP
https://www.ca.wildlifelicense.com/InternetSales/PublicListSearch/SelectPermitType
https://fthunter.isportsman.net/default.aspx
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FORT HUNTER LIGGETT HUNT ZONE MAP 
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TITLE 14, CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS (CCR) 2021 

 

§364. Elk Hunts 

(d) Department Administered General Methods Tule Elk Hunts 

(12) Fort Hunter Liggett General Public General Methods Tule Elk Hunt: 

(A) Area: That portion of Monterey County lying within the exterior boundaries of Fort Hunter Liggett, 
except as restricted by the Commanding Officer. 
 
(l) Definitions 

(1) Bull elk: Any elk having an antler or antlers at least four inches in length as measured from the top 
of the skull. 

(2) Spike bull: A bull elk having no more than one point on each antler. An antler point is a projection 
of the antler at least one inch long and longer than the width of its base. 

(3) Antlerless elk: Any elk, with the exception of spotted calves, with antlers less than four inches in 
length as measured from the top of the skull. 

(4) Either-sex elk: For the purposes of these regulations, either-sex is defined as bull elk, spike elk, or 
antlerless elk. 

 
(n) Tagholder Responsibilities 

(1) No tagholder shall take or possess any elk or parts thereof governed by the regulations except 
herein provided. 

(2) The department reserves the right to use any part of the tagholder's elk for biological analysis as 
long as the amount of edible meat is not appreciably decreased. 

(3) Any person taking an elk which has a collar or other marking device attached to it shall provide the 
department with such marking device within 10 days of taking the elk. 

 

§353. Methods Authorized for Taking Big Game 

(a) It shall be unlawful to take or attempt to take big game in violation of this section or Section 250.1. 
The take or attempted take of any big game (as defined by Section 350 of these regulations) with a 
firearm shall be in accordance with the use of nonlead projectiles and ammunition pursuant to 
Section 250.1. of these regulations. 

(b) Definition. For purposes of this section, a projectile is any bullet, ball, sabot, slug, buckshot or other 
device which is expelled from a firearm through a barrel by force. The following definitions shall apply: 

(1) A softnose or expanding projectile is a bullet designed to increase from its original diameter, 
commonly referred to as "mushrooming", and retain a significant part of its original weight upon 
impact with, or when passing through the tissues of an animal. 

(2) Projectiles commonly referred to as "frangible" bullets, designed to disintegrate upon impact 
with, or when passing through the tissues of an animal are not softnose or expanding projectiles. 

(c) Except for the provisions of the following subsections (d) through (j), big game may only be taken 
by rifles using centerfire cartridges with softnose or expanding projectiles; bow and arrow (see Section 

https://fgc.ca.gov/Regulations/Current/Mammals#251_1
https://fgc.ca.gov/Regulations/Current/Mammals#350
https://fgc.ca.gov/Regulations/Current/Mammals#250_1
https://fgc.ca.gov/Regulations/Current/Mammals#354
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354 of these regulations for archery equipment regulations); or wheellock, matchlock, flintlock or 
percussion type, including "in-line" muzzleloading rifles using black powder or equivalent black powder 
substitute, including pellets, with a single projectile loaded from the muzzle and at least .40 caliber in 
designation 

(d) Shotguns capable of holding not more than three shells firing single slugs may be used for the taking 
of deer, bear and wild pigs. In areas where the discharge of rifles or shotguns with slugs is prohibited 
by county ordinance, shotguns capable of holding not more than three shells firing size 0 or 00 buckshot 
may be used for the taking of deer only. 

(e) Pistols and revolvers using centerfire cartridges with softnose or expanding projectiles may be used 
to take deer, bear, and wild pigs. 

(f) Pistols and revolvers with minimum barrel lengths of 4 inches, using centerfire cartridges with 
softnose or expanding projectiles may be used to take elk and bighorn sheep. 

(g) Except as provided in subsection 354(j), crossbows may be used to take deer and wild pigs only 
during the regular seasons. 

(h) Under the provisions of a muzzleloading rifle only tag, hunters may only possess muzzleloading 
rifles as described in subsection 353(a) equipped with open or "peep" type sights only except as 
described in subsection 353(k). 

(i) Under the provisions of a muzzleloading rifle/archery tag, hunters may only possess muzzleloading 
rifles with sights as described in subsection 353(f); archery equipment as described in Section 354; or 
both. For purposes of this subsection, archery equipment does not include crossbows, except as 
provided in subsection 354(j) . 

(j) Except as otherwise provided, while taking or attempting to take big game under the provisions of 
this section or Section 354 of these regulations, it is unlawful to use any device or devices which: 1) 
throw, cast or project an artificial light or electronically alter or intensify a light source for the purpose of 
visibly enhancing an animal; or 2) throw, cast or project an artificial light or electronically alter or intensify 
a light source for the purpose of providing a visible point of aim directly on an animal. Devices commonly 
referred to as "sniperscopes", night vision scopes or binoculars, or those utilizing infra-red, heat sensing 
or other non-visible spectrum light technology used for the purpose of visibly enhancing an animal or 
providing a visible point of aim directly on an animal are prohibited and may not be possessed while 
taking or attempting to take big game. Devices commonly referred to as laser rangefinders, “red-dot” 
scopes with self-illuminating reticles, and fiberoptic sights with self-illuminating sight or pins which do 
not throw, cast or project a visible light onto an animal are permitted. 

(k) Unless provided in these regulations or any other law, it is unlawful to possess a loaded 
muzzleloading firearm in any vehicle or conveyance or its attachments which is standing on or along 
or is being driven on or along any public road or highway or other way open to the public. For the 
purposes of this section, a muzzleloading firearm shall be deemed to be loaded when it is capped or 
primed or has an electronic or other ignition device attached and has a powder charge and projectile 
or shot in the barrel or cylinder. 

(l) Upon application to the department, the department may issue a Disabled Muzzleloader Scope 
Permit, free of any charge or fee, to any person with a physical disability, as defined in subsection (m), 
which prevents him/her from being able to focus on the target utilizing muzzleloading rifles equipped 
with open or “peep” sights. The Disabled Muzzleloader Scope Permit authorizes the disabled hunter to 
use a 1X scope on a muzzleloading rifle, as described in subsection (h), with a muzzleloading rifle only 
tag. 

https://fgc.ca.gov/Regulations/Current/Mammals#354
https://fgc.ca.gov/Regulations/Current/Mammals#354j
https://fgc.ca.gov/Regulations/Current/Mammals#353
https://fgc.ca.gov/Regulations/Current/Mammals#353k
https://fgc.ca.gov/Regulations/Current/Mammals#353
https://fgc.ca.gov/Regulations/Current/Mammals#354
https://fgc.ca.gov/Regulations/Current/Mammals#354j
https://fgc.ca.gov/Regulations/Current/Mammals#354
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(1) Applications for a Disabled Muzzleloader Scope Permit, as specified in Section 702 of these 
regulations shall be submitted to the department at the address specified on the application and 
shall include: 

(A) Applicant's name 

(B) Applicant's physical address 

(C) Applicant's date of birth 

(D) Applicant's Driver's License or DMV Number 

(E) Applicant's telephone number 

(F) Applicant's signature 

(G) Medical Physician's or Optometrist’s name 

(H) Medical Physician's or Optometrist’s business address 

(I) Medical Physician's or Optometrist’s business telephone number 

(J) Medical Physician's State medical license number or Optometrist’s State license 
number 

(K) A description of the visual disability requiring this permit 

(L) Medical Physician's or Optometrist’s signature 

(M) Signature of the authorizing department employee and date issued 

(2) The applicant must have a valid hunting license for the year for which he/she is applying. 

(3) Proof of meeting eligibility requirements may be met by providing a previously issued 
Disabled Muzzleloader Scope Permit. 

(4) The valid Disabled Muzzleloader Scope Permit shall be in the hunter’s immediate possession 
while hunting and shall be shown on demand to any person authorized to enforce this regulation. 

(5) The Disabled Muzzleloader Scope Permit is valid from July 1 through June 30 of the following 
year or if issued after July 1 of the license year, it is valid beginning on the date issued through 
to the following June 30. 

(m) For the purposes of this section a visual disability means a permanent loss, significant limitation, 
or diagnosed disease or disorder, which substantially impairs the vision of a hunter, preventing the 
hunter from viewing and aligning the sights of a muzzleloading rifle with the target in order to hunt deer. 

 
§354. Archery Equipment and Crossbow Regulations 

(a) Bow, as used in these regulations, means any device consisting of a flexible material having a string 
connecting its two ends and used to propel an arrow held in a firing position by hand only. Bow, includes 
long bow, recurve or compound bow. 

(b) Crossbow, as used in these regulations means any device consisting of a bow or cured latex band 
or other flexible material (commonly referred to as a linear bow) affixed to a stock, or any bow that 
utilizes any device attached directly or indirectly to the bow for the purpose of keeping a crossbow bolt, 
an arrow or the string in a firing position. Except as provided in subsection 354(j), a crossbow is not 
archery equipment and cannot be used during the archery deer season. 

https://fgc.ca.gov/Regulations/Current/Mammals#702
https://fgc.ca.gov/Regulations/Current/Mammals#354j
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(c) For the taking of big game, hunting arrows and crossbow bolts with a broad head type blade which 
will not pass through a hole seven-eighths inch in diameter shall be used. Mechanical/retractable broad 
heads shall be measured in the open position. For the taking of migratory game birds, resident small 
game, furbearers and nongame mammals and birds any arrow or crossbow bolt may be used except 
as prohibited by subsection (d) below. Notwithstanding the general prohibition of the use of lights in 
Fish and Game Code section 2005, arrows or crossbow bolts with lighted nocks that do not emit a 
directional beam of light may be used. 

(d) No arrows or crossbow bolt with an explosive head or with any substance which would tranquilize 
or poison any animal may be used. No arrows or crossbow bolt without flu-flu fletching may be used 
for the take of pheasants and migratory game birds, except for provisions of section 507(a)(2). 

(e) No arrow or crossbow bolt may be released from a bow or crossbow upon or across any highway, 
road or other way open to vehicular traffic. 

(f) It shall be unlawful to use any bow or crossbow without a draw weight of at least 30 pounds for a 
bow or 125 pounds for a cross bow. 

(g) Except as described in subsection 354(j), crossbows may not be used to take game birds and game 
mammals during archery seasons. 

(h) Archers may not use or possess a firearm while in the field engaged in archery hunting during an 
archery season or while hunting during a general season under the provisions of an archery only tag 
except as provided in subsections (h)(1) or (h)(2). 

(1) An archer may carry a firearm capable of being concealed on his or her person while engaged 
in the taking of big game other than deer with a bow and arrow in accordance with subdivision 
(h), but shall not take or attempt to take big game with the firearm. 

(2) Nothing in this section shall prohibit the lawful possession of a firearm capable of being 
concealed on his or her person by an active peace officer listed in Chapter 4.5 (commencing 
with Section 830) of Title 3 of Part 2 of the Penal Code or a retired peace officer in lawful 
possession of an identification certificate issued pursuant to Penal Code Section 25455 
authorizing the retired officer to carry a concealed firearm. 

(i) No person may nock or fit the notch in the end of an arrow to a bowstring or crossbow string in a 
ready-to-fire position while in or on any vehicle. 

(j) Upon application to the department, the department may issue a Disabled Archer Permit free of any 
charge or fee, to any person with a physical disability, as defined in 354(k), which prevents him/her 
from being able to draw and hold a bow in a firing position. The Disabled Archer Permit authorizes the 
disabled archer to use a crossbow or device which holds a string and arrow in the firing position to 
assist in the taking of birds and mammals under the conditions of an archery tag or during archery 
season. 

(1) Applications for a Disabled Archer Permit as specified in Section 702 shall be submitted to 
the department at the address specified on the application and shall include: 

(A) Applicant’s name 

(B) Applicant’s physical address 

(C) Applicant’s date of birth 

(D) Applicant’s Driver’s License or DMV Number 

(E) Applicant’s telephone number 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=FGC&sectionNum=2005.
https://govt.westlaw.com/calregs/Document/I61F0604051F54537A48F892CA1A0E1EF?viewType=FullText&originationContext=documenttoc&transitionType=CategoryPageItem&contextData=(sc.Default)
https://fgc.ca.gov/Regulations/Current/Mammals#354j
https://fgc.ca.gov/Regulations/Current/Mammals#354
https://fgc.ca.gov/Regulations/Current/Mammals#702
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(F) Applicant’s signature 

(G) Medical Physician’s name 

(H) Medical Physician’s business address 

(I) Medical Physician’s business telephone number 

(J) Medical Physician’s State medical license number 

(K) A description of the disabled archer’s disability. The physician shall designate if 
the disability is permanent or temporary. If the disability is temporary, shall provide 
date the disability is expected to end. 

(L) Medical Physician’s signature 

(M) Signature of the authorizing department employee and date issued 

(2) Proof of meeting eligibility requirements may be met by providing a previously issued 
Disabled Archer Permit when the disability is still in effect. 

(3) The valid Disabled Archer Permit shall be in the archer’s immediate possession while hunting 
and shall be shown on demand to any person authorized to enforce this regulation. 

(4) The Disabled Archer Permit is valid beginning July 1 through June 30 of the following year 
or if issued after July 1 of the license year, it is valid beginning on the date issued through to the 
following June 30. For any person with a permanent disability, the permit is valid through the 
end of the license year. A Disabled Archer Permit for a permit holder with a temporary disability 
that ends prior to the end of the license year is valid only through the date specified by his/her 
physician. 

(k) For the purposes of this section a physical disability means, a person having a permanent loss, 
significant limitation, or diagnosed disease or disorder, which substantially impairs one or both upper 
extremities preventing a hunter to draw and hold a bow in a firing position. 

 
§708.6. Tag Countersigning and Transporting Requirements 

(b) Any person legally killing an elk in this state shall have the elk license tag countersigned by a person 
authorized by the commission as described in subsection (c) before transporting such elk, except for 
the purpose of taking the elk to the nearest person authorized to countersign the license tag, on the 
route being followed from the point where the elk was taken. 

(c) The following persons are authorized to countersign deer and elk tags: 

(1) State: 

(A) Fish and Game Commissioners 

(B) Employees of the Department of Fish and Wildlife, including Certified Hunter 
Education Instructors 

(C) Employees of the California Department of Forestry and Fire Protection (CALFIRE) 

(D) Plant Quarantine Inspector, Supervisor I, and Supervisor II 

(2) Federal: 

(A) Employees of the Bureau of Land Management 

(B) Employees of the United States Forest Service 
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(C) Employees of the United States Fish & Wildlife Service 

(D) All Uniformed Personnel of the National Park Service 

(E) Commanding Officers of any United States military installation or their designated 
personnel for deer or elk taken on their reservation. 

(F) Postmasters & Post Office Station or Branch Manager for deer or elk brought to their 
post office. 

(3) Miscellaneous: 

(A) Firefighters employed on a full-time basis, only when the deer or elk carcass is brought 
to their fire station. 

(B) Judges or Justices of all state and United States courts. 

(C) Notaries Public 

(D) Peace Officers (salaried & non-salaried) 

(E) Officers authorized to administer oaths 

(F) Owners, corporate officers, managers or operators of lockers or cold storage plants 
for deer or elk brought to their place of business. 

(d) No person may countersign his/her own deer tag or elk tag. 
 

§708.11. Elk Reporting Procedures 

(c) Tagholder Responsibilities 

(1) All tag holders shall return their license tags to the department within one week after the close of 
the elk season, even though the tagholder may not have killed an elk. 

(2) Upon the killing of any elk, the tag holder shall immediately fill out all portions of the tag including 
the report card completely, legibly, and permanently, and cut out or punch out and completely remove 
notches or punch holes for the month and date of the kill. 

(A) License tags shall be attached to the antler of an antlered elk immediately after killing. The 
license tag shall be kept attached to the antler of an antlered elk and retained for 15 days after 
the close of the season 

(B) License tags shall be attached to the ear, leg, or largest portion of meat of antlerless 
elk immediately after killing. If the head is removed and not retained, evidence of sex in the 
form or udder or vulva must remain naturally attached. Boned out or quartered animals shall 
have evidence of sex naturally attached to a portion of the meat. The license tag shall be kept 
attached to the ear, leg, or largest portion of meat of an antlerless elk until processed and then 
shall be retained for 15 days after the close of the season. 

(3) Persons authorized to validate or countersign elk tags are listed in subsection 708.6(c). Elk tags 
shall be countersigned before transporting such elk, except for the purpose of taking it to the nearest 
person authorized to countersign the license tag on the route being followed from the point where the 
elk is taken. 

(4) Only persons possessing valid elk license tags are entitled to take elk. Tags are not transferable 
and are valid only for the area and period specified. 

https://fgc.ca.gov/Regulations/Current/Mammals#7086
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(5) The tagholder shall surrender his tag to an employee of the department for any or all of the following 
reasons: 

(A) Any act on the part of the tagholder which violates any of the provisions of the Fish and 
Game Code, or any regulations of the commission made pursuant thereto. 

(B) Any act on the part of the tagholder which endangers the person or property of others. The 
decision of the department shall be final. 

 
§730. Camping Near or Occupying Wildlife Watering Places 

(a) Camping/Occupying Defined. For purposes of this Section, camping/occupying is defined as 
establishing or inhabiting a camp; resting; picnicking; sleeping; parking or inhabiting any motor vehicle 
or trailer; hunting; or engaging in any other recreational activity for a period of more than thirty (30) 
minutes at a given location. 

(b) Wildlife Watering Places Defined. For purposes of this Section, wildlife watering places are defined 
as waterholes, springs, seeps and man-made watering devices for wildlife such as guzzlers (self-filling, 
in-the-ground water storage tanks), horizontal wells and small impoundments of less than one surface 
acre in size. 

(c) Prohibitions 

(1) Camping/Occupying is prohibited within 200 yards of the following: 

(A) Any guzzler or horizontal well for wildlife on public land within the State of California. 

(B) Any of the wildlife watering places on public land within the boundary of the California 
Desert Conservation Area as depicted on the Bureau of Land Management maps of 
"Calif. Federal Public Lands Responsibility," "Calif. Desert Conservation Area” and the 
new “Desert District, B.L.M." 

(2) Camping/Occupying is prohibited within one-quarter mile of the following wildlife watering 
places: 

(A) Butte Well--T31N, R14E, Section 28, NE1/4, M.D.B.M., Lassen County. 

(B) Schaffer Well--T31N R14E, Section 25, Center, M.D.B.M., Lassen County. 

(C) Tableland Well--T31N, R14E, Section 17, SE1/4, M.D.B.M., Lassen County. 

(D) Table Mountain Well--T31N, R14E, Section 32, SE1/4, M.D.B.M., Lassen County. 

(E) Timber Mountain Well--T44N, R6E, Section 33, M.D.B.M., Modoc National Forest, 
Modoc County. 

(F) Belfast Well--T31N, R14E, Section 31, NE1/4, M.D.B.M., Lassen County. 


