

J-8 Daugherty Hill WA Apprentice Either-Sex Hunt

That portion of Yuba County within the exterior boundaries of <u>Daugherty Hill Wildlife</u> <u>Area</u> (as defined in Section 550, Title 14, CCR).

The law allowing youths up to 18 years old to purchase a Junior Hunting License has sunset. Per Fish & Game Code Section 3031, a resident or nonresident now must be under 16 years of age on July 1, 2025 in order to be eligible for a 2025-26 Junior Hunting License.

This either-sex hunt shall be open from **December 6 – December 31, 2025.**

Tags are valid only for the type of deer designated on the tag. Antlerless deer are defined as female deer, fawns of either-sex other than spotted fawns, and male deer with an unbranched antler on one or both sides which is not more than three inches in length. Either-sex deer are antlerless deer, as described above or legal bucks that have two or more points in the upper two-thirds of either antler. Spike bucks may not be taken (Section 204(d), Fish and Game Code).

Immediately after killing the deer, the tag shall be attached to an ear of an antlerless deer or to an antler of an antlered deer.

Access: Go east from Marysville on Highway 20, 11.5 miles and turn left on Marysville Road. Proceed 8.5 miles east to Dolan Harding Road and turn right. Daugherty Hill Unit - Parking lot #1 is 1 mile south of Marysville Road on Dolan Harding Road. Donovan Hill Unit – Parking Lots 2-6 are located on Marysville Road and Los Verjeles Road. Darby Road Unit – Parking Lots 7 and 8 are located 4 miles east of the community of Bangor.

For more information, contact the Daugherty Hill Wildlife Area at (916) 358-2900.

Most accidents associated with big game hunting involve a loaded gun in the vehicle. Remember what you learned in your hunter safety classes, be careful, and enjoy yourself.

NONLEAD RESTRICTIONS

As of July 1, 2019, all hunters must use nonlead ammunition when taking any wildlife in California, except when hunting with a pellet rifle for approved species.

- CCR T14 250.1(d)(3) Effective July 1, 2019, it shall be unlawful to use, or possess with any firearm capable of firing, any projectile(s) not certified as nonlead when taking any wildlife for any purpose in this state.
- CCR T14 475(f) The take or attempted take of any nongame bird or nongame mammal with a firearm shall be in accordance with the use of nonlead projectiles and ammunition pursuant to Section 250.1 of these regulations.

For more information including a list of certified non-lead projectiles/ammunition that may be used in firearms for the taking of deer or other big game mammals, and links to other related topics, visit <u>California Department of Fish and Wildlife's Nonlead</u> <u>Ammunition in California web page.</u>